We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Views”
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Paris - Opera
Ranked #349 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location and Views”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Loved the location of this W hotel -- right across from the gorgeous opera house and within minutes walking of the famous Gallerie Lafayette and Printemps department stores for fun Paris shopping. I always felt safe walking the streets in this neighborhood, even late at night. The concierge was helpful for restaurant reservations - even last minute. The rooms are the size you expect for Paris and Europe in general --compact. Nice decor and well- maintained. Large pleasant lounge to wait for friends with wait service to have a coffee or cocktail. Breakfast was expensive (as expected) but delicious with a pretty glass room to look at Paris as you eat. The shower was separated from the bed with only a half wall, sink and mirror so if you are modest, that might pose a problem. The toilet had a door to close off. My room had a beautiful view of the opera house with large windows to enjoy it. Recommend this place for location and amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Opera (although that means you overlook a busier street.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear PDK5,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. I'm pleased that you enjoy the great location of our property and the specific design of our rooms. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the City of Lights soon.
Best regards.
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    271
    102
    36
    24
See reviews for
105
482
63
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel. It was a quirky room size -- with nothing feeling quite right. For the price I was really disappointed..

Service was excellent in all respects and good dinner recommendation.

Location is good if you want to go shopping at the department stores.

Unfortunately given room quality not sure I will give this hotel a second chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Win4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Win4u,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to ear that you are really satisfied with the service that we have provided. The interactions between guests and talents are on of our key differenciators. I do understand your concerns regarding the size of the room however we have different rooms types and suites available.Please inform the Weclome Desk next time about your needs and they will be able to help you. I hope we will have a second chance to welcoming you at the W Paris-Opéra, in the heart of the city of lights.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The location can't be beat, the bar is hip and a cool place to have a drink. The rooms are beautiful and the staff do their best to ensure that your stay is perfect.
Also, make sure to ask the hotel's insider where to go. She will hook you up with the best places in Paris whether its shopping, restaurants or bars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickdeJonge, Welcome Desk Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello Shahar P,

What a great words to start the day with!
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers.

I'm glad to hear that your stay here at the W Paris Opera was a true Insider Escape. Our Insider Cecile and all our talents are always ready to give you advice on the best (hidden) places in town.

Hope to see you soon.
Take care,

Rick de Jonge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the W Opera in Paris, we were treated like royalty. The staff (front desk, phone operators, concierge, bellmen, doormen, housekeepers...!!) at the W Paris Opera is the highlight of this well-run, beautiful, comfortable, perfectly located property. Our check-in was very quick and despite the morning hour, our two rooms were ready to occupy--a very welcome treat after a grueling overnight flight. The rooms were very comfortable and had a funky, cool vibe that my kids loved in particular. Many others noted that the rooms were small but I have stayed at other Paris hotels of this calibre and found the rooms at the W to be well-sized. The bathrooms are large and the showers are very luxurious. Our suite had large size bath products from Bliss. Housekeeping came twice daily, no matter how late we rose or how late we went out at night. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room temperature was fine. The concierge worked tirelessly both before our stay and during to help us find the perfect restaurants for my family of picky eaters. They were also very accommodating to our request to dine at "off the beaten path" restaurants and sent us to a few really good gems. Every time we entered or exited the hotel, we were very warmly greeted. This felt like a luxurious, yet cozy family-friendly yet super cool hideaway that is centrally located. Our rooms were on the first floor and we almost never heard noise from the outside or the hotel. We would stay there again in a heartbeat--can't wait to return! Btw, at the W, they pump some kind of scent through the air in the public areas that is really heavenly--trying to find out what it was and how we can get some for our house in the states.

Room Tip: Room 117 had a gorgeous view of the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickdeJonge, Welcome Desk Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello goldab,

Thank you so much for your kind words!

I especially appreciated your lovely comments on our Talents who in this way receive the best reward of their work.

It is great to hear that you liked the lay-out of our hotel and the vibe in our property.
We can not wait to have you back with us soon.

Btw, have a look at whotelsthestore.com where you can find more about our W scent!

See you soon,

Rick de Jonge
Welcome Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I loved my stay at W Paris. The staff was friendly and always accommodating from the moment I arrived. I really loved the fresh juices they served at check-in. Great way to arrive after a long overseas flight! What was most special was what the hotel did for me as a surprise. They found out i was excited to go to the famous lock bridge. One night in my room they left me a lock and a note with directions to the bridge. What a sweet gesture! I was celebrating a girls weekend with my mom and sister and we all went to the bridge and made a wish. It was so special. Thank you to the amazing staff at W for their whatever / whenever. The W Insider Cecile is someone you must connect with when you stay. She never steered us wrong and showed us little Parisian hot spots galore!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Opera. It felt like a cozy cool Parisian apartment complete with a faux fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickdeJonge, Welcome Desk Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Betsy H,

Great to hear these kind words!

It seems you had a true WoW experience here at the W Paris Opera! Our Whatever/Whenever team and our Insider, Cecile are our experts in taking care of any wishes by our guests.

We can not wait to have you back with us soon to give you another true Parisian experience (The W way ofcourse!).

Stay tuned,
Rick de Jonge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A cozy boutique hotel, but all W. The most surprising thing was the staff. This might be the best experience I have ever had with a hotel staff and it was in Paris, a city not always known for attentive and friendly hotel staff. I can honestly say every interaction was above and beyond .. from my e-mail interactions prior to the visit with the concierge to the check in experience and day to day interactions.The concierge even called me personally at a W Hotel in another city to follow up on details of our stay. A stellar team focused on the customer ! When picking up a bottle of water at the front desk I joked "too bad it's not champagne" and a bottle of champagne appeared in our room 10 minutes later. The rooms are spacious by Parisian standards and can best be described as Victorian meets W Chic. Most of the sites are a cab ride away, but if you are into shopping, Printemps and the Lafayette Galley are just a block away. A truly perfect romantic long weekend !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregRCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickdeJonge, Welcome Desk at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello GregRCo,

It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at our property.

What most pleases me is your kind comments about our Talents. A Whatever/Whenever style of service, that's what it's all about at the W Paris Opera!

We can not wait to welcome you back soon!
In the meantime do not hesitate to follow us on our social media platforms.

Stay tuned,
Rick de Jonge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foshan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

W hotel is kind of a boutique hotel with perfect location just opposite Paris Opera and near Galeries Lafayette shop. But it is definitely not what you would expect from a recently opened W hotel as reported already many times on TripAdvisor.

The room decoration is kind of black flashy cheap looking style. Comment from my 10 years old daughter when discovering the room : “it’s nice but why did they keep Halloween style in the room when now it’s Christmas. It looks like the room of Monster High dolls” sic!

Regarding service and management. I really don’t know what to say and think. All the employees I met were nice people but have they worked in W or 5 stars hotels before?
Is it the W experience? :

- Problem at booking time : rate on SPG website at booking time was 100 euros more than on all other websites. As I prefer to book directly via SPG I called the W hotel to inform them so they take my booking on the phone and align their price (“SPG best rate guarantee”). They declined !... After I made a formal complaint, they apologized and they informed me that they upgraded the room as a compensation… the thing is that as a SPG Platinum I was anyway entitled to suite upgrade… So I was upgraded to superior room… when I should have been upgraded to a suite….

- Problem with data confidentiality and guest privacy : the hotel sent an email to all the guests checked-in that day with the emails of all the guests visible to everybody… I complained and management apologized (“a personal mistake by one of our talent” sic!) and offered SPG point as compensation (What a nice compensation…)

- Problem of maintenance of the room. I had to inform the hotel staff so maintenance team came to visit the room 3 times during our stay to fix the TV, the Internet and clean/repaint dirty wall. Nb: I was not sure if the bathroom mirror was damaged/scratched or if it was kind of art… I asked at check-out time and was confirmed that it was indeed probably a damaged mirror….

- Cleanliness of the room. We found hair bands from previous guests…

- I re-listed all these points at check-out time and the front desk manager immediately proposed not to charge 50 euros of F&B I had on my bill. I declined and informed him that what I was really expecting was the hotel management to contact me. One week later I am still waiting for the hotel management to contact me….

This is W Paris : not a 5 stars hotel and not a W : just a trap for tourist. So if you are a loyal Starwood customer, stay far away!

As a SPG Platinum guest would I stay again in this hotel : NO
As a SPG Platinum guest would I recommend this hotel : NO

NB: One hotel employee impressed us. She is the blond lady that manages the restaurants. (I think her name is Anne-Cecile) She understands what is service and W standard. Thanks to her.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franchine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Google Translation
Bonsoir Monsieur,

Je me permet de vous contacter afin de vous présenter une nouvelle fois nos excuses.

En effet votre feedback est très important pour nous car il nous permet de continuer à progresser afin de satisfaire notre clientèle. Durant votre séjour nous avons cherché à rectifier les erreurs commisses mais malheureusement je me rend compte que cela n'a pas été suffisant.

J'aimerai avoir la possibilité de vous accueillir de nouveau en 2014 afin de vous démontrer que nous méritons votre confiance.

Je reste à votre disposition pour votre futur séjour.

Excellente fête de fin d'année.

Cordialement .

Christophe Mercier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#429 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#229 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Les Bains
Les Bains
#593 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles Hotel
Prince de Galles Hotel
#42 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Property: W Paris - Opera
Address: 4 rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the center of fashion, nightlife, movies and the most fabulous shopping in the heart of Paris’ Opéra neighborhood. From the luxury boutiques of the Rue du Faubourg St Honoré to the world famous Grand Magasins, Le Printemps and les Galeries Lafayette, step out and explore the sights and sounds in the most extraordinary city to see and be seen. Electrify your stay in one of our 91 sparkling rooms and suites – 49 with stunning Opéra views. Each brings together classic Haussmann style and cuttingedge design, the W signature bed and features like iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing