We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel in residential Paris”
Review of Hotel Montaigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montaigne
Ranked #1,330 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
milano
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in residential Paris”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Considering that the average of hotels in Paris are dusty and need a refresh, this hotel is a great new spot, a good balance between modern design and classic French style.
I got a room on a courtyard, which was very quiet but a bit dark. The colors of decor are dark too so they don't help to create a light feeling.
The room was anyway relatively big (always considering what you get in average in Paris) and confortable.
My wardrobe was an open rack in the bathroom, good idea if you have some wrinkles in your chiffon dress but actually weirdin principle.
Service is good, always considering that you are a foreigner in Paris.
The location is great of you are in Paris to do your designer shopping; Champs Elysees are walking distance and also Les Tuilleriies or Le Grand Palais.
Consider taking a cab to go for dinner as the area is not vey lively by night (but there are good brasseries in the close Avenue Georges V and good Chinese or Asian restaurants also not far.
There's no gym or SPA but the concierge can arrange a massage in your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charline C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Montaigne, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Chiara R,

We were very pleased to welcome you at the Hotel Montaigne for your stay,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you very much for tanking the time to comment on our Trip Advisor Page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    5
    8
    16
See reviews for
13
52
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

we spent a week in Paris and this hotel provided us with what we need: great location, friendly staff, clean room and very good breakfast.
Bathroom was small and the AC was not very good, but that is the case in many hotels in Paris. You can get to a metro station in less than 5 minutes and be on Paris famous Avenue des Champs-Élysées in 2-3 minutes. The hotel and the Ave Montaigne are quiet, classy and very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny13trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetan H, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Montaigne, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Manny13trip,

We had a great pleasure having you in our Boutique Hotel Montaigne,

We take note of your comments regarding the AC and the Bathroom, and we will deal with it better for your next trip.

We hope to welcome you very soon in our lovely city at the Hotel Montaigne.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Everything about this hotel was excellent. The staff could not have been more charming over the phone or more helpful in person. We were going to the Theatre des Champs Elysee and so just had to walk across the road to get there. But to go further afield, the Metro at Alma Marceau is less than five minutes walk and is on a good line and a couple of stops to the main sites.

The rooms were excellent: modern and very comfortable with a well appointed bathroom.

Being slightly away from the Champs Elysee the room rate was good value.

We had a nice lunch in the restaurant before catching the Eurostar - but I would agree the breakfast is overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUKjohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetan H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Montaigne, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear LondonUKjohnW,

Thank you for the comment you wrote on TripAdvisor,

It was a pleasure welcoming you during your stay at the Hotel Montaigne Paris.

We take note of your comment concerning the breakfast.

The Hotel Montaigne and the Restaurant Le Bar de L'Entracte's team wish you a Happy New Year 2014.

And we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very good service and Exceptional comfort. The team is very welcoming at your arrival and during your stay. Decoration is simply perfect. Icing on the cake: the quality of the food at fair price. Only one thing to review in our opinion is the wine list which is expensive and not at the expected level.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierrespbr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetan H, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Montaigne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Pierrespbr P,

Thank you for the comment you wrote on TripAdvisor,

It was a pleasure welcoming you during your stay at the Hotel Montaigne Paris.

We take note of your comment concerning the wine list.

The Hotel Montaigne and the Restaurant Le Bar de L'Entracte's team wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2014.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The service was excellent from the time I entered to the time I left. Great concern was shown by staff and management to ensure my satisfaction with everything. The room was exceptional (junior suite)- modern and tastefully decorated with a lovely bathroom with separate shower and lots of cupboard space. It was completely quiet in the room with no noise at all from the street. The restaurant which is part of the hotel, but also opens onto the street, attracts a local crowd. The food and service are excellent. Avenue Montaigne is a beautiful street, with designer boutiques and a view of the Eiffel Tower. A short walk away and you are in the middle of the Champs Elysees or the Seine and Pont de L'Alma in the other direction. For a visitor to Paris who prefers a small, boutique hotel, Montaigne is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetan H, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Montaigne, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear PennyER20,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Montaigne Paris.

We are very happy you liked your Junior Suite. For information, our designer is Pierre-Yves Rochon.

We have indeed an exclusive and unique location in the Golden Triangle of Paris, and it is a very good start point for a shopping trip !

We hope to see you soon in our five stars Boutique Hotel Montaigne,

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights for business meetings and the Montaigne was a great discovery. Needless to say that Avenue Montaigne is probably as good as it gets in terms of locations in Paris, but the whole rest was just as good, and very reasonably priced. Rooms are not big (this is Paris after all) but it has all been very tastefully redone and especially the bathrooms are superb. The bar and the restaurant downstairs are also worth a visit. The low point? The price of breakfast in the room: 45 euros for some coffee, orange juice, croissants and muesli?! I hope to come back (but will have breakfast in a nice terrace next time)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico_LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetan H, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Montaigne, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Nico_LND,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Boutique Hotel Montaigne.

We would like to thank you for the time you took to comment on our Hotel.

The designer of this Hotel perfectly situated in the Golden Triangle of Paris is Pierre-Yves Rochon

We take in consideration your comment concerning the breakfast,

We hope to see you soon, and Merry Christmas !

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel Montaigne is a beautiful, charming, luxury hotel. The location superb, with some of the worlds best shopping, restaurants and sights all within minutes walking distance.A very chic, beautifully appointed bar/lounge at front of hotel offered the comfort of enjoying a coffee and croissant or a cocktail, all while being seated in a newly and beautifully decorated space, a fireplace gently warming us from the cool of October. The rooms equally as lovely, beautifully decorated, with completely modern bathrooms, double sinks, large shower, and perfect large, deep tub. The bed and linen, some of the best I have ever experienced. We slept soundly and comfortably. And most important, what really becomes the final point of a perfect hotel stay, the service at reception was excellent. They were extremely helpful with everything. No request was to great. All was done with a lovely smile, and kind conversation. And it continued each and everyday with every greeting. A wonderful hotel. A wonderful stay. And wonderful reception. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetan H, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Montaigne, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Teresa C,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Montaigne Paris.

We have indeed an exclusive and unique location on Avenue Montaigne.

Also, we make everything for you to feel good and welcomed during your stay.

We really hope to see you soon !

The Hotel Montaigne's team wishes you a Merry Christmas

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel de la Tremoille
Hotel de la Tremoille
#556 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel San Regis
Hotel San Regis
#722 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Melia Royal Alma
Melia Royal Alma
#322 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
La Maison Champs Elysees
La Maison Champs Elysees
#300 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel de Sers
Hotel de Sers
#356 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Pershing Hall
Hotel Pershing Hall
#1,161 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montaigne

Property: Hotel Montaigne
Address: 6 avenue Montaigne | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#481 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montaigne 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOMFrom January 5th, 2013, the Montaigne Hotel takes on a new mantle of glamour and luxury, inspired by the renowned interior designer Pierre-Yves Rochon. Ideally located at the heart of Paris's prestigious 'Triangle d'Or', the Montaigne Hotel brings you the essence of PARIS.The Montaigne Hotel is proud to welcome you at number 6, Avenue Montaigne, surrounded by the famous names in Haute Couture and in close proximity to the Champs-Elysées, the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montaigne Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing