We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disaster..............”
Review of Apollo Opera Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Opera Paris
Ranked #1,678 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 25, 2006

we stayed for three nights,which was enough for anyone too long in fact,rooms were extremely small two single bed pushed together for a double room.Rooms very stuffy with no air conditioning. towels weren,t change after use and not enough available for two people you wouldn,t want to be having more than one shower as you would be using used wet towels.The lift was only big enough for one person and very stuffy and smelly.The breakfast where can i start,on the brouchure it stated that a contenial or american breakfast was available but all that was availablie was stale rolls and cold croissants, watered down orange juice and milk. the dining area was very shabby with out any paint on the walls it reminded me of a cold cellar. I couldnt imagine the dishes being cleaned properly as we could see the lady giving used glasses just a quick rinse under the tap and handing them straight out to customers. The reception area wasnt very attractive as there was fold up beds left lying around. we would strongly advise to remain in groups especially girls as the receptionist wasn't very trustworthy for example he invited one of our friends to have a drink with him on her own when she approached the reception desk for information after midnight.he had a good few drinks taken at this stage.we wouldnt recommend staying here EVER.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SarahAnne31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2006

Having read other reviews about this hotel I was apprehensive to say the least about it. It is however ideally located thirty seconds from the Moulen Rouge area of Paris and on the Blanche Metro line. Yes I would agree that the rooms are small and basic, but I have to also say that hotels in Paris are small in general and not of the same standard elsewhere. Basically it is perfect as a base while travelling around Paris. It doesn't have a swimming pool or a health spa etc.. but for somewhere accessible, clean with friendly staffit gets the thumbs up. It was good value for money.

8  Thank Beastie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

My wife and I stayed here mid feb for 2 nights and found it to be perfect for what we needed a bolthole to rest our heads and little else. its not like we wanted to stay in our room for ages with a fantastic city like paris on the doorstep.

We checked in at midnight and the night porter let us in no problem, our room was on the top floor and has a small balcony - it felt very parisien if a little cramped.

We enjoyed the sights so much that we didnt make it down for breakfast either morning, but we wanted a kerbside cafe like in the movies.

Our 2 nights cost us 100 euros for 2 nights so our expectations were pretty low but it definitely was better than expected, especially given the reviews on this website.

I would recommend this hotel for younger couples who just need a bed and are not looking to spend too much time in your room.

It is located less than 100 metres from Moulin Rouge and the sights of Montmatre. The further you go from the main tourist sites in Paris the more reasonable the cafes and restaurants becomeand the more friendly the staff are.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mcginty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2006

we stayed in the hotel apollo opera for 6 nts and had a bad time. we had booked the hotel thinking it to be a 3* but it was far below the standards. the rooms are very small and the paint is peeling off the walls. the linen was dirty and the towels were damp. when we complained about it we were told that nothing could be done. another guest was complaining of a broken bed and he was given the same reply. the breakfast was very meagre; coffee or tea and bread. the staff was quite unfriendly when we asked for a better room. after 6 nts we changed to another hotel of the ibis chain which was very good and the same price too. this one was definitely worth the price and our holiday improved too.

  • Stayed: August 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Aparna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
hong kong china
221
Reviewed November 3, 2005

it is really terrible.i have travel many place ,this is really the worst compare to the price.The hotel and the room is very small.most worst is it is very shabby.i give the room the window face the wall of other biulding.it is ok.i have stay other hotel the window face the wall.but in appollo opera,there is much rubbish outside the window.and the staff is very rude ,impolite.dont choose this hotel.it will destroy your happy holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

This hotel is not bad, for Paris standards, but still not worth the money you pay for it (or its stars).
Rooms are slightly small, the bed was extrtemely uncomfortable and not large enough for 2 persons (plus you kept rolling into the middle). Walls and ceiling are covered with plastic wallpapering, which increases stuffy atmosphere. Carpet appeared dirty.Fridge was not working, no safe included in our room although it was promised when we reserved room through the Internet. Old room door that did not increase sense of safety when leaving things in room.
We were admitted into room about 3 p.m., but we had to leave room at noon. While waiting for room after arrival at airport, we were not offered any coffee or tea.
However, bathroom was nice and new (yes, no toilet paper holder), there was hot water day and night. No noise from other rooms or outside (the hotel is located on a side street). Sheets and towels changeddaily, new toiletry brought as well.
Breakfast was indifferent, but staff was friendly and happy to bring anything else one asked for.
One supermarket around the corner as well as a night supermarket almost opposite the hotel for night emergencies.
Location: not central to tourist sites, but close to 2 metro stations (the one works only weekdays up to 8 p.m. or so) as well as a bus stop almost opposite hotel (bus goes by central locations such as Montparnasse, Louvre, Opera etc. and works until approx. 12:30 a.m.). Neighbourhood not great, though, lots of shady people after nightfall standing around and getting into fights (supposedly high criminality). Not to be recommended for single women travelling alone (I, as woman, was followed up to hotel entrance and accosted by man one evening and was very afraid until receptionist finally appeared and opened entrance door).
Conclusion: not worth its money, fine for people who only have a few days in Paris and don't plan spending a lot of time in the hotel and don't mind using a lot of Paris' public transoprt system.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

We stayed at the Apollo Opera for 4 nights, and the only good thing about it was the front desk staff. Everything went downhill from there! Where do I start? Tiny rooms. Single ( extremely uncomfortable ) beds in a double room. Broken shower head with at best lukewarm water. Bathrooms with no toilet roll holder. Shower with no soap holder. Very hot room with no air-conditioning, so noisy outside that you could not open the window to let in cool air. An elevator barely big enough for 2 people. Continental breakfast that consisted of a stale croissant, a rock-hard baguette, watered down orange juice and choice of coffee or tea. And finally it's location - hardly in the heart of Paris. Close to the Moulin Rouge, granted, but also close to an endless stream of sex shops, peep shows and strip joints.
Not sure who rated it three star, but having stayed in hotels all through Europe on this holiday, it was by far the worst, and almost spoilt our time in Paris. On a scale of one to ten, I'd rate it at best a one.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigdaddi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Royal Mansart
Royal Mansart
#1,419 of 1,805 in Paris
171 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Moulin Plaza Hotel
Moulin Plaza Hotel
#928 of 1,805 in Paris
388 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#1,071 of 1,805 in Paris
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#1,470 of 1,805 in Paris
168 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,143 of 1,805 in Paris
406 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,238 of 1,805 in Paris
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Opera Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Opera Paris

Address: 32 rue de Douai | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,678 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $76 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Opera Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in traditional Parisian building, located in the heart of the city; 5 km from Gare Saint Lazare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Opera Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apolo Opera Paris Hotel Paris
Apolo Opera Hotel Paris
Paris Apolo Opera Hotel
Apollo Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing