We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful but a little sad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee Nissim de Camondo

Musee Nissim de Camondo
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.09*
and up
The Paris Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60...
Ranked #26 of 1,085 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful but a little sad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Catch the Metro here and walk across Parc Monceau to this unprepossessing mansion.
Inside are lovely furnishings and china etc from another era. The kitchen is worth a trip on its own.
It is sad because the last of the family was deported by the Nazis and the family line died out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardandLaraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    330
    45
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful 18th century Parisian house with objets d'art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a wonderful little museum worth visiting, right next to Parc Monceau. There isn't a lot of tourists, which allows for more time to appreciate the mansion and the objets d'art contained within. The audio guide was very helpful in explaining the story of the Camondos, and how the mansion and all the collections came to be. This was one of my favorite attractions in my trip to Paris!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chinita_gal0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the most beutiful houses I saw”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Musee Nissim de Camondo is one of the most beautiful houses I saw, and a wonderful little museum.
For the record: I visited there in May 2013 and I cannot put this date as there is no option for this, regrettably I forgot to write before.
The museum was the private residence of a ridiculously rich Jewish banker who relocated to Paris from Istanbul at the end of the 18th century. The house contains a staggering collection of china, paintings, furniture, and was left to the city after his son was killed in action in WWI, fighting the Germans. It is a little of the beaten track of tourists and I strongly recommend it to those of you who come to Paris second, third, etc. times, like I do, every year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JosefLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Jewel in Parc Monceau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is the house of a rich banker, who was a refined art collector. A must visit. Will give you good idea of what a bourgois home was in the late 1800s in Paris.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Musee Nissim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Absolutely fantastic a hidden gem in Paris. The house, laid out as an 18th Century mansion was left to the State and is full of 18th Century objets d'art in their original state. Each room is a treasure trove. The Musee is surrounded by a dark troubling history of the 20th Centurey and should be a must for all Art lovers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Nissim de Camondo also viewed

 

Been to Musee Nissim de Camondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing