We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little place!”

La Vache et Le Cuisinier
Ranked #69 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Description: Only opened for about one month.Same owner as Le Potager,16 rue des trois freres, and Le jardin d'en face, 29 rue des trois freres.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent little place!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This gem came highly recommended by a friend who had just been there. My son and I decided that we would try it. So, this was one of our best meals in Paris! My son had the Enterocete with bernaise sauce and the french fries! well these fries were the best that we have ever had anywhere! I had the lamb tournedos and they were delicious! The place is not very big, so we were lucky to get a table, it was packed! So, next time I would probably call for a reservation. Don't miss this place, I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    170
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
“A little gem”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The lentils with sausage and poached egg for starters was delicious. Our party of four tried the fish of the day, rabbit, quail and the duck which were all great. The deserts were fab too and we loved the atmosphere. It's just what we were looking for in Paris.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FourBakersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

There are a number of good restaurants on this street. This one is a little fancier and slightly more expensive than others - but still very comfortable. The menu makes it special, as it has a few less common items. My quail filets with lavender honey sauce were excellent, and my daughter's entrecôte with bearnaise sauce was very good too. The razor back clams appetizer at the next table looked very good - wish we'd tried them! Profiterole dessert was pretty good, not excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllenLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Awesome food next to Sacre Coeur”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fantastic experience. Small restaurant with an even smaller menu.
We had Rabbit and Fish of the day and it was great. Together with the good wine selection this was one if the highlights of our weekend in Paris.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 050AndiRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just down from the Sacré-cœur Basilica, this small restaurant was a real find. We had booked for 19:30 - and slightly concerned that there were no other diners. We needn't have worried - as the place soon filled completely up!

This was a very special occasion for us - and the staff looked after us extremely well. The were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was exceptionally well presented and delicious!

Beware that unless you are looking for this place, you will probably get trapped by the numerous other 'tourist restaurants' at the bottom of the hill.

If you are coming down the hill, there is even a little short-cut you can take off the steps on the left of the hill as you face Sacré-cœur!

Highly recommended

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 221MichaelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vache et Le Cuisinier also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Vache et Le Cuisinier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing