We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accused me of stealing a throw pillow!”
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Paris - Opera
Ranked #391 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just stayed at the W Opera Paris for 5 nights, from January 17th through the 22nd. This is an important detail: the design's not for me but otherwise it was a perfect stay up through checkout. Great location, incredibly friendly bellmen and concierge, responsive service, comfortable room, view of the opera, etc. Only complaint would have been the expensive and slow internet. I would have happily stayed here many more times.

All this was shot when I checked out and the manager accused me of stealing a throw pillow! He told me he had an embarrassing question and then asked if I would like to purchase the throw pillow I took - seriously! To be clear: A) I didn't take the throw pillow B) Saying the throw pillow is not my taste would be generous, it's pretty ugly C) I can barely fit all my belongings in my bag as it is, let alone an extra pillow. And for good measure, D) I just spent 5 nights at this hotel, which was NOT cheap, and it's a throw pillow

The manger instead this was all part of an internal investigation. An internal investigation into a throw pillow? Well here's a little math for you Starwood: I come to Paris for a week twice a year, that's a lot of throw pillows. Hope it was a good tradeoff for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jakesarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivier s, Directeur général at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Jakesarge,

I am deeply sorry that you had such a bad experience at check out after an enjoying stay overall.
Please Sir, accept my deepest apologizes.
The manager at the reception has certainly not communicated the best way the challenge he was facing with the internal search. We have talk about this and be certain that this will not occur again.

Should you have any request for a future stay in Paris, I would be pleased to personnaly assist.

Cordially
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great property, great location and great staff!

The W Opera Paris is located across the street from the Paris Opera House and within walking distance to the Louvre, Place Vendome and Champs Elysees.

You get a real boutique feel in this hotel as it only has 5 floors, with the top floor only having 2 suites and the gym.

We used our guaranteed suite nights awards (SPG Platinum) to secure a Fantastic Suite and were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to the WOW Suite (second best suite they have).

The suite was modern and spacious, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was a treat.

The front desk and concierge staff were extremely helpful and have great knowledge of the local area including restaurants. They can also arrange tickets for the Eiffel Tower, Louvre and other attractions.

Definitely recommend this hotel and I will surely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the W Paris my last 2 visits to Paris and what a blast! The location can't be beat - yes, the Opera district is very touristy, but it is also very central and well connected by the metro. The staff go all out to embody the Whatever Whenever service but in a very genuine manner. Whilst the facilities are not as complete as in some other W hotels, this is understandable considering the building constraints. The gym was small but functional. If you want to spoil yourself, get a room with an Opera view. This is simply spectacular. All in all, both my stays were outstanding. Only complaint is the cost of an Internet connection and lack of a spa.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms with a window that can be opened slightly are the best as they allow fresh air into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STjio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

W hotels are fast becoming THE place to be. This hotel is no exception. Just opened in Jan 2012, the small entrance leads to a funky ground floor bar. Elevators take you up to larger spaces and rooms. And the rooms are, well, uber chic. And the location can't be beat. Beside Inter Continental, and across from Opera house, you can't go wrong if you have a price is no object budget. Small, boutique, and shining new. This is my new choice in Paris. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms, awesome. beds heavenly, and large flat screens and wi fi. Tough to beat if you want LA or NYC new type hotel. No old world elegance. But funky, hip cool, great vibe!

Room Tip: As usual higher is quieter. Front street has view of Opera house. back, is small rue with nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter747_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the W Paris one week after it opened. The rooms were really cool, the bathroom even better! The rooms are comfortable we had one facing the opera house right above the Apple Store. The service was very good and overall the hotel is beautiful and just somehow very modern french.

As far as comfort though I wished the grand old windows opened! You have the great old doors (windows) that they have sealed shut probably for safety but god it would just make the experience even better. Also a cafe would have been nice in the hotel but its Paris you can go anywhere for a cafe this is more of a night club so be ready to see anything in the hallways on your way to the airport!

Room Tip: We had free WiFi in our bathroom on the 2nd floor above the Apple Store :-) Sorry Westin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Small rooms is one would expect in central Paris. I got cabin fever with a room one size up from standard. Toilet was a little dark room with a sliding door. Didn't sleep great when the fire bell went off one morning at 0500. Picture the entire hotel outside in gowns first thing. Some interesting folks came out of those rooms.

The service is excellent and the uniforms are well thought out.

Room Tip: Small rooms, but I guess that's what you get in a big city li
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmidhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

For a city like Paris the rooms are a good size and the W Hotel room design is really smart. The only negative is the storage for clothes as you can't hang anything in half of it. There are quirky images on the walls and an amazing view if you are facing the Opera. The interactive menu on the TV is also a treat, with any arrangements showing up here when you return. The best things was the staff, from start to finish, simply helpful charming and authentic. The W Insider was not there the day I visited, but you would not have noticed, as all the staff were well informed.

Room Tip: Opera view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somewhere62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivier s, Directeur général at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Somewhere62,

Thank you , Thank You.
You said it all. This is the best reward that our talents can receive from a guest.

Stay tuned and follow us on our social media platforms... more to come.

Enjoy your day!
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#212 of 1,803 in Paris
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#483 of 1,803 in Paris
3,692 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Notre Dame / Marais
Les Bains
Les Bains
#641 of 1,803 in Paris
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Address: 4 rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $347 - $1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the center of fashion, nightlife, movies and the most fabulous shopping in the heart of Paris’ Opéra neighborhood. From the luxury boutiques of the Rue du Faubourg St Honoré to the world famous Grand Magasins, Le Printemps and les Galeries Lafayette, step out and explore the sights and sounds in the most extraordinary city to see and be seen. Electrify your stay in one of our 91 sparkling rooms and suites – 49 with stunning Opéra views. Each brings together classic Haussmann style and cutting edge design, the W signature bed and features like iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing