We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of La Maison Favart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Maison Favart
Ranked #25 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Great room , great view to the opera comique, great breakfast and great service.
It is situated so central, but you wouldn't know it as it is such a quiet street. I completely recommend staying here, even though it is expensive - it was worth it.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view to the opera comique, it was beautiful and a great room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Favart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a wonderful boutique hotel situated in the Opera District. If you are keen to save money take the Roissy Bus from CDG (10 euro) to the Opera (Rue Scribe) and walk 10 minutes to the hotel. The hotel is located on a quiet street (overlooking the Opera Comique) and the metro Richelieu-Drouot is 50 metres up the road. A taxi rank is located right next to the metro entrance. A taxi from this rank to CDG cost 41 Euro (excluding luggage) and took 30 minutes in light traffic. A taxi will cost more if ordered by the hotel - I have heard an extra 10 euro. You can find plenty of good restaurants, fast food outlets and a Monoprix on the main boulevard. The shopping centres Printemps and Galleries Lafayette are a 5-10 minute walk. The Louvre is also 10 minutes in the opposite direction.

The hotel staff spoke excellent English and was welcoming. I joined I Prefer before leaving and it was nice to receive a beautiful La Maison Favart candle as a welcome gift (retailed for 45 euro); upon checkout, I was given a lovely hardcover journal about the hotel - a nice memento to use as a travel journal. The hotel was clean and staff were unobtrusive, attending to the rooms twice per day and stocking up tea, coffee and towels whilst you are out touring or having dinner.

The hotel is stunning in its decoration. The rooms are cosy and chic and are all individually decorated according to themes. Although the rooms are small the space has been used resourcefully and even include a lovely nespresso machine. The TV includes a huge range of channels and movies (premiere and recent release) which can be viewed for free. The bathroom contains a rain shower located within the bath. The bed was very comfortable.

The spa area on level -1 was clever in design. The pool was located in a grotto like area and the sauna was a fantastic space. The attendant although he spoke limited English, warmly encouraged guests to use this facility.

The common foyer areas are heated by a warm and cosy gas fireplaces, but I did feel they were underused. One guest room is located on the ground floor adjacent to a common area and guests are asked to move away from this area if chatting to each other.

I had breakfast in the charming dining room - it cost 24 euro (full) or less for an express version and was more than ample to start the day, with a few hot options, bakery, cereals and cheese. In the evening they have an honesty bar with spirits, champagne and wine with some cakes etc. Expect to pay mini bar prices for these items. There is a wine store just around the corner and several cafes on each corner where you can have a drink before dinner.

I highly recommend a stay. I have stayed in a lot of five star hotels and this hotel rates amongst one of the best. This hotel offers a personalised touch which is often lacking in five star establishments. Bon voyage!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back had a small balcony - with view of the interior courtyard and residential building...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HighFlyer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I picked this hotel after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, so i hope my quick summary has the same effect.
Making a change from staying at the well known larger establishments in Paris we decided to pick a smaller boutique style hotel and i have to say Le Maison Favart was just the place we were looking for and also lived up to the comments i had read.
Situated next L'Opera Comique and not far from the subway to travel the rest of Paris. It's beautifully decorated right down to the fine details. Check in was great, even though we arrived before lunch our room was ready so we could settle and freshen up before venturing out.
The room we had was delightful with seating area one end with TV and another in the bedroom. excellent shower although my wife was a little disappointed there was no bath to soak in. The beds though were amazing, 2 of the best nights sleep, extremely comfortable. The area of Paris is quiet so no traffic noise through the night.
On return to our room in the evening of the first night we were surprised to be treated to a bottle of champagne, compliments of the hotel, which was a lovely gesture. After enjoying our drinks we asked the concierge where we could find a place that did good mussels near by, he promptly pointed us in the direction of Leon of Brussels which was a 5 minute walk.
Unfortunately the next morning we lost our coffee machine on the second day after it tripped the rooms electrical sockets and it wasn't replaced before we left, which was a little disappointing.
With no coffee in the room we ventured down to breakfast, we hadn't breakfast included in our deal so forked out the €24 each for the hot buffet. I have to say i was disappointed with the hot breakfast, i thought it would have been to order, instead it had been sitting in the hot trays for some time, the scrambled egg had dried out and sausages and bacon not the best quality, definitely not for the money.
We didn't venture down to the pool or spa as we were out most of the time but if the pool is as nice as the rest of the hotel it will be gorgeous.
On checking out we were treated to a small hardback book which shows you all the rooms in the hotel and when we visit Paris again we will look here first to try out one of the other rooms.
In summary, love the place, staff are lovely, don't bother with breakfast, the cold breakfast is fine but not for the price.

Room Tip: They're all nice, but if you enjoy a bath make sure you check your room has one.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mccpid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in the wonderful La Maison Favart boutique hotel for 3 nights at the end of November to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary.

After a long queue at Gare du Nord (maybe worth using pre booking service?), the taxi took half an hour to reach the hotel due to a lot of rush hour traffic (on return this was nearer 10 minutes). The check-in at La Maison Favart was simple and quick but informative.

The hotel is extremely well presented, clean and tidy having been renovated early in 2012. It has a stylish yet relaxed atmosphere and set in a quiet but accessible area. The staff were polite and efficient and eager to help with any queries and offer recommendations. We were recommended the restaurant L' Escargot Montorgueil (38, rue Montorgueil) as a mid priced, relaxed French cuisine restaurant and it definitely fitted the bill! There were also a number of other quality restaurants and shops in the same street with many seemingly more frequented by locals for an authentic Paris feel rather than the generic tourist trap type areas.

The hotel spa contains a pool which is compact although really very unique. It is a grotto style pool making use of many mirrors and coloured lights along with water effects which could be started / stopped. It was generally quiet and we made a few visits to it, often the only ones there especially early evening. The sauna was also great and next to the pool so ideal for chopping and changing between the two. Towels and lockers were provided at the Spa, There were some exercise machines such as cross trainers although never quite made it to those...

Not having been to Paris before, cannot compare the size of rooms but in the Deluxe Bedroom there was plenty of room with a bathroom with large, powerful shower and separate room with WC. The decor was most tasteful and had a good view over L'Opera Comique which unfortunately was under cover and scaffolding but will have been uncovered for a while now! There was a well stocked mini bar with reasonable prices and options on the TV should you require them (many complimentary such as music albums and films). Other room facilities included an ipod docking station, tea / coffee machine, bathrobes & slippers.

My wife remembers fondly the fragrance of the hotel which was present throughout, albeit subtly and not overpowering.

We went for a deal including breakfasts although you can save a lot if you wish by using the local shops. We wanted easy mornings before heading off to explore Paris and so the breakfast was a good choice for us especially as it was served until 11am. It consisted of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, teas, coffees, some hot food, cheeses, smoked salmon, most tasty croissants and a number of delicious cakes.

Found the location ideal and easy walking distance to Musée du Louvre. Close to several metro stops 2-5 mins max allowing us to easily visit Place de la Concorde, Tour Eiffel, Champs-Élysées and Sacré-Cœur/Montmartre at a leisurely pace and still have time to relax in the hotel.

Although not cheap, I Would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly especially for a celebration as it was really impeccable. Will check the availability at La Maison Favart first on any return trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DandelionClocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We looked long and hard before finding this great hotel very nice sunny rooms comfortable beds breakfast was a little light and my husband said the shower could have been stronger.

The location was good and we were able to get everywhere we wanted easily. This was our first trip to France and I enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

La Maison Favart is a beautifully furnished, relaxed and charming boutique hotel. Perfectly situated in a quiet street, we walked everywhere - Galleries Lafayette, Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, Arch de Triumph, Musee d'Orsay... There are also some excellent restaurants nearby.

We stayed 5 memorable nights in the Carmen Duplex and although there was no view (I'm sure other rooms have a fantastic view of the square), the room was comfortable with a Queen bedroom upstairs and a separate downstairs lounge. With 2 beautifully equipped bathrooms, an upstairs bath and downstairs shower (with great water pressure!) it was like a mini apartment with a coffee machine!

The breakfast room is delightful (we received complimentary breakfasts, but normally they are expensive at 22 Euro each). It transforms into an honesty bar in the evening, which was great to have a drink after a busy (freezing) day in Paris to warm our feet by the fire in the beautiful lobby.

All the staff were extremely professional, friendly and happy to help in any way. We didn't have our kids with us, but I'm sure it would be a family friendly hotel.

The only thing I would suggest is the Hotel makes arrangements with one of the local restaurants to supply a room service menu with cooked meals. After flying in from Australia arriving 6am and a full day on the go, our first night there we just wanted a room service dinner and to get some sleep :) The limited room service menu of sandwiches and salad wasn't particularly attractive.

We will stay here again when next we visit Paris!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2adults4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We only stayed one night but had a great experience. Location was very central. Hotel staff were all very friendly and eager to help. Room was elegantly decorated and clean. Shower was particularly nice. I picked it because it was one of the few hotels in central Paris with a pool. It was small but it was spa-like with a waterfall and colored lights and my kids enjoyed it to themselves for 2 hours in the morning before we checked out. Memorable experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#17 of 1,804 in Paris
370 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint-Marc
Hotel Saint-Marc
#16 of 1,804 in Paris
343 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#31 of 1,804 in Paris
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#47 of 1,804 in Paris
1,086 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Le 123 Sebastopol - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Favart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Favart

Address: 5, Rue de Marivaux | 2nd Arr, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paris
#20 Family Hotel in Paris
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $259 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison Favart 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Favart will open on the 13th april 2012 after 1 year and a half of renovation. 31 Bedrooms, 4 suites and 2 duplex will be proposed to you. It will be a 4 star hotel, serving a very nice buffet breakfast. A honesty bar, a sauna, a relaxing pool, a fitness room will be at the disposal of our guests. In every room, you will find air conditionning, king size bed, minibar, safetybox, tv with free moovies, coffee and tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Maison Favart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Favart Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing