We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad hotel, location and choice”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Merryl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Merryl
Ranked #1,678 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Cambridge
2 reviews
“Bad hotel, location and choice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were one of two couples staying at this hotel in June 2012. Asked for other rooms but apparently there weren't any available until the next night. As we only had one day to tour Paris, we did not want to leave all our luggage in the lobby for the day so that we could switch rooms upon return the following night...so we stayed in the rooms we were given the first night. Our room was up a circular staircase (no elevator) and our bathroom was up another set of stairs...within our room. There was mould on the walls in the bathroom. Light didn't work in bathroom. TV didn't work. Carpet filthy...kept shoes on all the time. Write up said there was a dog called 'Max' to greet you...desk clerk had never heard of that. Breakfast included...not bad if you weren't too hungry...1 croissant was your limit. But there was also yogurt, baguette and 1 type of cereal. The neighbourhood was pretty scary. We always walked in a group of 4 and we walked quickly. Don't get off the main streets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    46
    44
    61
    83
See reviews for
30
112
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Merryl Hotel in Paris and was disappointed with my overall stay. The hotel is located in a bad neighborhood. It was very difficult to find the location. On the first night we witnessed a big fight a couple of hundred meters from the hotels entrance. Not a great family hotel or for female travelers.

The rooms are very small, especially the showers. The towels in the room are clean but need to be replaced with new towels. My friends also had the same comments about their room.

My biggest complaint with this hotel is the breakfast. The hotel has a very RUDE housekeeper assisting in the breakfast area. The selection of food is very limited at bests. Guests are only allowed to have one croissant. I made the mistake of trying to take 2-croissants and was yelled at by housekeeper. The housekeeping staffs need to take a customer service class (basic greetings & SMILE).

This hotel is suitable for a “small” person who only wants 1-crossant….

One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Pick another hotel

Room Tip: Don't put large bags in the elevator. The elevator is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westlakewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were living in this hotel for 10 days. Hotel is very small and dirty. We were given room near reception. We acn't sleep in the morning, because it was too louad, we here everithing from our room. On the second day we ask to change room, and went to the 4 floor. There we listen the sounds of elevator :) Breakfast is simple, nothing to eat. We were disapointed...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artur1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLL-7, Responsable réception at Hotel Merryl, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are very sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you wished it. Indeed, It is likely that rooms are more noisy in the ground floor but we cannot be responsible for the non compliance with the customer, it would have been necessary for it to warn just the reception for stop the noise . I hold to you informed that we propose an unbeatable value for money on Paris. Then as regards the breakfast I find your comments to exaggerate because we propose a continental breakfast with coffee , tea, chocolate, cereal, croissant, yoghurt, orange juice, bread, butter, different jam, honey I find that it is varied enough knowing that he it was offered in your reservation. Finally the rooms was all renoved everything is new and appropriate.BA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the colony
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Booked this Hotel online. Thought I was walking in the getto while tring to find it. The room smelled bad and the carpet was so gross we would not take our shoes off, and the grout in the bathroom was all moldy. We booked two rooms for two nights, it was so bad we never stayed, we found another place to stay. We choose to loose 400.00Euros instead of staying in this dump. And what a suprise they would not refund any money. This should give you a great idea of this Hotel. There are thousands of hotels in Paris. Stay away !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLL-7, Responsable réception at Hotel Merryl, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Madam, sir

It is with the big confusion that I discover your comment. You accommodated it one of our not still renewed rooms and I apologize for it In effect this room at need for being redone and she it will soon be it for all that know that all the rest of the hotel is renewed. By hoping to see again to judge it by you even.
I find however your comments very excessive.
It's a pity it would have been simply necessary to ask to change room .

Best regards , AB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiryat motzkin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed three nights. Roons are quit small and clean -French style so to say. This is not what is ment as clean in central Europe. A continental breakfast buffet. Very friendly and helpfull stuff. Very close to Metro station. A very very dirty neighbourghood. Compared to all Paris which is not very clean, this vicinity is axceptional not appropriate for tourists.
This is some unjust for the hotel, but I think that future travelers should know about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yossil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights. My room is not big but clean and tidy. There is TV set in the room, which is quite help for me to know the latest weather forecast and practise my French. The breakfast is OK and the staffs are all very nice. The location of the hotel is perfect, being close to St Coeur Cathedral and there is only two minutes' walk from Merryl to the underground station!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay. Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gofen
#1,636 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
République
Hotel Les Chansonniers
Hotel Les Chansonniers
#1,351 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,576 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,597 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Belgrand Hotel
#1,404 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Est Hotel Paris
Est Hotel Paris
#1,139 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merryl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merryl

Property: Hotel Merryl
Address: 7 rue Pajol | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,678 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Merryl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merryl Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing