We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not as bad as you think!”
Review of Abrial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abrial Hotel
Ranked #1,193 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's not as bad as you think!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Me and my girlfriend just got back from Paris, before we went we read some awful reviews, however, when we arrived the hotel was very clean, reception was very helpful, and spoke very good English.

The room was very basic, but very clean and suitable for a city break. The bathroom was quite small, but ideal for a couple. We also got clean towels and supplies of loo roll every day. (they also made our beds! :)).

The continental breakfast was nice, not a big variety, however plenty of fresh juice, hot drinks, and of course crossaints!

..I would definately recommend Hotel Abrial, for a short break/long weekend for the price you pay, and the service you get.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    110
    122
    55
    39
See reviews for
37
171
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel is slightly further out of Montmartre but is only a 5 minute walk from the metro station. It was very convenient to get out to Versailles from here. Local cafes were very nice. The concierge could not have been more helpful, and was very welcoming. The room was clean and satisfactory. No complaints

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capnemmerlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We booked this hotel on Expedia, as one of their "secret deals" -so we really only had the previous guest reviews to go by. Shockingly it averaged 3 stars, so we thought it would be decent. How wrong we were! It is located in a run-down area, and I was even hesitant to lay my head on the pillow! Stay away!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Uberlândia, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

When you enter on it, it seems to be a good comfortable hotel with a good price, but I was totally disappointed. First I bought a wifi card that only works in some places in the reception, not working in the bedroom, but it wasn't told me when I bought it. Then, the receptionist didn't speak english, so it was impossible to solve the problem, cause I don't speak french very well. But, anyway, the wifi card was charged. Then, the bathtub was leaky and the carpet of the bedroom got wet, smelling terribly. The hotel had no rooms to change us that night, so I had to sleep in the lake that formed inside it, with that wet dog smell. The bathtub had no shower, so we had to use the bathtub everyday, taking too much time... But that seems to be the reason why french do not take a shower everyday. The safe didn't work in the room. The location was not that good, because of the neighborhood, but there's a metro stop near it. To close my bad trip, I was asked by a impolite receptionist to pay my bill before leaving the hotel, in front of many guests that were doing their check in. But I was not leaving the hotel, I was only going to the post office with a plastic bag, to send some gifts to Brazil, and there was no bill to pay, everything was paid in the reservation, except for the wifi card thad didn't work. What a shame for the receptionist when he discovered it. I was never so insulted in my life! Hope that man was fired after it! I don't recommend the hotel for anyone. It spoiled my trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Abrial is in the Montmartre district of Paris which has lots to see in walking distance. In fact no where is too long to walk in Paris. If you think you need a central hotel in Paris - think again.

Keep in mind that Paris is OLD. Most buildings are not modern - and this hotel is no exception. Its been upgraded: 2 elevators (very helpful!), a 24 hr bar, beautiful outdoor patio, mediocre art prints on the walls etc...

I've read some poor reviews of this hotel but it all depends on what you are looking for. Dont expect the shininess of Vegas - and everything including a cup of coffee will be significantly more expensive. Cup of coffee in paris = $4 Cdn or 2.5 Euros. So just imagine what an average hotel will cost.

Paris was my final stop after 13 weeks of volunteering and traveling in Europe. I appreciated hotel Abrial because: 1) the employees actually smiled (a rare thing I found in Paris) 2) I had a full bath and bedroom suite all to myself. 3) the room was cleaned very well each day 4) Great airport shuttle offer available 4) the breakfast may seem expensive (12 Euros) but it is actually a very good value considering the variety of the buffet and just the fact that there is unlimited coffee.

Downside to the hotel: Major construction sigh right across the street. Dont be totally put off by this, very little sound penetrates the building. Still ear plugs dont hurt at night, but chances are you will be off exploring the city during working hours and you wont hear a thing. However, you may want to ask for a room that overlooks the inner courtyard and NOT the street. Nicer view and it will be quieter. The room itself was clean but dated and could definitely use a little modern facelift and new beds- but its Paris; old fashioned and fricken expensive. Be prepared!

Room Tip: this is an average hotel in paris - but remember this is gonna be different than an average hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiverwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Yes, the price is good for Paris. No, it's probably not deserving of Expedia's last-minute deals (you save only a few Euros from the listed price). The place is clean, although the rooms have peeling paint and lack amenities many travelers expect (for example, a shower door). The location is a few minute walk from a Metro stop through a local neighborhood, but the location directly across from a large construction sight is a bit uncomfortable at night. For the price and what you get, even non-youth travelers should consider a private room in a hostel as a better-located and better-value alternative.

Also, WiFi and breakfast were ridiculously expensive. Don't waste your money, and consider the extra costs when thinking about your budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crmsnleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,241 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,399 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Belgrand Hotel
#1,401 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
121 Hotel Paris
121 Hotel Paris
#1,368 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de la Felicite
Hotel de la Felicite
#1,518 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Meridional Hotel
Meridional Hotel
#971 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrial Hotel

Property: Abrial Hotel
Address: 176 rue Cardinet | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with beige cement block facade located near Gare St Lazare - 20 minutes to Charles de Gaulle Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Abrial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrial Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing