We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel the Funk”
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Paris - Opera
Ranked #347 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feel the Funk”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Really cool hotel! Some highlights included "charging station" in the room (nice touch), a book decorating the room that pictorially compared Paris and New York in a fun and amusing way, and two free glasses of Champagne at the bar, courtesy of our SPG status. Great location, a stone's throw from Galleries Lafayette. VERY helpful staff. Especially the guy on the front door called Tiago, who sprinted after a couple of taxis for us faster than Usain Bolt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, Front Office Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Jonny

Many thanks for your great feedback. Its seems that you have really enjoyed your time and interactions with our talents especially Tiago, who we also call speedy gonzales.

Hope to have you soon back here at our funky hotel,

Stay tuned,

Chris
Welcome office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    271
    102
    36
    24
See reviews for
105
482
63
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was a bit surprised with the size of the hotel, but I guess everything in Paris is small. The check-in area was very small and our Wow Suite for the price (800 euros) was very nice, and trendy, but small. Hotel was great though, and what made it was the staff. Parisians by nature can be a bit arrogant, but the staff was amazing. Everyone was so extremely helpful and friendly, with recommendations, opening doors, etc. We loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, Front Office Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Bobo

Thank you for you review concering your stay here at the W Paris Opéra. We take great pride in order to deliver a real WhateverWhenever service.

I hope to have you back soon in the city of lights,

Stay tuned

Chris
Welcome office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently returned from a vacation where Paris was the final leg of our trip. It was our first time together in Paris and we chose the W partly because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and partly because of Starwood points. I can honestly say that this hotel contributed greatly to our experience in Paris - it was wonderful. We had booked a cozy room and when we arrived inquired into an upgrade as we had accumulated a lot of baggage over our vacation! Inna (I apologize if I have spelled this wrong) was amazing - kind, friendly and extremely professional - quickly went to work to find us an upgrade. She even offered to show us the two options available and let us choose! By a stroke of luck, we ended up with a Fabulous room which was, as its name implies, simply fabulous. It was funky, beautiful and peaceful ( yes peaceful in Paris!) and along with many noteworthy amenities like a dream bed, a vanity make-up table, Bliss bath products and chocolate at turn down service, it had a walk-in closet!

The location was perfect as other reviews have mentioned - across from the Opera house and, if you like to walk, within walking (and running) distance to the Champs élysées, the Louvre and many of the other must see sites in Paris. There was also some good shopping in the area surrounding the hotel!

The room was magnificent and the location was great but it was really the staff and the excellent professional service that will make us remember the W in Paris. So thank you to the W and thank you Inna (again I hope the name is correct) for the Bliss!

We highly recommend the W Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, Front Office Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Carmen

Thank you very much for your nice review. And yes, the spelling of Inna is correct!
We hope that you had a great trip back to your homecountry and that you have fond memories of your time here in Paris!

Even during the Winter, Paris is a great place to visit! We will soon launch our winter terrace. but pssst...its still a secret!

Stay tuned

Chris
Welcome office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Not only is the location of the W spectacular, the employees really made this such a nice place to say. The guys working at the concierge desk always went above and beyond helping us and would even come out on the street and lead us in the direction we needed to go. The room we had was beautiful, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and it was VERY clean. I'm a stickler for cleanliness in hotels and this place was perfection. This was my boyfriend and my first trip to Paris and it could not have been more special. We would absolutely stay at the W Paris again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, Front Office Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Kelly

I'm so happy that you and your boyfriend have enjoyed a great stay here at the W Paris Opéra and that you pointed out the cleanliness of the hotel. Our Style department works very hard every day to have all of our rooms refreshed and ready in time for our special guests!

We do hope to have you back here at our hotel for another WhateverWhenever experience!

Best regards
Chris
Welcome office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Paris, literally across the street from the Opera house and just a short walk to the Louvre. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything and suggested an amazing restaurant as well. Rooms are very, very small but probably not out of the norm for a Paris hotel. I would definitely return to this hotel for the location and service.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for a room with a view of the Opera house. Sure it's nice to have, but I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, Front Office Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Joe

Thank you for your nice feedback. We are indeed very centrally located here in the heart of the city, right next to the Apple store as well as next to the Galleries Lafayettes, and the Opera House.

We do have different room types available here at the hotel, reaching from 18sqm to the biggest suite of 80 sqm. Do not hesitate to have a look on our website for further information.

Joe, we hope to have you back at our property in the near future again,

Stay tuned

Chris
Welcome office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My experience with Paris hotels in the past has always left me feeling that service standards are universally poor. Not so with the W Hotel Opera in Paris.

I was feeling annoyed at checkin as our requested room was not available on time - we had to wait until 6pm due to late checkout of a previous guest. However, this just allowed the staff to shine - they were genuinely apologetic and tried everything they could to make things right. I believe that a hotel will ALWAYS make mistakes, but it's what they do about them that shows you what sort of a hotel they are.

The concierge was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, going beyond the call of duty. Restaurant / bar staff were friendly and really seemed to care.

The hotel is situated centrally next to the Opera House, 15 minutes walk from the Louvre.

The rooms are what you would expect from a W, but with a distinctive Parisian flaire - chandeliers, panelling, chaise longue (in larger rooms).

Room Tip: The hotel only has a small number of suites, but they are well worth it. Many of the suite types are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T1ggerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, Front Office Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello T1ggerTraveller

Thank you very much for your review of our propety. First of all I would like to apologize for the late check in time here at the hotel. We do guarantee check in time at 3pm for all our guests here at the hotel.
However I do see that you had a wonderful time here at the hotel and you enjoyed the interaction with our talents.

I hope to have you back for another WhateverWhenever Experience here in the heart of the city of lights,

Best regards
Chris
Welcome office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a 5 night stay here and we couldn't be happier. Absolutely everyone we encountered at this property had a smile on their face and were helpful with any request. As platinum Starwood member, we were given a very nice upgrade after the first night which was perfect as we were celebrating a big day. The breakfast spread is ample, if you want to try something hot, make sure you try the Benedict, it was fantastic! It had been a while since we had stayed in this area as recently, we had been staying the Hilton which has left the program. What I love about this area are the easy connections close by and tons of places to eat just outside the door.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hiflya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph W, Front Office Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello hiflya

First of all congratulations to your Platinum status. I'm very proud that one of the highest tier members of the SPG program has liked our property.

As you stated correctly, the location of the hotel is very central and I do agree with you concering the eggs benedicts, they are just delicious!

Hope to have you back soon,

Best regards
Chris
Welcome office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#423 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#227 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Les Bains
Les Bains
#598 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles Hotel
Prince de Galles Hotel
#42 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Property: W Paris - Opera
Address: 4 rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the center of fashion, nightlife, movies and the most fabulous shopping in the heart of Paris’ Opéra neighborhood. From the luxury boutiques of the Rue du Faubourg St Honoré to the world famous Grand Magasins, Le Printemps and les Galeries Lafayette, step out and explore the sights and sounds in the most extraordinary city to see and be seen. Electrify your stay in one of our 91 sparkling rooms and suites – 49 with stunning Opéra views. Each brings together classic Haussmann style and cuttingedge design, the W signature bed and features like iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing