We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Non-renovated rooms are 1-star” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Ranked #206 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Non-renovated rooms are 1-star”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Their website runs sales for their non-renovated rooms. They look nothing like their renovated rooms on the website. Their non-renovated rooms basically looks like the YMCA or your elderly grandma put something together for you.

Location wise on Blvd Rapspail is super convenient so you do have that because if you don't spend a lot of time in your room, it's nice.

Front Desk folks were nice enough and the lobby looks better than a non-renovated room.

I think the main thing is if you buy the room on Priceline or Hotwire, you're going to be very disappointed with the room.

Room Tip: Don't get a non-renovated room but if you used a travel portal, you might be out of luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank UsedToSmallSpaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillebinz, Marketing Manager at Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear UsedToSmallSpaces,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Aiglon Paris on Trip Advisor. Your remarks are precious to help us improve our service.

We are currently running a renovation campaign but the hotel indeed still offers 9 non-renovated rooms (6 Club rooms and 3 Superior rooms) on a total of 46 rooms. As you have noticed it while booking your stay, the fact that these rooms are non renovated is clearly indicated in the room description on our own website as well as on online distributors’ and they are illustrated with pictures. In average, renovated rooms are priced 20 to 25€ more than the non- renovated room. In addition, let me precise that all of room types are available on distribution portals and that you will always get the best and accurate information by booking on the hotel website www.hotel-aiglon-paris.com.

I am really sorry that despite this information, your room has disappointed you. In reaction to your review, we are taking actions to make it clearer to guests that non-renovated rooms do not offer the same setting than renovated rooms.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    265
    47
    11
    9
See reviews for
156
275
35
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tregunc, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Located on the Blvd. Raspail - this hotel is a block away the Boulevard Montparnasse close to the restaurants Le Dome and La Coupolle. It has a friendly staff and clean rooms. A small breakfast buffet is offered for an additional 15 euros.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomtbjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our 4 year old son and six year old daughter. the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and gave our children each a small bag of colouring books etc. We stayed in a suite which had a large bedroom with very large bed, a separate living room in which we had a double sofa bed (the staff had made this up for us), bathroom, WC and walk in wardrobe. All great and decoration attractive (few marks/tears on walls but looked fine and very clean).

Location is fine - we walked both nights to restaurants nearby and it is on two major metro lines - one goes straight to gare du nord for Eurostar.

Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Our suite was a good size - for Paris hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We would like to take this time to acknowledge Nils at the front desk of Hotel Aiglon. He really made us feel welcome by explaining to us what to see and do in Paris. Yes, we learn a lot from tripadvisor but it was also nice to get some input/advice from a local. He was very patient with us in explaining the different sights to see in Paris. He made sure we got a good impression of the city,we did have a really good impression of Paris and it started at Hotel Aiglon.
We will be back in Paris definitely and we will be staying again at Hotel Aiglon.
Clean, value for your money and excellent customer service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranCzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Last year, I stayed at the Hotel Brighton, same ownership group, also excellent, but far too busy. This was a fantastic alternative. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and pleasant. Bunus: not too small by Paris standards. I stayed in a renovated room, as it seemed like a better option. The location is amazing. You are steps away from the metro, plus the surrounding neighorhood is wonderful. You get all the advantages of a hotel, but when you step outside, you aren't surrounded by tourists. The perfect option. The breakfast was good, a lot of options and good quality food. I didn't eat there every morning, though, as I also enjoy the cafe experience too thoroughly to pass it up. I make an annual trip to Paris, and this will now be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfw
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Hotel Aiglon was very modern and clean. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. The location was great. There was easy access to metro and train, Many good restaurants near by and within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grano7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A very nice hotel with very service-minded staff. Calm location, yet just a few minutes walk from the busy entertaining life of central Paris. Very well-kept rooms with good standard. Nice, newly refurbished bathrooms of great standard. Maybe a little inaccesible if you are disabled, the stairs are steep and the elevator small. Would definitly consider to stay there next time I return to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#62 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#370 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#273 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#271 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Address: 232 boulevard Raspail | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Hôtel Aiglon)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#136 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#249 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aiglon is idealy located in the heart of Montparnasse, the famous artist’s district of Paris. The picturesque neighbourhood with its art studios and cafes is a wonderful place to be on a Paris city break. This splendid hotel of 46 rooms has recently refurbished the building, the lobby, the library, the breakfast room and most of the rooms in the spririt of the twenties, with wonderfull mosaic (in the bathroom and at the entrance of the hotel), nice cutains and wallpaper for an intimate and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiglon Hotel Paris
Hotel Aiglon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing