We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must see for lovers of Decorative Design”

Musee Nissim de Camondo
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Paris Museum Pass and Seine River Cruise Including Delivery to Your Hotel
Ranked #27 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a must see for lovers of Decorative Design”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited Camondo Musee, what a real treasure. The poignant family story, the beautiful home frozen in time, the lovely appointments and collections. It is one of my favorite small museums in Paris. I will return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank blowe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    339
    46
    11
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Wish I Could Give This Six Stars”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My favorite place in Paris. A beautiful town house exquisitely furnished. What one could do with unlimited funds and knowledgable, refined taste. Camondo dedicated his life and fortune to collecting and sought out the best advice and help possible. The house and contents were given to the State and is now run by the Musee des Arts Decoratif (you can buy a joint reduced price ticket for both). Everything here is of the highest quality and kept in a state of gleaming perfection.
When I was there it was not crowded at all, which was a pleasant relief from bigger Paris museums.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Outlook_Studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I am a frequent Paris visitor yet i discovered this magical place in one of my latest visits. This place is a private mansion of really wealthy individuals. If you are into 18th century furniture you are in for a treat. The architecture and all the art work and decorative arts elements in it are just superb.
This is one of the hidden gems of Paris. Off the beaten track, you are unlikely to cross hoards of tourists here and you can really take it all in.
Paris is in a way very lucky that tragedy struck this family, to be able to give access to such an amazing collection.
I cannot recommend it more vividly.

Helpful?
Thank Charlottecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyank
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pure class”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful representation of late 18th century art. Moise Camondo came from a wealthy family of bankers but instead chose to concentrate on art collection. This beautiful mansion sits on Parc Moncaeu property. You will absolutely love this museum. Requires about 2 hours of your time to get the full effect.

Helpful?
Thank ObctDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brasil
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“moving”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

this must be one of the most moving museums in Paris.It's the house of rich banker located just on parc Monceau,but it is not the interior that makes it moving but the fact that the banker Camondo gave this house and all its cintents to the French governemento to honour his son killed as a hero on the 1sr world war,nonetheless his daughter and all the family died in concentration camps durinf WW2

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Nissim de Camondo also viewed

 

Been to Musee Nissim de Camondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing