We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent family room”
Review of Hotel Cosmotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cosmotel
Ranked #822 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very decent family room”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed with our two girls in room 11.

Room 11 is a very decent room with 2 twin beds. The room is on the first floor in the back of the building, far away from the noise of the streets. It is well decorated and has a modern bathroom.

Beds were a little bit hard but we all slept really well. Additional blankets and pillows were available in the room.

We didn't use the breakfast but had breakfast on different locations in the neighbourhood.

WiFi is only available in the lobby in the front of the building, not in the rooms (at least not in room 11).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henkjan_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    70
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
60
41
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Elevators did not work and I had to lug heavy luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Staff could not speak english but was friendly enough. Sheets were filthy. No soap or shampoo provided, I had to ask. I guess you get what U pay for but for an extra 20 euros a night a friend stayed at an accor hotel, the Mercure and absolutely loved it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleBear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The feedback i read about this hotel was pretty positive and i was looking for a cheap hotel to stay 3 nights in paris with my girlfriend.

it's a small hotel in a very narrow building. you only have a door at ground floor and you acces the hotel by ringing the bell. the glass in the door was a bit broken so not a good first impression :) when you enter you have to take a small stair to the 1th floor to the reception. Service was ok and english acceptable. We had our room on the 3th floor and the elevator wasnt working... we didnt take the breakfast.

the room was small but clean. comfortable but hard bed. i like that but maybe others prefer a more softer bed :) negative point was that the curtains wouldnt close completely so we had to place a chair against it to keep them closed. i hate it when my rooms gets to light in the mornings. badroom was really small but again clean, you get warm water really quick! the shower wasnt great though. you couldnt hang it up so you needed to keep the shower head in your hands all time... also clean towels everyday but not much. just 2 big ones and 2 small ones ;-)

negative points
- rooms were refurbished i think but the hallway looked old.
- pretty noisy although we didnt sleep at street side. each morning around 8.30 workers started to hammer on the walls and housekeeping used a vaccuum cleaner in the hallway nex to our room... not enjoyable to wake up with!
- no elevator and really small steps
- old doors for the rooms with a BIG KEY that you needed to hand over at the reception once you left... not a good system imo cause everybody can ask for you key then. i rather prefer card keys.

overall a pretty decent stay but i wouldn't come back here and pay a bit more but price/quality comparison is ok i think :)

sorry for the bad english ;-)

Room Tip: lowest floor possible. not fun to take 4 floors when walking more then 5miles a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zjerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Good experience overall. I would go back. Staff did not speak English very well, but were friendly and we were able to communicate. Good parking in garage just opposite hotel at reasonable price. Most importantly, room was clean. Fresh towels each day. Breakfast at hotel overpriced, good options around hotel area. If you are picky, neighborhood looks a bit sketchy, but always enough people around to make it feel safe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maupaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel is cheap with nice staff and 20 min. from the ceter. Building has a lot of stairs, and we had a small room on the top floor and the lift was broken. Our friends had bigger and nicer room. But it was´t a problem. Continental Breakfast was poorer, but 10min from the hotel was small caffe with good coffe and croasant and good prise :-))). Near the hotel was a few bars, restaurants,...
We´r happy with our selection.
Attention, this review is for the travelers not for the epictures.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paploska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Spent 3 nights here recently.
On the plus side, very close to metro, reasonably central location, good price, extremely clean rooms, pleasant staff, ok breakfast.
On the negative side, the streets are quite rough, especially at night. I do not think a solo female traveller would feel comfortable walking back to the hotel at night here. Also, all rooms seem to be around a central stairwell. Because my room was on the lower floor, there was a lot of noise when people were going up/down to/from their rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Stayed with my wife in March 2010. The street that the motel is on is a little dirty looking when immediately exiting from the Metro, but once inside, the entire establishment is very clean. You must be buzzed in by the desk staff from the street, which gives you some peace of mind. As others have mentioned, you do have to take one flight of steps up to the reception, which may be inconvenient with luggage, but don't let that dissuade you. You only have to make that trip with luggage 2 times :)

Room was typically small, but well appointed with a comfortable bed, large windows, and excellent water pressure. Staff were friendly and helpful. They allowed us to hold us luggage in the room until well after checkout time, which was very handy.

It's a one minute walk to the metro station, and there are many food and shopping places around. It's a 25 minute walk to Notre Dame and the city center.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone as a great value and great location to see all of Paris.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisposableMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#918 of 1,801 in Paris
529 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#453 of 1,801 in Paris
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
#745 of 1,801 in Paris
389 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Taylor Hotel
Taylor Hotel
#480 of 1,801 in Paris
194 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmotel

Property: Hotel Cosmotel
Address: 17 boulevard de Strasbourg, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#358 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cosmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmotel Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing