We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of La Maison Favart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Maison Favart
Ranked #25 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A great location from which to see Paris's attractions. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, giving advice and arranging restaurant bookings. We couldn't have asked for more.
Afternoon tea & cake was complimentary - a nice touch when returning from a hard days sightseeing.

If you are going to be picky then the standard rooms are small (but then this is Paris!). The same applies to the sauna / spa area again & probably not worth the effort.

Overall perfect for a short break - but don't book as a spa location :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billericay_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieRichez, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Paris!
Please note that we do not have any spa in our hotel, but a small beeing center with a relaxing pool and a sauna for 2 persons.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Yours sincerely,
Stéphanie Richez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Favart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Usually, I am not keen on so-called "boutique" hotels, finding them sometimes chichi, over the top trendy and often too expensive compared to more traditional hotels in the same category. But, given the highly positive travellers' reviews, I was quite willing to give La Maison Favart a chance for our latest stay in Paris.

First the (very) good news: this quite recently renovated hotel - opposite the Opéra Comique - is everything the favourable reviews say. So no need to go over the same items again. Just let me add that almost everything on offer at the Maison Favart is of the very highest luxury quality: from the superior bed and bathroom linens to the very good and moderately priced breakfast - which includes the very best butter in France, the famous Beurre d'Échiré, to give but one example. Sole overall reproach: the normal rooms and bathroom are slightly too cramped; however, that's something than can be said about many French hotels.

Same goes for the "wellness" area. The smallish fitness room only features cardio machines (running board, rowing, cycling) - whereas a few weights would not be unwelcome; as for the pool, it's just a ennobled kind of bathtub, just sufficient to take a literal dip - but not one or two strokes.

The amenities in the lobby are excellent: several magazines, newspapers, etc.

Decoration is a bit, well... chichi - what with a bizarre Louis XV "style" (although the escritoire in our room seemed a real antique). All rooms feature an individual design, which is what it is, and the general colour scheme is somewhat zany - but that's all a matter of taste. Apart from the size, comfort is superior, and includes a Nespresso coffee machine in the room - not always renewed after the room is cleaned, although the linens are changed systematically (but beds are not turned down at night).

Only big, but really big drawback in our room: no really individual reading lamp on each side of the bed. Meaning that just with but one of the ceiling lamps lighted (which are supposed to fulfill this role), the room is simply flooded with a LED glare. Now, lighting of individual sides of beds is a problem in several hotels these days, certainly those that have been renovated recently. So, this is not an individual reproach. Which makes me wonder: have "designers" ever slept with a partner in the same bed, where one wants to sleep while the other wants to read?

Other slight problem: air conditioning seemed perfunctory - but fortunately, sleeping with the window open was possible.

A final word about service: it could not have been friendlier - with one glaring exception: when I went to pay our bill, the person at the reception, whom we had not seen earlier, was the most uncongenial individual one could imagine: the kind which gives Paris (and France) such a bad name - undeservedly so in my view. Now, I can accept that someone has a bad day, but this should never be noticed by a customer, certainly at these rates in this category (not at any rate in any category!) Such an incident should never have happened...

But let's put this behind us and have it land in the realm of glitches. So, if you're looking for an agreeable, well-situated venue in Paris, and do not expect or want the advantages / disadvantages of an equally priced "big" hotel, while liking that singular "boutique" feeling, you could certainly do worse than booking a room at the Maison Favart. Price is a bit steep for what it is, but hotel prices in Paris these days are quite phenomenal, all things compared, so that isn't a reproach either...

Room Tip: Ask for the real size of the room and
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hakutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Not only because we needed to see more of the city, but because this hotel was such a lovely refuge. Loved the room amenities, like bathrobe and espresso coffee maker, but also the comfortable bed and ample space for our 9-day stay early October. The staff was attentive and fun to chat with. The breakfast was delicious in the sunny breakfast room. After one exhausting day, we walked into the hotel and the guy on duty asked if we'd like some iced water. We had high expectations, choosing a 4-star was a splurge for us, but we weren't disappointed. As we have continued our travels in France and Spain, we look to Maison Favart as our best lodging.

Room Tip: No Ned to pay extra for deluxe or suite
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeejDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieRichez, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay at La Maison Favart and the services we propose. Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor!
We have shared your remarks with the entire team, which will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of them.
We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, which hopefully will be very soon!
Yours sincerely,
Stéphanie Richez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I will definitely go back! It is a very nice and quite hotel in the center of the city that actually is hidden in a way that nothing disturbs you! Great for couples, very romantic! Service, rooms, food everything is excellent. I actually got a deal from the hotel website, so always check is they have something to propose.

Room Tip: Check hotel deals, sometimes you get a wonderful one!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieRichez, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor following your recent romantic stay in Paris!
We are very pleased to read that we made you happy and you enjoyed your stay at la Maison Favart.
Yours sincerely,
Stéphanie Richez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Small hotel with a lot of charm. Situated in a perfect location to explore Paris. Suite was a good size for ourselves and our 5 year old son. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone who is looking to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErwinM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieRichez, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Paris!
We are delighted that you and your son enjoyed the hotel, the location and its services and hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon!
Yours sincerely,
Stéphanie Richez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is the cutest hidden gem. Really a great hotel, I don't have a single complaint. Very clean, great service, very friendly/accommodating staff, great Parisian décor, comfortable, in walking distance to great restaurants and shopping and the Metro. Very quaint and adorable. Yes it is small but that's how most hotels are in Paris from what I understand. I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: If you're the type of person who needs sunlight, make sure you mention that in your reservation...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellyMel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieRichez, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at La Maison Favart!
How wonderful to read that you met the perfection in our hotel!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to your new Parisian home!
Yours sincerely,
Stéphanie Richez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Small, but ideally formed and easy walking to most attractions. Situated in a very quiet square - but just yards from the bustle of Paris.

Very attentive service - with nice little personal touches.

Rooms are quite small - but clean, pretty and functional.

Ideal venue for a short stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barberousse888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieRichez, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure to welcome you to at la Maison Favart on your recent stay in Paris. Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us !
We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Yours sincerely,
Stéphanie Richez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#17 of 1,804 in Paris
370 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint-Marc
Hotel Saint-Marc
#16 of 1,804 in Paris
343 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#31 of 1,804 in Paris
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#47 of 1,804 in Paris
1,086 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Le 123 Sebastopol - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Favart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Favart

Address: 5, Rue de Marivaux | 2nd Arr, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paris
#20 Family Hotel in Paris
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $259 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison Favart 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Favart will open on the 13th april 2012 after 1 year and a half of renovation. 31 Bedrooms, 4 suites and 2 duplex will be proposed to you. It will be a 4 star hotel, serving a very nice buffet breakfast. A honesty bar, a sauna, a relaxing pool, a fitness room will be at the disposal of our guests. In every room, you will find air conditionning, king size bed, minibar, safetybox, tv with free moovies, coffee and tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Maison Favart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Favart Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing