We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Ranked #113 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Mitcham boy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

10 minute walk from Gare du Nord, Cadet Metro station 5 minute walk from hotel, double room was a tad small but very clean and comfortable, good shower and nice bathroom and toiletries, decent bed too. Not a great deal of storage space, strangely there were five coat hangers suspended from wall fixings but no wardrobe(?) Groovy spiral staircase which I chose to use as the lift was tiny. Free coffee and drinks in the lobby which is a nice touch too. The room was on 3rd floor facing the street, and fortunately I brought my ear plugs as the road outside was quite busy from early doors. May be an issue for light sleepers. Overall I quite liked the hotel, staff were very helpful and spoke Anglaise quite happily, however the one big problem I had was with breakfast. Presumably all guests pay the same rate, but if you don't get down to the breakfast room in time you won't find anything hot left. I lifted the lid on the stainless hot plates to find them empty. I gave my best raised eyebrow to the male attendant and was told 'no more-is finished'! A bit of a rip off as I'd paid the going rate but had less choice. Sorry, I'm a bit fussy about stuff like that. So I was left with vacuum packed cheese and shiny ham with my bread. There's cereal and fruit salad though as well in fairness. Would I return? Possibly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not facing the street if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchamboyManty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    384
    43
    18
    6
See reviews for
173
670
57
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Conveniently located just 10-12 minutes walk from Gard Du Nord station this is a very good hotel for a short stay in Paris. The nearest metro is about a 7 minute walk. The staff are very welcoming and the entrance lobby which has had a modern makeover is bright and airy with a seating area and free drinks and nibbles as part of the package. The breakfast room downstairs is tastefully done with the tables well set out and not cramped. Breakfast is perfectly acceptable for a mid priced hotel in Paris. Our room was on the top floor and unfortunately its only view was of the wall of the building opposite, which was about 5 metres away, so rather like looking into a well, although it was quite bright. The room itself was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable . It was clean and tidy and the en suite bathroom was very good indeed with a very nice shower. Our only criticism would be the sink. What is it with this modern tendency to design and then fit sinks that hold barely any water and that as soon as you swill it around 50% or more ends up on the floor.
However, all in all a place we would return to.
.

Room Tip: Tip: the lift is rather poky and prone to stop working. The alternative is the stairs which are pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartF1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stated her for 3 nights in September. The location is fairly good and near to a metro. Bars and cafes within walking distance as are some rather nice shops. The hotel is modern, bright and clean. The breakfast is rather good. Now the bad parts. When we arrived we were given a room for 2 with a single bed in it. Not what I had booked for myself, baby bump and husband. After a lot of sorting out we were finally given a very small room with small double bed, no view to speak of and the smallest shower room ever. I am short at 5'3" and had to bend down in the shower. The room was exceptionally small. No real customer service. Drinks in the fridge constantly ran out. Overall it was expensive for a simple hotel and I know better quality hotels for the same price are available in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJoanne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 7 nights in this excellent hotel and were delighted that it was exactly as seen on the website. Our 5th floor room was ideal with comfortable bed, two patio doors onto a small balcony from which you could see the Eiffel Tower. The ensuite was modern and had a good powerful shower but no bath. The hotel reception was bright and a very pleasant place to sit, chat and enjoy the free soft drinks, tea, coffee and the available fruits and snacks. The hotel is only a short walk from the Gare du Nord but away from any nocturnal bustle. Three different Metro lines are a short walk away as are cafes and bars. If you are up before 10am the breakfast is relatively good value. If the weather is good the hotel is well placed for a walk to most of the usual tourist haunts. I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clanmcandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here for one night while on business in Paris. I was really only there to sleep, but the room was lovely. Very modern and comfy. It wasn't huge, but for just me it was perfect. Very clean and bright.

I have to mention the great staff. The receptionist on night duty last night was great. I had had a long day and when I arrived, he was so friendly and even cracked a joke. A very nice welcome and much better than the stuffy formality of the intercontinental where my colleagues stayed.

Breakfast was nice and all I needed. Very close to the Gare de Nord which made it perfect for a stop over on my way back to London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a small hotel that I really recomend. Beautiful rooms with wonderful beds, nice wooden floors, clean and nice. They gave the "small extra" by offer free drinks, snacks, fruits and bisquits all day long. It was also very nice situated in the heart of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsa828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here Sept 10-13 2012. Overall great place to stay. Booked our room with breakfast included. Breakfast was decent, freshly squeezed juice, croissants, fruit salad, various cheeses and meats, cereal & milk, coffee and yogurt were there daily. Also, there was a snack bar available in the lobby during the day until around 10pm (soft drinks, water, juice, crackers, cookies etc..)

Room was small but adequate and accommodated our luggage just fine. We were in room 406 and had a lovely view of the Eiffel Tower if you opened the window and leaned out a bit (was even more beautiful at night.) Clean, bright, comfortable beds. The bathroom was large. The only thing is that was lacking a ventilation system. As of now things seemed to be okay but I imagine this could cause problems with water/mold in the future.

Also be aware that the elevator is very small, room for maybe 2-3 people. We sent our luggage up and then walked up the stairs after check in.

Close to a lot of shops and restaurants. Very close to the metro, maybe a 3-5 min walk. Near Montmarte and Sacre Couer.

The staff was helpful for the most part. Although one person overnight informed us that we just needed to allow for 15mins to arrange taxi service the morning of our departure to Gare du Nord. However, this was totally off. Traffic in the morning in front of the hotel is horrendous. We informed staff 15mins prior to needing a taxi, as we were instructed, and were told by a different staff member that we should have allowed much more time. We made it to the train on time which was our biggest concern. I just think the entire staff should be more conscious of these things. Would have given an overall 5 except for this incident.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the Eiffel Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiarra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#89 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#55 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
#145 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#26 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#192 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#52 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm - Astotel

Property: Hotel Palm - Astotel
Address: 30, rue de Maubeuge | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Paris
#33 Family Hotel in Paris
#78 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#83 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palm - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind its Parisian facade, you will find the subtly offbeat universe of our Palm Opera Hotel, expressed in its style and bright colors, designed by two young interior designers, Aurelie Sahuque and Sophie Hanniet. Vintage pop atmosphere and retro design: Make no mistake, this is a decidedly playful and trendy spot. Our 38 charming and intimate rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, internet connection, i-Pod station and safe. We attach great importance to your comfort: Our hotel is non-smoking and also offers environmentally-safe welcome products. Both children and grown-ups will love our breakfast time: Children can move about in their own playground while a tasty and varied buffet is served. You can also relax in our luminous lobby with a luminous bay window, browse the web on your computer with our free WiFi , or read the style magazines available. The Palm Opera Hotel is 350 meters away from the Cadet Metro station, which provides direct access the Opera , Galeries Lafayette , Louvre Museum and the district of Chatelet . The Palm Hotel, standing in the heart of Paris by the Opera, is a colorful oasis for those seeking an original stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palm - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmon Opera Hotel Paris
Palmon Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing