We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our visit to Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Verlain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Verlain
Ranked #1,065 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
“Our visit to Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Verlain Hotel is a modestly priced hotel, very comfortable, clean and welcoming. Its proximity to the Metro makes it accessible to and from anywhere in Paris. Close by are excellent groceries, boulangeries, restaurants. The room was perfectly adequate, exceptionally clean and the bed comfortable. The room had a fridge and kettle with daily coffee and tea provided. Highly recommended for its value and comfort. The staff were very supportive and helpful.

Room Tip: We can not compare to any other room, but it was absolutely quiet in our room which had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Review785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    132
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
23
121
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home from few days in Paris . Hotel easy to find and surrounded by lots of restaurants and bars. Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming . Rooms were rather small but very clean and tidy.maid service very good. Area around a little run down but food around very good .breakfast was 10 euro per person for continental, was a nice start to the day not busy in the restaraunt .

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank candylay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urville-Nacqueville, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

For a three star hotel, I found the rooms and the bathroom on the small side, clean but barely room enough to turn around in. The wifi works only sporadically in the room but there is a computer room on the ground floor. The breakfast, however, was good and the staff helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room facing the back where there is less of a view but is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Verlain is in a good location with many patisseries, bars, cafes and restaurants nearby. There are also a couple of small supermarkets including a Carrefors Express and a laundromat and the Menilmontant metro station a short walk away. There is a bit of street noise on Friday and Saturday nights but not too bad, it is quiet on other nights. Breakfast is not included in the room rate and for ten euros per person not especially a big variety of choice. You can pick up croissants from the local patisseries for a lot less. Our room was very clean and the bathroom very clean as well although the water pressure in the shower not very good. The mini bar was not replenished at all during our stay. We found the room to be quite dark with not enough natural light so having to turn the lights on and even then they were not very bright either. Of the three reception staff we met, two were friendly and helpful and one was not. Personally I don't think having plastic cups to make a hot drink with to be safe and would advise the hotel to return to proper crockery mugs. There was no milk provided anyway so we just bought our own. Generally the furnishings in our room were tired looking and could do with an update. I am simply stating facts with what I found during my stay but it would not stop me from staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with plenty of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

V good for access around paris on metro. Hotel and its rooms are small but not uncomfortably so. The customer service was average. Perhaps we were unlucky but our safe was not bolted down in our room, there were missing light bulbs, a missing bedside table, the blinds were grubby and the wifi kept cutting out. Bathroom was modern , shame about leaking shower and 'rationed' toilet roll!! Our stay was ok but nothing special for the price and not somewhere we would return to.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHumidiTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel Verlain for 3 nights as a base to use when exploring Paris. The welcome on arrival was very good and the receptionist, David, gave us a nice room with a balcony. The hotel was smart and always looked warm and welcoming. Our room was lovely, fairly small but perfect for a short break. The shower room was newly decorated and had everything you would expect from a three star hotel. The metro station is just over the road with quick links to any destination, we had the Paris visite passes and would advise getting them as they give unlimited travel on the metro, busses, trams and overground trains in Paris. There was some noise from the street on Friday night as there are a few local pubs around but still had a good nights sleep. We would defiantly stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting somewhere to stay in Paris .

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davidp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Close to the Metro Station Saint Maurs this hotel is a joy to stay at.The check-in process was quick and harmless. It has your typical 3* amenities. There are toiletories nice shower. The room had a mini bar and save which was good. There were coffee making facilities as well. The bed was comfortable which allowed for a good night's rest before a day of sight seeing. There are shops and restaurants around where one can purchase food or essentials.

My only conplaint is that there was no English TV channel apart from CNN, which I don't really rate for good news content. After a day out in Paris it would have been nice to have a few English channels to relax to.

IThe breakfast was €12.00 for a continental buffet which means it excludes bacon and eggs, meanless to say we did not have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
BEST WESTERN Saint Martin Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Gardette Park Hotel
Gardette Park Hotel
#683 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel des Metallos
Hotel des Metallos
#929 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Hotel Metropolitain
Hotel Metropolitain
#1,225 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
#615 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verlain

Property: Hotel Verlain
Address: 97 rue Saint Maur, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,065 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Verlain 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Verlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verlain Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing