We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atelier Montparnasse
Ranked #501 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice, modern boutique hotel. Friendly staff. Good location close to the Penerty Metro Station. Reasonable price. Hotels in Paris are in general very expensive and of poor quality. This hotel provet to be the opposite. :-) I stayed in the hotel for 3 days during September and got a good deal from the hotels own website.

Room Tip: First floor and up so you get off street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasperN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your reviews on Atelier Montparnasse. Actually, you took advantage of our special offer on the hotel’s website.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, thanks to hotel’s location, comfort, design and staff.

Looking forward to see you soon,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    289
    56
    17
    8
See reviews for
63
349
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

2 minutes walk from the Pernetty metro station this hotel is a cute little gem in Monparnasse. I chose this hotel looking at the reviews even thought Montparnasse is not my fav location to stay in Paris. I much prefer St.Germain or
The price that I paid for Atelier was almost half of what similar hotels in those areas would had charged me and I was very happy to save that money for my 3 day trip to Paris.
That said I must compliment the staff for being warm, helpful and attentive. The front desk was wonderful and the rooms themselves were well appointed and chic. Of course they are small but so are almost 90% of all hotel rooms in Paris so please don't go with the room size at all.
All in all a wonderful hotel with wonderful people running it. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Bijay,

We would like to thank you for the delightful review you wrote. Obviously, you took advantage of the special 3 night offer on the hotel website. We are happy to read that you enjoy our location, room comfort and design. In addition, I will be glad to share your kind comment about the staff with the hotel's team.
We were pleased to welcome you and look forward to do it again soon !

Best regards,

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

For the price, this is a nice hotel, although we had a very small room which i was a bit disappointed with as it looked nothing like the pictures on the website. However the location is good, being so close to a metro station and within walking distance of the eifel tower etc.

We booked this hotel online and chose it especially as it had parking and when we booked it stated that parking was included. We arrived at the hotel and the guy at reception gave us the key to the car park and told us where to park. All good so far, we checked in as normal and nothing was mentioned about paying to park. At the end of our stay we went to check out and were told that we had to pay for 2 days parking. This was the first time it was mentioned to us and we explained that it was included in the room price but they argued with us and we ended up having to pay for the parking and they would not even let us use the space for the rest of the day. Really bad customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Christie,

First, we would like to thank you for taking time to write this post.

We are deeply sorry that we didn't fulfill your expectations. Regarding your comment on the room, the size is a “Parisian standard”. It meets the requirements of a 3* hotel. During your next stay, we would suggest to book one of our junior suites, which offers more space and an an open bathroom with bathtub.
Concerning the parking, we only have a few places, this is why it needs to be booked in advance. It is never advertised as free or included in the room rate, on our website or anywhere else. As a matter of fact, it is an additionnal service we offer to our guests, 15€/night is a very competitive rate in Paris downtown. It is the first time a guest complains about this, so if you can give me more details about the website and page on which you saw parking was included, I would be grateful. We always try to arrange, and if our guests need extra parking hours, we are glad to offer it providing that parking spot is not booked for the next night.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards

Ivan Janes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just stayed here this month. The room was clean and so homely. The staff were helpful although we didn't speak French. The location was also great, just a short walk to the Penerty Metro station. The corridors were understandably narrow but it adds character to this unique hotel. We had a wonderful stay. Hope you will enjoy the same experience as we had.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the delightful review you wrote and the pictures you added. We are glad to read that you enjoy your room, the hotel's atmosphere and services.
We were pleased to welcome you and look forward to do it again soon !

Best regards,

Ivan JANES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After a few bed experiences in paris,this was a nice one.
The room we had was small but nice and clean.We stayed four nights,felt like at home .
Thank You for your help to call a taxi at 4.00 am ,even if I was not in the hotel anymore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleksandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Aleksandra,

Thank you for such an enthusiastic review.
We are more than glad that we succeeded in making your staying here as good as it could have been, that's our main purpose.
We care about our guests, and when someone notices that, it's satisfactory.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Ivan JANES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portofino, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Paper-thin plasterboard walls allowing you to hear everything in the adjoining room, slightly dishevelled-looking bed linen and the steepest staircase to climb this side of the Matterhorn with one's heavy suitcase, unaided, did not promise a comfortable stay. The hotel had already asked for prepayment in full online (to obtain a competitive rate) so there was no going back. Location is in a rather sub-prime part of the greater Montparnasse area but useful if you have a wheelie bag and don't mind trundling it to and from Montparnasse station (about 15 mins walk) without having to negotiate all those steps in the Metro (there is a good coach service from Orly airport to Montparnasse). As the rate was cheap -- at around 70 euros per night, without breakfast -- one cannot complain about the scale of the single room (very small) or bathroom (miniscule). Minor details, though, niggled constantly. A "don't disturb" sign was provided but there was nothing to hang it on, outside the door. Returning at night, there were no lights between the reception desk and the passageway to the staircase -- some lights went on automatically, once one had moved closer to one's destination, but this left 20 metres of having to feel one's way in the dark. The shower stall had absolutely no shelf to put one's gel or shampoo -- except on the floor which itself was a concoction of pebbles embedded in cement. This cleverly managed to retain the spilled water the entire day so, on returning in the evening, the bathroom floor was still sopping wet from the morning's ablutions. No fault of the maid but, in this case, just the bathroom design. The tap (faucet) for the basin wobbled dangerously, adding to the impression that things were starting to fray at the edges. A pre-owned toilet roll still remained from the previous guest.
The staff, however, were friendly and helpful and politely humoured my schoolboy French. The street itself had numerous cafes and bars and useful shops. The room itself, overlooking the courtyard, was far removed from the traffic at the front, which was an advantage. The rumble of trains could be heard beneath the building, but perhaps that's all part of the Parisian magic.
Breakfast (10 euros) was skipped in favour of a croissant and coffee at the cafe next door.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LaPietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for sharing your reviews about your stay at Atelier Montparnasse. We are deeply sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
The incovenients you noted in the room are now fixed. You may have shared it while staying at the hotel, we would have done everything to make your stay more pleasant.
Thanks for your kind comment on our staff, we do really appreciate.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Ivan JANES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at the hotel 6-nights for a solo vacation. Everything as advertised. Nice newly decorated rooms. Had a room on the 4th floor with view towards the street, and it was no problem with noise from the outside.
As other reviewers state, the rooms are fairly small, but 10-12 m2 is just that, and it was nothing that I didn't know when I booked. Besides, when going to to Paris, you'd want to se Paris - not only your hotel room. The hotel is situated close to the metro, and there is a local Brasserie called Au Metro across from the metro staion, which had good food and super friendly staff.
A great bonus was the price, and the fact that a good, varied breakfast was included.
The hotel is highly recommended for location, price and service.

Room Tip: Although the rooms are "sound proof" from the outside, the doors let through some noice fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Directeur général at Atelier Montparnasse, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of all my team, I would like to thank you for your kind comments.
Obviously, you took advantage of a special offer on our hotel website.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Atelier Montparnasse and in our pleasant district.
Hope to welcome you for your next trip in Paris.

Best Regards,

Ivan Janes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
9HOTEL MONTPARNASSE
#316 of 1,801 in Paris
423 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#379 of 1,801 in Paris
552 reviews
Le Fabe Hotel
#99 of 1,801 in Paris
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#154 of 1,801 in Paris
1,032 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#245 of 1,801 in Paris
749 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#768 of 1,801 in Paris
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelier Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelier Montparnasse

Property: Atelier Montparnasse
Address: 84 rue Raymond Losserand | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#245 Family Hotel in Paris
#315 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atelier Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 minutes walk from Montparnasse, hotel ATELIER Montparnasse is a design hotel of 40 air conditioned rooms that can accommodate 1 or 2 people with complimentary wireless internet access. This 3* hotel is an ideal base for the discerning business person, for Champs-Elysées and Porte de Versailles Exhibition Centre (a 15-minutes metro ride), or for exploring Paris's many tourist or pleasure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Atelier Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Alesia Montparnasse Paris
Alesia Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing