We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel in Montparnasse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atelier Montparnasse
Ranked #546 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A charming, clean, interestingly decorated and reasonably-priced hotel, well-situated just by a metro station in Montparnasse; and with fantastic, helpful and kind staff who made our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokenirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feelings and experience about the Atelier Montparnasse Hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your enthusiasm is a real recognition of the work of the team, who tries to exceed the guest's expectations every single day.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Ivan Janes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Atelier Montparnasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 633 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

The room is very cute but there isn't alot of powerpoints and only lamps so if you need to charge anything you have to sacrifice some brightness. We also discovered that the AC is set to only be hot air up until April and since it was a warmer year it was a bit stuffy in the room.

The bed is a bit lumpy. It is fine for a night or 2, but we stayed for 5 and we really felt it by the last night. There was some free candy and mini-cakes that was offered to us on a few days - I believe the cakes were left overs from the paid breakfast.

It is very close to the station, but most attractions that we visited required at least one train change. It is a very quiet, peaceful area - which may suit some people. But I would not recommend it for people who would like to be closer to some excitement.

The most frustrating thing about this stay is when we asked the concierge how much time we should allow to get to the airport. We took his advice, assuming it was trustworthy and even left a bit earlier just to be safe. We made every single train connection but almost missed our flight. We had to be skipped to the front of the line for check in and security and had to run to our gate. I found it very disappointing that someone in that position would give us information that could of cost us dearly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, the welcoming staff, the rooms and the location are very much appreciated by our guests.
I feel sorry for the misunderstanding with the concierge. I am convinced he did not give you a wrong information on purpose, maybe was he thinking about a taxi ride, way shorter in time?

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Best regards,

Ivan Janes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Super location a couple of minutes from the Metro station and close to many bars and restaurants. The room was small but newly refurbushed and clean. Nice breakfast and very friendly staff!
Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this feedback and the kind comments about your recent stay at Atelier Montparnasse Hotel.
I am glad that we replied that well to your expectations and that you were pleased with the friendly staff, the cleanliness, and the comfortable room.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Ivan Janes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel was very easy to find by the Pernety Metro stop. Stayed in the Havana suite for three nights with my mother and baby.
The room was large and clean but not quite as high spec as they indicate on the website. The ' "parquet' flooring is a nice bit of Lino, actually. The large plastic bathtub was nice and great for my one year old! It has typical Juliet balconies on two walls.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and can help you with directions. However, the mini-bar was not restocked with the rooms clean, and you are allotted only two Nespresso pods per day, which is a little mean for two people, and it meant that we didn't have any in our room for the following morning.

Breakfast is ok, I am not sure if value for money but 12 euros not too bad and they didn't charge for my tot. They do need some HIGH CHAIRS though.

Bed was quite comfy and cot was provided with fluffy bedding- you probably need to book a suite if you want a cot because I imagine the standard rooms are rather small.

All in all, good value for money especially in Paris and I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I felt the Havana suite to be worth the extra money, and probably essential if you need a cot.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you had such a good time with us and that our location, service and efficiency met your expectations. We are also glad that you enjoyed our fantastic Junior Suite. Thank you for noticing the bedding quality as well.
The mini-bar and Nespresso pods are supposed to be restocked when the room is cleaned, sorry if we missed that point.
I will share your comments with entire team so they can further be rewarded for their dedicated work and remain motivated to always deliver better experiences to our valued guest.

Many thanks for your loyalty and see you again soon at Atelier Montparnasse in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ivan Janes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed a few nights here at the end of two months in France. Finding an affordable yet friendly and clean hotel in Paris sometimes feels like a challenge, but this one is perfect for us.
It's in a great spot, in an authentic local area with a good range of shops and places to eat, people going about their daily lives and is off the manic tourist trail of some arrondissements. The hotel has groovy decor and our room had a huge bath with LED lighting in it. Yes, unusual but by God a bath is a lifesaver after a day of hoofing it around wonderful Paris. We arrived to the lift being out of order, but to their great credit, they lugged our whopping bags up to our room with a smile and did the same again when we left ( and we ate breakfast watching the man start to fix the lift). We have stayed in Paris a lot and will plan to stay here next time: it's good value for what you pay and the staff are friendly and really organised. We have paid more for a horrid room with no bath, so this place is a find!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilipealea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review about your recent stay at Atelier Montparnasse.
You stayed at the Hotel last January, when the elevator was indeed going through major modernization for a few days. It is now brand new ! We hope you'll see it for your next stay in Paris ;)
We are very proud that you enjoyed so much the Junior Suite and its colour changing bath.
I will definitely inform the staff about your warm compliments regarding their kindness and efficiency.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Best regards

Ivan Janes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The website indicated recently renovated rooms so I was expecting a bit more. The carpet in our room was very stained and looked to be 10 years old, at least. It was lighter in color, which was unfortunate as we could see every spot. That being said, the room was larger than expected, and the bathroom was indeed newly renovated. It was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable, with good quality linens and pillows.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It's in an actual neighborhood, not a tourist area, so the pace is more relaxed and you're away from the overwhelming crowds. There are wonderful restaurants close by, and bakeries, cheese, meat and wine shops on the same block.

Our room overlooked the street, but was still very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodFan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with the other Tripadvisor users.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Atelier Montparnasse Hotel.
The hotel’s location, as you personally emphasized, is one of its power points, along with the staff efficiency and services we continuously try to improve.
Indeed, we are changing some of the light color carpets which have "suffered" more than others, with wood parquet floors or darker carpets.

We would be pleased to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards

Ivan Janes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend with friends in April. I was a little
apprehensive about being outside of central Paris but the reviews on Tripadvisor
said otherwise and they were right! The location is fantastic and we all agreed
we would return to same area if we were to return. Montparnasse has its only little
bohemian village vibe and a great cafe culture, no shortage of boutiques,
bakeries, bars/restaurants etc.. We loved to return "home" in the evenings after
sightseeing during the day. This is the location to be for a real Parisian feel,
local neighbourhood.

The hotel was lovely, we booked direct with the hotel for the best price. We had
2 Havanne Suites on floors 2&3 with the much talked about illuminating baths!
The rooms had great views of the busy streets below and really comfy beds. The
only complaints would be the separate toilet cubicle was very small, my husband
who's 6"4 couldn't shut the door when seated which made for some interesting
moments :/ and it was still cramped for me at 5"4. Also the cleaning could have
been better, they did a quick tidy but floors were not mopped and cups/bottle
not taken away. Both of these things did not impact on our 3 night stay but if
we had stayed longer I would have felt the need to say something. Public areas
were lovely and we are so glad we went with a boutique/characterful style hotel
instead of the large chain ones.
Breakfast was not including in our rate, but theres a great cafe next door which
became our local for anytime of day, nice to sit outside and soak up the
atmosphere, hustle and bustle.
We ate at Montparnasse 1900 on the saturday night (Boulevard De Montparnasse - See separate review) and can highly recommend, this meal was the best value of the whole weekend. We also tried Indiana down the road with was more of laid back eatery with a good atmosphere. Also the Sushi place dead opposite the hotel, is really nice.
We did the Tour de Montparnasse tower close by, the views are breathtaking! And
no queuing like the Eiffel tower. Its about €14 to go up to the 59 floor to the
viewing platform, we had a glass of champagne as the sunset up there, magical!
We were warned about how expensive Paris is and I can confirm its true. We were
also told not to eat so close to the touristy areas which we did once by the
Eiffel, lets just say 4 beers & 4 sandwiches €110! Ha-ha, its good to keep a
sense of humour ;) we loved the bar Au Metro next to the Pernety line (straight
into central Paris in minutes) just 100 yards from the hotel, a beer was €8.50.
Having said all that it was worth the expense, we had the best time and would
return in a heartbeat. Paris was everything I dreamt it would be, its got to be done!
Feel free to message me for more info.

Room Tip: The bigger the better, the upgrade cost was minimal about £13 a night, but so worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for this lovely feedback and the kind comments about your recent stay at Atelier Montparnasse Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed so much the Havana Junior Suites and that we fulfilled all your expectations.
Then, I would like to point out that, when booking through the special TripAdvisor Offer dedicated link, you can simply have the breakfast for free !
I will definitely share your comments with the whole staff, who will be pleased to be rewarded for his daily work and attention to guests’ wellness.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Ivan Janes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
9HOTEL MONTPARNASSE
#312 of 1,804 in Paris
468 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#402 of 1,804 in Paris
560 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#197 of 1,804 in Paris
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Fabe Hotel
#119 of 1,804 in Paris
1,161 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#773 of 1,804 in Paris
533 reviews
Montparnasse
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#125 of 1,804 in Paris
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelier Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelier Montparnasse

Address: 84 rue Raymond Losserand | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#245 Family Hotel in Paris
#315 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $105 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atelier Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 minutes walk from Montparnasse, hotel ATELIER Montparnasse is a design hotel of 40 air conditioned rooms that can accommodate 1 or 2 people with complimentary wireless internet access. This 3* hotel is an ideal base for the discerning business person, for Champs-Elysées and Porte de Versailles Exhibition Centre (a 15-minutes metro ride), or for exploring Paris's many tourist or pleasure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atelier Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Alesia Montparnasse Paris
Alesia Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing