We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, very comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palm - Astotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Ranked #103 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value, very comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked Hotel Palm Opera through Eurostar on a special deal. The reviews on Trip Advisor gave us confidence that it would be a good place to stay, and it certainly was. We walked from Gare du Nord - about 15 minutes and found it very easily. Our room was compact, but had all we needed, with a very comfortable bed and a large shower and probably the cleanest hotel bathroom we've seen. We found the bedroom very warm, but the window opened so we could cool down.
Shortly after arriving we went out to explore Montmartre, a 15 minute walk up the hill, so very well placed for that. On our first full day we walked to the Seine, visited Musee d'Orsay then walked along to the Eiffel Tower. We walked back to the hotel via the Arc de Triomphe. We could easily have used the metro, but by walking we soaked up the atmosphere and saw so much more. By the time we got back to our hotel room we were worn out but happy. The bar area on the ground floor is great - we enjoyed sitting there with our books and the nibbles and drinks provided were much appreciated - and free of charge.
We found a couple of lovely restaurants nearby (L'Atelier Rodier and Hugo) and the location was excellent for us. We enjoyed breakfast on 2 mornings (overslept the first day!) and found the selection available to be varied and very tasty.
Reception was manned 24 hours and the staff were always friendly. They were very kind with my school-girl attempts at French, and all spoke excellent English when needed. We would without hesitation stay at this hotel again, and will certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank angie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    383
    42
    17
    6
See reviews for
170
664
57
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is great value for money. Great little bakeries nearby and there is a convenience store just around the corner. Only ten minutes from Cadet and Opera Metro stations. We noticed the shower head was broken in the bathroom on the first morning, however we notified the gentleman at reception of this and when we returned that night it was fixed. Room is quite small but decorated well and when you are out exploring the city every day you dont spend alot of time in the room. Snacks and drinks are also available in the lobby free of charge which is a nice touch. Overall its good quality for money in clean comfortable surroundings with helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and had a view of some of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

OK let's put this into perspective. I paid 91 Euro for this room. You heard (read) me, 91 Euro!!!!!! That is unheard of unless you are staying at a hostel or way outside of the city.
This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at in Paris at it's price range.

I took the train into Paris from London and walked to the hotel from the Gare du Nord, easy-peasy.The hotel is small and comfortable, with a modern decorative twist that I loved. The staff is friendly, the rooms are spotless, and breakfast was included (though most days we went to a cafe down the street anyway - more fun).

If you stay here, you will need to get familiar with the Metro system because the hotel is a bit far from the touristy stuff. However, the hotel is close to several convenient Metro lines and we could get anywhere we wanted to go in just a few minutes.

If you are super fussy, you won't like it:
- The road out front is noisy.
- The neighborhood is mixed. If it is your first or only visit ever to Paris, maybe stay elsewhere because this isn't the Marais.
- Our bed was hard and solid, I prefer softer if I have to have an opinion.
- Pillows are lumpy, but really I am reaching to find negatives now......

This all being said, I would definitely stay again and would recommend the place without hesitation.

Room Tip: The upper floors are better, nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed for 3 days in this hotel, it's perfect to spend few days in Paris the rooms are a little bit small but clean as also the bathroom.
It has an incredible location near of many points of interest such as The Opera, Monmatre, Galeries Laffayette etc,, near the subway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian_cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A great little hotel in a good location. 15 min walk to Gallerie Lafayette and Montmartre, 10 mins to Gare du Nord. Very friendly helpful staff. Rooms are small but very clean and newly decorated & furnished. Really comfortable bed. The small lounge downstairs is a great place to relax with complimentary hot & cold drinks and snacks - very nice touch. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, street facing room (we had a view of the Eiffel Tower).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrimKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is hard to find a small good hotel where one feels good especially when on a business trip. But, this one really satisfied my difficult temperament!
Staff is smiley, helpful and nice. There isn't any minibar but instead an open bar in the lobby of the hotel where juices, soft drinks, coffee, tea together with some sweet and savoury snacks are free of charge! What a great feeling after a long working day to sit down in this very comfy and bright environment to drink something fresh or warm with something to eat while browsing one of the beautiful books from the hotel's library!! Rooms where clean, nice, nicely heated and comfy. It is really better than in the pictures!!! I will return there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked this after reading lots of reviews and this had better than average reviews and was quoted as quirky. I like quirky so went for it. It is a great hotel very basic but very clean and tidy and helpful staff.
Pretty central and quiet (our room did not overlook the street). Room was plenty big enough for a weekend trip with comfy large double bed, flat screen TV and desk and chair. Nice easy open velux windows and blackout blinds. Nice big powerful shower - though you would struggle a bit if you are over 6 ft as we had a sloping ceiling (we are 5ft7 and 6ft and were fine).
From early afternoon there were plenty of free drinks and nibbles in the downstairs modern lounge area. They were more than happy to look after your luggage after you checkout until you need to leave.
We didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: We had room 606 which was at the back and nice and quiet not sure if they are any bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#50 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#102 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
#137 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#186 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#47 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm - Astotel

Property: Hotel Palm - Astotel
Address: 30, rue de Maubeuge | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Paris
#33 Family Hotel in Paris
#72 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#83 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palm - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind its Parisian facade, you will find the subtly offbeat universe of our Palm Opera Hotel, expressed in its style and bright colors, designed by two young interior designers, Aurelie Sahuque and Sophie Hanniet. Vintage pop atmosphere and retro design: Make no mistake, this is a decidedly playful and trendy spot. Our 38 charming and intimate rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, internet connection, i-Pod station and safe. We attach great importance to your comfort: Our hotel is non-smoking and also offers environmentally-safe welcome products. Both children and grown-ups will love our breakfast time: Children can move about in their own playground while a tasty and varied buffet is served. You can also relax in our luminous lobby with a luminous bay window, browse the web on your computer with our free WiFi , or read the style magazines available. The Palm Opera Hotel is 350 meters away from the Cadet Metro station, which provides direct access the Opera , Galeries Lafayette , Louvre Museum and the district of Chatelet . The Palm Hotel, standing in the heart of Paris by the Opera, is a colorful oasis for those seeking an original stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palm - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmon Opera Hotel Paris
Palmon Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing