We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atelier Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atelier Montparnasse to your Saves list
Atelier Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84, rue Raymond Losserand | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #310 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in a basic room. Overall we were disappointed b/c the room stunk and was small. The room was tiny...there was not enough room to open our suitcases and still walk around the bed. We were in Paris when it was warm and the air conditioning in our room would not stay on. In the middle of the night, (ever 15 minute or so) I would get warm and literally click the remote control to turn the air conditioning back on. (I didn't get good rest b/c I felt like I kept hitting the "Snooze" button to turn on the AC.) Around 6am, the street sweeper machine and trash machines would begin. We even slept with the windows open to try to help, but then it was really loud. The biggest disappointment....our shower smelled terribly of mildew. It was so bad....especially in the morning. (I'm not sure if it was a septic problem or what?) Pros: The room was clean, the location was authentically Paris...a cool area with bars, bakeries, fish market, vegetable stand, etc. And, the bed was comfortable. I see excellent reviews on this hotel and I think they must have stayed in an upgraded room. (I would highly recommend spending the extra money to upgrade your room if you choose this hotel.) We decided not to do this because we felt like we would not be in the room very often. However, we wish that we would have. Most of the staff here was extremely friendly...but they was one gentleman didn't have much personality and was not friendly at all. I am rating this as average b/c I realize that rooms are small in Europe, air conditioning is not as common, and loud streets are part of the charm. However, I will choose another hotel next time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We understand that you haven't found the room as comfortable as you have expected it and
we are very sorry for the smell you may have been disturbed with. The sifone just had to be readjusted. I think the the AC stayed on the timer mode, reason why it stopped every 15 minutes.

I really want to inform you so as our future guests, we are happy to help, whenever we are informed of such problems. In this particular case, the 2 problems could have been solved in a minute. I am though deeply sorry, and would like to apologize for this.

We are delighted however that you have enjoyed the service, the decoration and the location of the hotel .
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again,

Best Regards,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    251
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
48
314
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Atelier Montparnasse for 4 nights in total, one of those nights was in a Havana Suite. I stayed my first night in the fancy Havana Suite and thoroughly enjoyed the amenities that came with it, a luxurious tub, Nespresso machine, and fantastic view of Montparnasse's streets, classic Parisian. The next day I headed out to Mont St. Michel, and the wonderful staff at Atelier gladly held my giant backpack, so all I had to take was an overnight bag. When I returned I stayed in the one of the standard room, no special amenities but a comfortable bed, wonderful rain shower, and a decent view. I would have loved a Nespresso machine in the second room, and it would have been snug for two people.

My advice: if you are alone, one of the standard suites is fine, but if you are traveling as a couple, upgrade to one of the suites, they are fabulous. I skipped breakfast because there are several boulangeries nearby. Oh, and there is a metro stop a block away.

Room Tip: I was on the second and third floors facing the street. With the windows open it could get noisy, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terralily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review about your recent stay at Atelier Montparnasse Hotel.
We are very proud that you enjoyed so much the Havana Junior Suite and the double room, a few days later, and that you noticed the attention to details.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff were nice and friendly. The room was small but clean and well decorated. The bathroom was not great but ok - the shower leaked but not enough to worry about. We will try to get one of the lovely coloured baths if we stay again!!
Breakfast was really good. We could have eaten far too much!! The hotel is right next to a metro station and lots of shops, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddarClimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this feedback and the kind comments about your recent stay at Atelier Montparnasse Hotel.
I am glad that we replied that well to your expectations and that you were pleased with the friendly staff, the cleanliness, and the comfortable room.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our first trip to Paris and we weren't disappointed. A stones throw from a Metro station (Pernety or Plaisance), the Atelier reception staff had a welcome smile and offer of a drink to wash off the travel dust.
The hotel room was just as advertised on the website, complete with funky bathtub (we stayed in the Havana club), double aspect windows and super comfortable bed. Our only minor, and it would be the only criticism given the sizes of French hotel rooms, would be the toilet is about four foot from the edge of the bed, separated by a sliding door. That's it, not much else, perhaps a large mirror for the vanity table.
Breakfast was superb, the staff always on hand to re-fill or assist should you need, setting us up for the day; after a busy day of wandering the Parisian attractions, return to find the room refreshed; fresh towels daily and fresh sheets after two nights, excellent care for our belongings (I'm a bit messy) and overall, everything you expect from a hotel with a huge dose of personal care. A short walk nearby, search out the secret little Bistrots and stay off the main road for real French cuisine.
Our tip, if you can stretch to it, go for the Havana club as its fantastic value for money, we would rate this hotel above three star.

Room Tip: Havana club room is fantastic value for money. Thin walls are expected as norm, but does not impact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We are delighted you had such a good time with us and that our location, service and efficiency met your expectations. We are also glad that you enjoyed your fantastic Havana Junior Suite, with a special deal on our website. I will share your comments with entire team so they can further be rewarded for their dedicated work and remain motivated to always deliver better experiences to our valued guest.
Many thanks for your loyalty, we hope to see you again at Atelier Montparnasse in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 4 nights. Everything was very nice in the common area when we came in. A nice sitting area with a fireplace, magazines and self serve bar. The room was small but that was expected for Paris. The bathroom was very nice with a large shower. The room also had a small TV and mini bar. The keys were also the old fashioned lock and key, not the electronic ones that most hotels use. It is very close to a metro stop and from the hotel to the louvre or eiffel tower was probably only 15 minutes vis metro with one transfer. We didn't do breakfast there as there is a great pastry shop outside the hotel and to the left a block or two. The staff was friendly and spoke English well but not fantastically. I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Atelier Montparnasse Paris. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Paris and especially at our hotel.
It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay as comfortable as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere created through the breakfast and lounge areas.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed for five nights with my boyfriend. The hotel is 2 mins away from the metro station. Normal breakfast. Clean and room is rather small. Excellent and friendly staff. From hotel to CDG by taxi around an hr with abit traffic which cost you abt €63. Food is all around you, pls use trip advisor for direction and selection.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malee2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for this feedback and the kind comments about Atelier Montparnasse.
I am glad that we replied that well to your expectations and that you were pleased with the friendly staff, the cleanliness, and the comfortable room. I will definiyely share your comment with the hotel’s team.

We all look forward to welcoming you on your return trip to Paris.

Best regards,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asyut, Egypt
Level Contributor
170 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Renovated in a small building , very modern room / bathroom. Bed was comfortable. everything is quite small though.. We had Expedia VIP so free minibar!! ITs 10 min walk from Montparenss station. Thought it was bit expensive though... but I guess all Paris hotels are..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your feelings about your recent stay at Atelier Montparnasse.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location, design and room comfort. In addition, thank you for highlighting the bedding quality.

We were pleased to welcome you and look forward to do it again soon !

Best regards,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#352 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#198 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
Hotel Ariane Montparnasse
#363 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9HOTEL MONTPARNASSE
#400 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Le Fabe Hotel
#73 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#102 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelier Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelier Montparnasse

Property: Atelier Montparnasse
Address: 84, rue Raymond Losserand | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#236 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#246 Family Hotel in Paris
#314 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atelier Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 minutes walk from Montparnasse, hotel ATELIER Montparnasse is a design hotel of 40 air conditioned rooms that can accommodate 1 or 2 people with complimentary wireless internet access. This 3* hotel is an ideal base for the discerning business person, for Champs-Elysées and Porte de Versailles Exhibition Centre (a 15-minutes metro ride), or for exploring Paris's many tourist or pleasure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Atelier Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Alesia Montparnasse Paris
Alesia Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing