We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like W and you like Boutique - this might be the hotel for you” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Paris - Opera
Ranked #347 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“If you like W and you like Boutique - this might be the hotel for you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I love Starwood hotels in general and W in particular, Times Square New York is my favourite.

This Paris W hotel is just behind the Apple Store in the Opera area of the city. Go to the Chaussee D'antin metro stop and exit 4 to Boulevard Haussmann. Look for the Apple store, the hotel entrance is just behind the store on Rue Meyerbeer. Perfectly situated for sightseeing, Paris is a great place to walk everywhere and if you are short on time the Metro will take you to all the important areas.

The hotel is housed in an old building and when I complained that my Wonderful (this is the type of room I booked) room was too small, I was told that the rooms in Paris W tend to be smaller than usual. This is why I have given the hotel a very good instead of an Excellent rating. I was also told that the hotel tends to be very busy and that was why it was not possible to give me an upgrade using my Gold card status. So if you want a Fantastic Suite (this is the name of the type of room) you are better to book it than rely on the hotel being able to upgrade you at check in. If my (wonderful) room was small, goodness knows what the Cozy (the basic room type) room was like!

So what about the rest of the hotel?
The rooms are quirky and very boutique which is the signature of a W hotel. Very very comfortable king size bed and pillows, and my small room was quite well put together. Safe, stocked mini bar, iron, robes large wardrobe and drawers and lots of lovely towels. W good quality toiletries, wireless and wired wifi/internet Large TV at the bottom of the bed. The windows do not open and the air con is very good. Very quiet at all times. The bathing area was an open space with single wash basin, toilet cubicle with frosted glass door and next to it a large shower with overhead rain shower and hand shower, very powerful - excellent! There is a turn down service if you leave the do not disturb notice off the door and they replenish the bathroom and tidy the room. Brilliant!

There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel. Breakfast was a buffet with continental everything and also cooked scrambled eggs and sausages. If breakfast is included in your package then that is it. There is an a la carte menu at additional cost. Our server in the restaurant at breakfast and lunch was Christopher who was our outstanding member of staff on this trip. Try the caesar salad served inside a romaine lettuce - Fabulous! The rest of the staff who we encountered at the hotel were excellent but not outstanding.

Overall we had a very comfortable stay but I am not sure that we would return to this particular W in Paris.

Room Tip: If you want R O O M to move around you will have to book a Fantastic Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear HotelBloke,
Thank you for sharing deep and precise details further your stay in our great property, located in the center of Paris in a classic hausmann style building.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    266
    101
    36
    23
See reviews for
105
472
62
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 days in Paris before embarking on a river cruise. We were extremely happy with the W opera. The location was convenient to museums, restaurants, and shopping. The staff was extremely helpful, especially the concierge staff of Marko, Bruno and Thomas. Milton and Tiago were also very helpful with directions and arranging for cabs. The rooms were on the small side, but being that we were hardly ever in the room, they were certainly adequate. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dede S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Dede S,
Thank you so much for your nice comments that we will be delighted to share with our Talents !
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I'm reasonably loyal to Starwood given the perks, and I was in Paris recently during a hectic summer week with few other hotel choices available. While I find many W hotels a bit too self-consciously hip for my taste, I can't complain about my stay. Au contraire -- the W Paris Opera was a delight in a every way, and the location is superb. It's the W brand at its perfection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Stephen K,
Welcome in the W World ! Let's continue to discover this spirit and keep the energy !
We hope to have you with us again soon.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

If you are traveling with a family, be prepared for the uniqueness of a W. It is a great location next to a metro stop stop, Opera House and Apple store. The staff is friendly to Americans that don't speak French. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant, having traditional French breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nocruisesever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Nocruisesever,
We are delighted to read your comments further your stay @ the W Paris-Opéra located in the center of our city of lights !
We hope to see you again soon !
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My first time in Paris with husband and son. Had such a good time. The W opera hotel is very well located. Near subway station, la gard du nord, le printers et les galleries Lafayette's and l'Opera of course.
Staff is very polite, talk very good english. Rooms are modern and spacious wich is very rare when you travel in Europe. Would definitely book this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Veronikette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Veronikette,
Tahnks you for sharing your feedback and your tips further your stay in our beautiful property.
We will be delighted to welcome you again soon and to continue to discover the W spirit.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Searching for a no fuss central Paris hotel we came across the W Paris Opera. We reserved for the third week in June and prepared for a great trip. Upon arrival we found that the hotel, located on rue Meyerbeer, sits directly across from the Opera House. The location is very central and highly accessible to the metro and numerous bus lines but still removed from the high traffic of the nearby boulevards. We were a comfortable walk to the Place de la Concorde and the Tuileries, and only 15 minutes by bus to Montmartre.

We were warmly welcomed by friendly and competent staff who made us feel at home instantly. The hotel itself offers high-end contemporary design and comfortable and efficient lounge and lobby spaces. Our room was very well appointed with great light; drawer and closet spaces were fairly tight but functional.

The W's big drawback is its food. The restaurant and room service menus were very limited and very expensive; morning coffee might run you as much as 9€ and room service was pricey and poorly done. At the restaurant a huge signature hamburger should be avoided and room service after-hours produced an inedible club sandwich, sans frites.

The hotel staff is wonderful, great concierge service; Bruno and Marco looked after our comings and goings offering fantastic suggestions with efficiency and humor. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will return at the earliest possible time.

Room Tip: We suggest you choose a room with an Opera House view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Michael U,
Thank you for your feedback further your stay in our beautiful property located in the center of Paris ! We will be delighted to welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed here in June 2014 to kick off a 2-week European vacay... Being from the States, your first worry with European hotels is that they're very small however that couldnt be further from what we received at The W Opera in Paris...

First off, the staff was superb weeks before our arrival and helped us book restaurant reservations at some of the best hotspots in town. They took care of our every need being 4 Americans who spoke very little french and even better, we got upgraded at check in! The room was amazing with a view of the Opera house and steps from a metro. The restaurant/bar was fantastic and the breakfast buffet was perfect each day... Another cool note was that we could walk just 15-20 min to get to the Tuileries Gardens/Louvre area. My only other things to note are that its not for those on a budget and if you're looking to be by the eiffel tower or St Germain or Montmatre areas of town, you're a metro or cab ride away...

Being a group a two young couples, I highly recommend this property if you're looking for a bit of old world French flare in a ultra modern brand new hotel and we would absolutely stay here again !

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Opera on or above the 3 floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABauer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear ABauer02,
Thanks for your nice comments regarding our beautiful property located in the center of Paris !
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#409 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,430 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#208 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Notre Dame / Marais
Les Bains
Les Bains
#595 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Property: W Paris - Opera
Address: 4 rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing