We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hippodrome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippodrome Hotel
Ranked #1,250 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was visiting Paris with friends for a week-end. The location of the hotel between Montmartre/Clichy is just great. The neighbourhood is just great to go out at night. Lots of restaurants, bars, theatres, etc.

Anyhow, the hotel is quiet, and service for a two-star hotel is just perfect. Rooms are not so big but clean, comfortable and silent.Let's go

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
42
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I liked the location of this hotel. Just a couple minutes walk from great restaurants and cafes and the metro station. The Moulin Rouge is also just right up the street. I liked this area of Paris, nice and quiet at night and gorgeous views from the top of the Montmarte steps! The hotel is small but cozy. No elevator so that's something to think about if you are in need of one. Friendly staff who understood some English and recommended restaurants for us. Overall a good stay in a safe location in an average hotel.

Room Tip: No lift, choose first floor if you cannot handle stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erinnkeala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Paris, France in June 2013 and stayed in this Hotel for a week. I guess with a limited budget, it's impossible to have a hotel with all the things fabulous. Decide what criteria are non-negotiable for you and which are those you can leave a few days without. With your standards trimmed down to what is important, its now easier to decide on which hotel you will pick to stay. Here are my comments for this hotel.

Aye!
1. The location is very accessible. It's near (a) Metro train station (b) one of the stops of city bus tour (Moulin Rouge) (c) regular bus stops and (d) no problem getting a taxi.
2. The place is very convenient. There are (a) various restaurants, fast food (McDonalds, KFC, local cafes, chinese take aways). If they are not open for 24 hours, I don't exactly know what time they close. KFC/McDonalds/local cafes are still open past 12 a.m. (b) Near ATMs (c) there are various convenient stores (local small shops) for many things from bottled water to fruits.
3. Because of point 1 and 2, the place is busy which means, there is no problem going back late at night. There are lots of people outside. The hotel is in a small road in the area so you wont be disturbed by the noise either.
4. The room (at least our room) is spacious for us. There is enough space for our things and to move around. Of course "enough space" is relative and it depends on your expectations. Remember, this is a two star hotel in Paris. (also, see comment for the bathroom on Ney!)
5. The room is clean. We always come back to the hotel every night with the room tidied up.
6. The attendants are courteous and very helpful. Many of them understand and accommodate english only speakers.
7. I think the price is reasonable at least when we had it.

Ney!
1. There is no elevator. Our room is on the 3rd floor (4th floor for Americans) and I have to carry our luggage from the ground to the 3rd on a narrow spiral stairs.
2. The bathroom is big but the shower room is very small. I often bump the soap holder and it's difficult to pick fallen things in it. The bathroom has an unused real estate enough to accommodate our empty luggage. It would have been better if the space was used for the shower room.
3. No wifi or perhaps limited wifi (cant access many sites including facebook!)
4. The toilet is in a separate room. There is no exhaust. The lights automatically switches off (no on/off switch) after few minutes even if your performance is not yet done. You have to waive your hands in the air and say "let there be light!". Sometimes "and there is light", but on other times, complete darkness.

Room Tip: I guess with a limited budget, it's impossible to have a hotel with all the things fabulous. Dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rcebuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We picked this hotel in booking.com (specifically mentioning that we needed an adapted room) - Hippodrome was the only 2-star hotel in Montmartre that claimed to have adapted room (iaccording to booking.com and in their home page). When we arrived, our room was supposed to be on 2nd floor (no elevator at the hotel and the staircase is very narrow). We managed to get a room on the ground floor but it was tiny and there was no window. The personnel was friendly and understanding though and gave us discount since the room was far from what was originally promised. The location of the hotel is great - it is located in a quiet small street but in the very centre of Montmartre)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Even though we had two small problems (bathroom door wouldn't stay shut and the only free electrical outlet wasn't well attached to the wall), this is a great hotel and a great value. It was very clean and on the larger side for a cheap Paris hotel. The location is unbeatable (two blocks from the Moulin Rouge, Sacre Coeur, and right near a metro station and TWO Starbucks) and the staff was very nice, friendly, and helpful. I am actually going to stay here again when I go back to Paris in a few weeks. It was really fun to stay in this part of town. The bathroom was super clean and the bed was comfortable...what more could you ask for. We didn't eat breakfast there and I actually didn't see anyone eating breakfast there so I don't know if its worth the extra money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erraticbinxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Typical Parisian mid-range hotel. Friendly service, tiny room with even tinier bathroom. Close to two metro stations and walking distance to many attractions. Very close to Place de Clichy (strip clubs etc) & the Moulin Rouge. Award winning baguettes 2 mins away at Coquelicot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mannie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annettemg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

We tried to be in the room only after dark as we didnt want to have to look at the black mould around the windows or on the ceiling or the peeling wallpaper. We arrived quite late on the night we checked in and when we asked to be moved we were told they were full. It seemed unlikely as it was a Wednesday night and indeed over the following four days we did not see any other guests or here anyone coming or going. We had to step into the shower in order to make room for the bathroom door to close. There was also a large hole in the wall above the shower where a vent may have once been. The only good point was the high water pressure making for a very enjoyable shower experience but be sure to bring your own soap as none is provided. Overall it looked like thethe kind of place that might rent rooms by the hour. It was shabby and poorly maintained. The foam mattresses and the homeless man who lived in a self built hut accross the road added to that theory.
Probably most suitable for stag weekends or backpackers on a tight budget.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annettemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,224 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#904 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Montmartre
The Modern Hotel
The Modern Hotel
#1,217 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#608 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Andre Gill
Hotel Andre Gill
#1,176 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippodrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippodrome Hotel

Property: Hippodrome Hotel
Address: 7 rue Forest | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#77 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hippodrome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippodrome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippodrome Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing