We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great base for exploring Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #59 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel after having booked solely on the basis of previous tripadvisor reviews. The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. The bed was also very comfortable. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed the 8 euro breakfast although the breakfast room is not a place you would linger in. We were told they use pastries from Eric Kayser around the corner.

The location was also very handy for site seeing. One tip - if you arrive at the RER station at Saint Michel/ Notre Dame with luggage look for sortie 6 which has an elevator that takes you up to street level (Rue Xavier Privas) avoiding lots of difficult escalators. You can leave this way also but you need to buy the ticket first.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie7leagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    281
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
245
488
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for a Saturday night with our two small children. The small suite (room 52) was perfect with space for us all, a little cooking area and lovely bathroom. There's a small park with swings etc just at the foot of the hotel, and it's an easy walk into Notre Dame and the sights. We ate at the American Diner that evening, which although not a typical 'french experience', it meant that the children were well fed after a big day out. We ate lunch on Sunday round the corner at Cafe St Victor, and the food there was great. Worth adding that the hotel staff were excellent, ready to help but not overbearing. Would recommend this hotel immensely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anegla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here July 2013, was an excellent spot to stay and explore Paris in. We had the family room on the second floor, lovely and quirky but comfy as well. Staff were very helpful at all times, and the location is brilliant for exploring the sites. The Seine is a few minutes walk away and brings you out straight opposite Notre Dame. We will definitely return and stay here again when we visit Paris next. Highlight was just sitting on the balcony in the evening opposite the park, drinking a glass of wine and just soaking up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Cannot fault this little hotel in the latin quarter of Paris. Warm service and well appointed rooms and guest areas mean the hotel is as far removed from American chain hotels as you could possibly want. Also very comfy beds.

Located within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and also very close to the Notre Dame. A short walk to the Metropolitan and RER services.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RNS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Location is great. Close to Odeon and the Pantheon, as well as Rue Mouffetard's charming cafes and restaurants, winding stone streets which are just behind the hotel. A 15 min walk to the ritzy shopping at Rue Four and Grenelle. The large boulevard St. Germain is just a block over. Location is set back pleasantly away from all the "left bank" tourist nonsense. Hotel itself was clean and bathrooms are very comfortable - we had a large tub and the bathroom appeared newly renovated. The furnishings are of a "baroque" nature. Not my favorite but doesn't affect the stay. Relative to French hotels, the room was a comfortable size. My boyfriend and I each had a side of the room with a table and nightstand and plenty of room to fit our suitcases. I will absolutely stay there again if planning to be based on the left bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fromawayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a standard room on the top floor of this 19th century Parisian building, with our own little balcony facing the park. Our room was perfect for our stay and it was lovely to be welcomed with a small bottle of champagne. My husband and I really enjoyed the quirky decor throughout the hotel. The staff at the front desk and in breakfast room were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. It was also nice to be able to enjoy breakfast in our room if we didn't feel like rushing in the morning. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a good size with both a bathtub and shower.
The location of the hotel is excellent. The Metro is close by as are many restaurants and markets. For sightseeing you can easily walk to Notre Dame Cathedral, The Latin Quarter and the Pantheon or simply stroll around the lovely streets taking in the neighbourhood.
Yes, we loved our stay at the Residence Henri IV and would thoroughly recommend it for anyone who enjoys old world charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great small hotel in a wonderful location. We always stay here for 7 nights at least. Great having a small kitchenette area as you can prepare some basic meals yourself. Two markets very close by on different days. Hicham just charming as always and Xavier was wonderful arranging a doctor to visit my ill husband on a Sunday. Don't miss the delicious Eric Kayser bolangerie around the corner for pastries, baguettes, tarts etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#136 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#21 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#75 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#49 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,929 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#43 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Property: Hotel Residence Henri 4
Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
#45 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#82 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing