We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Ranked #1,565 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed bugs!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

First Impression of hotel was ok small room but expected for Paris. Went to sleep woke up in the morning covered in bites and found bed bugs all through the bed!! Went down to reception and asked to switch rooms. They did this but we were moved up to the third floor and the wifi then didn't work in our room. When expressing our disappointment to staff at reception they did not care saying it was not there fault other people bring the bugs in.
Definitely ruined my experience of Paris. Will never stay here again.
Am still itching!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietravellers9289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    59
    73
    39
    35
See reviews for
51
86
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is right by two different Metro stations; one of which is Republique. They store your luggage both before you check in and after you check out. The rooms are very clean and cozy. They are a bit small, but if you are just planning on sleeping there they are perfectly fine. There is a nice patisserie across the road.

The staff at this hotel is absolutely fantastic. They speak English and are very nice. My boyfriend and I were subjected to a cancelled Eurostar and when we called back to see if we could book another night, the hotel was unfortunately full. Raj, the desk person on duty, was sympathetic and actually booked us a hotel room with another hotel so we didn't have to worry about finding a place to stay late at night. To me, this went above and beyond a normal level of customer service and was much appreciated.

We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloria0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated very close to the metro which makes it ideal for arriving and leaving as you don't have to drag your luggage too far. Rooms are quite small but so is most hotel rooms in Paris. Reasonable price (€89) for summer time and its location. Great pattisserie/bakery across the road and its pretty quiet at night as the hotel is located in a small street. Staff are very friendly and speak good English. I will be staying here again when visiting Paris in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a four night stay here in January and the location is great. The Metro is minutes away, good restaurants and bars and cafés all around, a supermarket across the road, a bakery opposite, a safe area too with many people around until late into the night. I Loved it. The building is old and a bit run down but the room was adequate and clean. I would stay again because of the area and the price, it was pretty cheap for central Paris.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was lucky to stay in this hotel over the weekend, a flea market was just off the road, heard this type of market is open quite often on the weekend, such a great place/ experience for semi-antique hunters. Inexpensive hotel and yet so close to the public transportation. Safe area too..
Hotel staff could also arrange for airport transportation at the very reasonable price.
My family was trying to reach out to me several times at night time and they never failed connected me to home. Staff even helped me to look for my relatives in Paris via their phone number due to my limited French's language. Good value for the budget stay in the center of Paris.

Room Tip: I had a hard time dearling with the noise came from late night guests, but other than that this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTLCINNAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#356 of 1,800 in Paris
1,096 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#817 of 1,800 in Paris
126 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
#879 of 1,800 in Paris
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Des 3 Nations
Hotel Des 3 Nations
#1,446 of 1,800 in Paris
153 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1,319 of 1,800 in Paris
113 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,503 of 1,800 in Paris
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Republique

Property: Hotel Excelsior Republique
Address: 4 rue de Lancry, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,565 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Excelsior Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Republique Hotel
Excelsior Republique Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing