We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in Paris!”

Musee Nissim de Camondo
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Paris Museum Pass and Seine River Cruise Including Delivery to Your Hotel
More Info
$157.80*
and up
The Paris Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60...
Ranked #26 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A pearl in Paris!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My favorite museum in Paris. It is not well-known, so it is one of the few attractions where you can wonder through the rooms yourself. Musée Nissim de Camondo is like a 20th century city version of Versailles. Seeing how an extremely wealthy family lived around 1900 was fascinating, especially because you get to see the kitchen where the butler and the servants worked. To me, that is a real experience. Compared to Musée Jacquemart-André, Musée Nissim de Camondo gives you a more realistic image of the lifestyle of a rich family, because the lives of the servants are not left out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MA891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    345
    46
    11
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I loved this museum! I love history so much, but I particularly love the history of people. They way they lived, they way they loved, what they did with their lives - I find it all so fascinating! This house is SO BEAUTIFUL.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A wonderful museum, lovely visiting a family home, enjoyed this more than some of the larger museums we visited. So personal and beautifully kept. Such a sad tale though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T0ny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
“Beautiful mansion”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great off-beaten-track site, backing Parc Monceau. A lovely thing to do to beat the crowds: see the mansion, sit in the park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best museum in Paris”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was by far my favorite museum in Paris - and I went to a lot of them during my week there! The audioguide is a must (free) to get the sad back story of the house and explanations of what you are looking at. I'll definitely visit again next time I am in town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rikki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Nissim de Camondo also viewed

 

Been to Musee Nissim de Camondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing