We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place..great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #167 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Paris spending 6 nights at this lovely small hotel. We had a standard room (#50) and were more than pleased. The room has a large window/door opening to a small balcony facing the street and a large window/door in the bathroom facing the courtyard giving it ample light and ventilation. It also has a small but efficient "kitchen" with 2 burners, microwave, sink and fridge which was really great for us. We could buy wine and cheese and come back to our room and enjoy it. The bed was comfortable and the room is very nicely decorated and kept clean and up to date. There is also a flat screen tv mounted on the wall. The property is extremely well run and in a great location in the Latin Quarter. There are food markets, great bread stores etc. plus train stations close by. Easy walking to Notre Dame and lots of great restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SDG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just back from our trip in France and I had the pleasure to stay 4 days in Paris at the hotel Henri 4 where my son and I had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a great location close to many restaurants and in a lively & safe quarter - easy walk to the metro and some Paris monuments and landmarks. The staff was really nice and always ready and happy to help. I enjoyed the way the hotel was decorated and our room was really confortable - in addition the wifi worked great. It was nice to have a small kitchnette that I used to cook when we did not feel like going out to eat. But one of my favorite part were the breakfasts which I thought were fabulous!! I totally recommend this hotel and next time we go to Paris - I know now where to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

As soon as you enter the door of Hotel Residence Henri 4, you know you're in Paris. The hotel is decorated in period style, and even the key to your room is embellished. Above all, however, the location is excellent, with bus and metro transportation to almost anywhere in the city practically at your doorstep. Our room was large for Paris, with a kitchenette and beautifully equipped bathroom, as well as a little balcony and comfortable table in the room to eat at, a plus since the hotel is near excellent food shops. Breakfast is available, either in your roon or the pleasant basement dining area. The service was excellent and friendly, although travelers who need help with luggage should note the lack of a bellhop. We would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank enroute1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

for paris, the room was reasonably large, esp. the bathroom. we were on the 5th floor looking out over the little square at the front of the hotel. the decor is charming, the wifi works well, the location is superb. would definitely stay again, they are just so small and quickly booked, so plan ahead!

The breakfast is the only aspect that is not worthwhile but it is convenient and to their credit it is also optional, it is just coffee and a bread/pastry basket and cereals selection, works fine for room delivery if you prefer it. But if you want a croissant, go around the corner to the luscious artisanal bakery Eric Kayser instead, they have a cafe and croissant special at their backcounter for like 2 euros? and the croissants there are heavenly...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank prooproo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Excellent location, very helpful staff with perfect directions and restaurant recco's and lots of patience. My room (ground floor) was huge but my brother's room (room # 50) was smaller but still pretty average for Paris hotel rooms. I know there are lots of comments on here about room size but i thought it was typical...small by U.S. but not so small that it detracted from the hotel. There are only 13 rooms in the entire hotel so if you're looking for amenities (a bar, for example) this is not the place. We love the boutique feel of the place but i can see it wouldn't be for everyone. Not a place for kids! And yes, the walls are thin and i could hear flushing toilets and showers (and while the manager may say "well, it's an old building so yes, the walls may be a bit thin") the walls also have a central vacuum system so it can't be THAT old, can it? so the noise wasn't a BIG issue it was something we noticed and kept us awake one night as the people above us took showers.

Room Tip: I think the terraces are over-rated...very small. If you can get one for no extra charge I'd ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dan57rank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Other reviews are correct when they say the staff is very friendly and helpful. They are also correct in that the hotel is close to areas where tourists generally spend alot of time in Paris. I'd add that it is about 2 blocks to a metro station which adds to the desirability of the location. In all other respects the hotel is average. Rooms and decor are merely average. If you are after affordable lodging in a decent area then consider this hotel. If you want your hotel to make a statement or be a highlight of the trip then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wanderlust_FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceHenri4, Front Office Manager at Hotel Residence Henri 4, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for praising the several qualities of the hotel. We are glad that you appreciated the location of the hotel as well as the availability of the staff. On the other side, we are tremendously disappointed of the fact that you found the room and the decor "merely average". In fact, the owners of the hotel vision is to make something very different. Thus, the decor is typically French with several hints to period style. Nevertheless, they are modernly equipped ( Phone, WIFI, Satellite TV etc).

We sincerely hope we will host you in a future stay and show you other rooms.

Best regards

Hicham KHAZRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The ambience is superb with its elegant decor and sense of history with its comfortable rooms named after historical leaders including Henri IV. We had a balcony room overlooking the peaceful nearby park, but only a stone's throw away are the bookshops, eateries, bars, supermart and a handy little food market just a block away where one could purchase cheeses and wine amongst other delicacies. Nearby attractions we visited were the Pantheon, Jardin du Luxembourg, Musee du Moyen Age, and it is also a short walk to the River Seine and Notre Dame La Grande. There are 2 or 3 Metros nearby to travel further afield.
The people at Henri lV are lovely and very helpful -Unfortunately my partner and I on this trip (my 5th to Paris) had two occasions where the staff lent their invaluable assistance- we were unlucky to be robbed near Notre Dame and the staff helped us with police station and insurance applications. My partner later needed to see a dentist urgently and a choice of 2 nearby dental surgeries was found for us immediately! We loved Henri lV - it is a home away from home!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quirindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#373 of 1,805 in Paris
1,008 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#202 of 1,805 in Paris
302 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#73 of 1,805 in Paris
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#131 of 1,805 in Paris
1,753 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#123 of 1,805 in Paris
1,695 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#2 of 1,805 in Paris
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $177 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing