We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Collections and Exhibitions”

Musee des Arts Decoratifs
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.49*
and up
The Paris Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60...
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Paris Museum Pass and Seine River Cruise Including Delivery to Your Hotel
Ranked #99 of 1,132 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Museum with incredible and well laid-out collection of furniture and clothing designs form the Middle Ages all the way through the 21st century. Make sure you leave enough time to see all the floors.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great Collections and Exhibitions”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Decorative Arts Museum has some beautiful permanent collections, including art nouveau glass and furnishings, modern interior design, and rooms furnished in every historical style imaginable. A visit here is like taking a walk through design history. Plus, the museum has wonderful temporary exhibits: I saw a great one on Louis Vuitton and Marc Jacobs when I visited a couple years back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 274beckyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    214
    72
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“interesting and important exhibitions, very good location”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

a very impresive museum with very interesting exhibitions.

there were around 5 exhibitions:
1. an exhibition re the ‘underworld’ of female and male undergarments- devices fashioning the body according to the changing dictates of fashion. very improtant to all interested in fashion, women and society dictations.
2. a jewlery exhibition.
3. an advertising collections exhibition.
4. an exhibition in the toy gallery
5. a more permanent exhibition.

Even though the 3 exhibitions I have experienced are temporary, the museum always offers interesting works and shows.
very very good and important exhibitions.

In addition, it is location is wonderful - right next to a point in which one can see the Tuileries gardens, the Egyptian obelisk and the Triumphal arch and on the other side the Luovre museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Exhibition”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We came to visit this wing of the Louvre on Thursday and we had a wonderful time. If you have some time to spend and you like vests and its story, I recommend this museum, for kids and grown ups.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roll-Calatami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Died and gone to heaven!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As an interior designer, this museum caters to my interest. 9 floors chock full of interiors, furniture, design. Get the 18 euro museum pass that include the Arts Decoratifs AND the Musee Nissim de Camondo. Totally worth it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinS600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Interesting garments”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My teenage daughter and I toured the garment section. It was very interesting to see how fashion has changed over the years and the extent people would go to so they fit the style of the day. It was good for my daughter to see the row of manicans over the years to see that there is no such thing as a "perfect" body.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nevillcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Arts Decoratifs also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Arts Decoratifs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing