We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #56 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“pleasant small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We found this lovely small hotel through Trip Advisor. We had a standard double room, which was a bit small, but typical for Paris. They did have larger rooms available. The room was attractively decorated and had a small kitchenette. No coffee or tea making equipment, but one could boil water on the small stove. It was great to have a frig and some wine glasses and small plates. While we didn't get a balcony, our room had a French door, which opened onto a neighborhood garden. It was very quiet at night. The location was great. We were easy walking distance to the Seine and Notre Dame, as well as the Pantheon, yet the neighborhood did not seem overly touristy. There were lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. The small staff were very helpful and spoke English. I'd go here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    286
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
252
509
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I've probably stayed and a half dozen two and three star hotels in basically the same area and Hotel Residence Henri IV was by far the nicest. First of all, the rooms are bigger than the usual Paris hotel room. Still small by American standards but adequately roomy with TWO closets and TWO tables and chairs. And the bathroom was huge and light with a full length window. The wifi was free and fast in our room (50) and in the lobby. The hotel was a bit more expensive than others I've booked but I took advantage of an internet special and paid for the room ahead of time thus getting it at a greatly reduced rate making it comparable in price to others I've stayed at. Oh, and I can't forget to mention that there is a little kitchenette as well. It was great to have a fridge and silverware! As far as location, you can't beat it (unless you like to stay in real touristy areas). There are busses right outside the door and a metro 5 min. away. Since it's in a neighborhood, there are plenty of little grocery stores, boulangerie, restaurants and even a market. If you want more excitement, Saint Michel with all it's activity, a different metro line and the RER is about 10 min away. The only thing that would stop me from staying here again is price although you get what you pay for. My budget wouldn't have been able to handle paying full price so I'm crossing my fingers that I can get the same type of Internet rate next year if I travel to France again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cestkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We've stayed in various places in Paris, including Le Marais (which we loved) but this has been the best so far. The location was just so ideal. The hotel itself is at the end of a small cul-de-sac running off a fairly quiet street, so apart from church bells, we had total peace and quiet.
The staff are great - extremely helpful and friendly. The room was just lovely and had an attractive outlook. The best feature, though, is the way it is secluded, yet right on the doorstep of metro/train stations, great restaurants and boulangeries (Eric Kayser just around the corner is fantastic) and sight-seeing (Pantheon, Notre Dame, Ille St. Louis).
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We chose this hotel based on a friend's recommendation. Turned out to be a very good selection. The location is perfect, just blocks away from Notre Dame, the Paris subway, and all of the sights and delights of the Latin Quarter. Our accomodations were suitable for 3 adults - a bedroom and a living room with a sleeper sofa; and a kitchenette which we provisioned from nearby markets. The staff was friendly, fluent in English, and genuinely concerned about our comfort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legalwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I expect when it is a "first time" it is always best to have really good memories of the experience. For the four of us, our stay at this Hotel was such a positive one! From the winding staircase and the tiny lift (useful for luggage) to the cosy lounge off the reception area - pleasant and inviting. The room we had was a 'family' room: two areas for sleeping with a small kitchenette and a good sized bathroom/toilet. Bed and bedding were great. The secret of course, was the ambiance of the Hotel on the whole and the room in particular: we felt so much at home and who wouldn't want to have little Juliet balconies off the rooms? The windows opened out to the balconies and grandson would enjoy the cold, fresh air sitting on the sill, writing his Journal (for school project). The reception desk was always manned by cheerful, helpful staff and we were made to feel most at home by Qaisar. The location: couldn't ask for better. The little walk to the Seine and the water taxi; the walk to the Market; restaurants; the subway - everything was nearby and the walk - well, the little bit of exercise to these points was most welcome and invigorating! Again, my thanks to the Trip Advisor Reviewers for their insight and willingness to share.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

I booked this hotel online for four nights after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and checking its wonderful website. I was delighted to find that the Hotel looks exactly like its photos online. Location is a five-minute walk from the subway, Notre Dame, Cluny Museum and many lovely restaurants and bakeries. We loved our tiny balcony, though it was too cold to do more than sip wine for five minutes at a time. We felt like Paris residents, as the hotel is on a tiny dead-end street and surrounded by lovely old apartment buildings. The staff was knowledgeable, professional and helpful. The desk clerk even printed out a google map for us to find a concert at a tiny church whose street was not on our Paris map. We arrived around noon--too early to check in--and left our luggage while we explored the neighborhood. Our bags were in our 4th floor room when we returned. Our suite was charming and elegant, with a glass table and 4 chairs in front of the French doors to the balcony . We also loved the tiny kitchenette and used it every morning to make coffee and warm our "pains au chocolat." Hotel staff is unobtrusive and efficient. The twin beds were firm and comfortable; there was little or no street noise. We highly recommend Residence Henry IV, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cd_in_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

In a convenient position but really quiet, we slept like logs, rare in Paris. Even though it was close to popular tourist sites, there seemed to be plenty of locals going about their business. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were typically Parisian, not bland 'international'. We were travelling with another couple and we all agreed we would be recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#103 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#95 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#123 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Hotel Residence Foch
#67 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#91 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Property: Hotel Residence Henri 4
Address: 50 Rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
#43 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing