We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pont Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pont Royal
Ranked #145 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed here as Hotel Senat was full. Was a bit dearer and not quite as good overall but is a different style of hotel and was still good. Decor a bit dated but staff and service excellent. Room had a balcony with views for miles which was great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank censington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    205
    53
    25
    16
See reviews for
144
438
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

This hotel is in the trendy St Germain area and has a boutique hotel feel about it as it is not oversized so you get good personal service. The concierge was very helpful. It is well located for everythng you need and is a short walk to place st germain and the restaurants etc in that area. You must try Le Relais de l'Entrecote on rue st benoit if you like steak - it is the most French place I have ever been. All they serve is steak frites. Add a bottle of good red wine and you can lose an afternoon in there!

The restaurant attached to the hotel is a Joel Robuchon - I think it might have a michelin star (his other restaurant in Paris certainly does) so it is not a restaurant you can grab a snack every night but it is worth a go one night as the food is divine. One thing I particularly liked about this hotel was the bar area that had comfy chairs and was perfect for sitting with some hot chocolate after a hard day sightseeing.

If you are in Paris for sightseeing I would recommend walking to the Rodin Museum which is a delight. The modern art museum at the Pompidou centre was also a bit of a surprise for us - they had some fantastic exhibitions.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFussyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

Aware of the fact that Paris Hotel Rooms are on the small side, I booked a Deluxe Room at Hotel Pont Royal. When we saw the room we were surprised about the cramped space and asked the Hotel about it. There was no other alternative and we had to move some furniture to get around the bed and also climb over it in order not to bump into each other. Overall good practice for Submarine training. Room itself somewhat dated with picture of "sexy woman" over bed hanging at an angle. Otherwise good, quiet location across from the Louvre and staff helpful.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archieblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We just returned from a week at the Pont Royal. We have 4 children and the hotel was fantastic. The location is perfect; 3 blocks from the Musee d'Orsay and the Louvre. Half a block from the Rue St Germain.
The included breakfast is perfect. Nobody in my family (ages 5-46) was disappointed. We will stay here on our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oatness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

Just returned from a surprise 40th birthday trip at the Pont Royal. What a disappointment. What lets this hotel down more than anything else is the general attitude of its staff and lack of friendliness and customer service towards its guests.

My husband booked a prestige room at 300 euro's a night. On our mid afternoon arrival the room was not ready and we had to wait 40 minutes before we could check in. No apologies were given. We were not informed about the facilities the hotel had to offer or any breakfast/dinner amenities.

The room itself was larger than a standard, painted in magnolia with dark dated furniture. The bathroom was a good size with complimentary robes. Bath products supplied were standard fare. The outstanding feature of the room was the balcony and views. We had a stunning view of the Eiffel and Sacre Coeur.

The hotel advertises on its site that it has wi fi access but does not inform guests that they have to supply their own computer. No internet facilities are available.

Breakfast was 27 euros for a continental, the most expensive of all the hotels in the area. Directly next door is The Montamblert Hotel, 25 euros for breakfast and 20 yards across the road is the K+K at 16 euro's. Attached to the hotel is a michelin star restaurant. Guests do not get priority reservations through the concierge.

Apart from the spectacular view from our room, this hotel has little to recommend it to fellow travellers. At 300 euros a night there are far better hotels in the area.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — dated, too expensive and the staff
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank stickercardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

I stay in Paris a lot and this hotel was definitely one of the better ones. The location was amazing, the staff was terrific, and the room was a good size, positively enormous for Paris actually! It felt much more like a 4-star hotel than a 3-star, although the price was quite high. A colleague got to stay in the very top, and I have to say her room, complete with a balcony with a gorgeous view of Sacre Couer and the Eiffel Tower, was just spectacular. Absolutely incredible.

  • Liked — The location was great
  • Disliked — It was quite expensive
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SundayRiver2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

i'm just back from a 3 day trip in Paris, and stayed in the Hotel Pont Royal.

i can be very brief about it! NOTHING special. totaly OVERPRIZED. i stayed in hotels in Paris that cost less the half of the 395€ i payed now for a small boring room.

the breakfast 27euro is even poor. think this place is a total rip-off.
spend you money elswhere in a nice hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank licence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#197 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#144 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#434 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#70 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#82 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#40 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pont Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pont Royal

Property: Hotel Pont Royal
Address: 5 rue Montalembert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#104 Business Hotel in Paris
#104 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#134 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pont Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pont Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont Royal Hotel
Hotel Pont Royal Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing