We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL AND GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Hotel Pont Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pont Royal
Ranked #164 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel is five minutes walk from the Louvre, Notre Dame and is in walking distance for almost all the sights in Paris, the staff are brilliant and the rooms really nice and comfortable and I would recommend it to everyone, our only complaint and it is really a minor one was our room, we had 103, and the noise from the restaurant and the entrance to the hotel was directly below our room and at times you could hear everything that was going on.

Room Tip: Don't get room 103 unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garry7927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 941 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff were very helpful and professional we could not fault them.
The location was excellent you could walk to Musee D'Orsay and Louvre and other places of interest.
Plenty of bistros and cafes nearby.

That said I felt this hotel was not a 5 star hotel, 5 star prices for a 3 perhaps at most a 4 star hotel.

The rooms were clean but small for a 5 star.
The noise was so bad from the back or hotel that it woke me up twice on the 2nd night. I had to move rooms, which was disruptive when only there for 3 nights and no compensation offered.
Room service inordinately slow and expensive at 35 euros for 2 toasted sandwiches and a cheese board, which took 45 mins to arrive.
25 euros pp for breakfast is extortionate.
No tea or coffee facilities in rooms.

Whilst it is an ok hotel it is not worth paying what we did I am sure you could find just as good in Paris at a lower price

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and not facing the back of the hotel if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianneH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmaleh L, Directeur général at Hotel Pont Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

I am very concerned by the experience you mentioned on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is extremely important to us, I would like to follow up on your visit and comments. I would be most grateful if you could grant me a few minutes of your precious time. I hope we can connect soon and I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely yours,

Laetitia Elmaleh
General Manager
laetitia.elmaleh@hotel-pont-royal.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night for vacation in December 2013. It was my first stay there, her second.

It's in a great location, and the staff are excellent and really helpful. We were able to get a good deal, especially in comparison to other hotels in the area, although this can vary by time of year.

Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is very nicely located in the Saint Germain district. It is located in a quiet area but still close various spots. The rooms are small (normal for Paris) but clean and cosy. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is available for EUR 25 (good value for money). All rooms offer free Wi-Fi. The staff is very friendly and helpful – all staff members we spoke to were fluent in English. It is definitely not comparable to expensive five-star palaces in Paris (Fours Season, Costes etc.) but its still a cosy luxury hotel with affordable rates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmaleh L, Directeur général at Hotel Pont Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

I was delighted to read your very kind review and so pleased you all had such an enjoyable stay.

I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.

With very best wishes

Laetitia Elmaleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a hidden gem on the left bank. The standard rooms are small with a huge bathroom. the beds and linens are excellent. You can control the temperature in your room and the windows open for fresh air. The staff is excellent, every one of them. We asked for our room to be changed after the first night because we like to sleep with the window open and it was a bit noisy. We were shown another room and moved immediately. The first room had a chair that was more comfortable for me and I asked if it could be moved to our new room and it was. No fuss at all and I was made to feel like it was no big deal. The breakfast each morning was quite good fresh pastries, bread, fresh squeezed juices, meat, cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon etc.
I agree with another reviewer the Eric Keyser bakery is a must. there is also a small grocery store just across the street for anything you might need. The metro is about a block away and cabs are easy to find. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street are a bit noisy if you open the windows. We stayed on the first floor one ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avidtraveler919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmaleh L, Directeur général at Hotel Pont Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back "home" when you are next in Paris

With very best wishes,

Laetitia Elmaleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Well located in St Germain, just far enough away from the madding crowds while being close enough to anything of interest. Paris is one of the world's best walking cities and this is an ideal base to take in the sights and sample some great food. It has a sense of history and you feel the staff take pride in working there - we found the concierge service to be particularly helpful. The rooms are quite small but well appointed and decorated - our (superior) room came with a decent view that included the top third of the Eiffel Tower which felt like a bit of a bonus.
For a small 5* property you can get some good deals to stay here but, as others have noted, once you do arrive some things are eye-wateringly expensive. Not least the bar which is probably why it remained stubbornly quiet while we were there. We did sample some of their cocktails which were admittedly well made but at north of 20 Euros a go they should be. We also ate at the attached Joel Robuchon restaurant one night (advanced pre-booking required) and while the food was everything you would expect from a 2 Michelin Star establishment, the bill for 2 people can easily sail towards 500 Euros if you try a few dishes and take some recommended wine pairings...
Thankfully the locale means there are plenty of more wallet friendly options within a 10 minute stroll and I would happily recommend La Fregate for lunch (with a great view of the river and Louvre), and either 'Le Christine' or 'Alcazar' for great meal in the evening. The latter is quite a funky place with a great bar upstairs offering imaginative cocktails at much more reasonable prices.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and as fairly frequent visitors to Paris will probably return one day. We've tended to stay on the other side of the river and walked across to St Germain of an evening. The Hotel Lotti probably remains our first choice for value and luxury in Paris but the Pont Royal is certainly up there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dr_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmaleh L, Directeur général at Hotel Pont Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Dr. John,

I was delighted to read your very kind review and so pleased you all had such an enjoyable stay.

I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.

With very best wishes,

Laetitia Elmaleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The prices are a little high at this hotel but it did not disappoint! Located in the enchanting St Germain neighbourhood, it's a stone throw away from the Louvre and it's gardens and from many other important Paris sights.

The Eric Kayser bakery just a short walk away sells delicious pastries (we ate breakfast here rather than paying for the expensive breakfast at the hotel) and there are many charming cafés and shops nearby.

Expect friendly and helpful front desk service, pretty looking hotel, super clean and good sized rooms, delicious smelling lobby, convenience of a mini supermarket, bakery and many shops and restaurants nearby with the nearest metro just a few minutes walk away!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalmatinka_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#58 of 1,803 in Paris
721 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#172 of 1,803 in Paris
1,260 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Victoria Palace
Victoria Palace
#272 of 1,803 in Paris
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#114 of 1,803 in Paris
364 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#315 of 1,803 in Paris
284 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pont Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pont Royal

Address: 5 rue Montalembert | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#103 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#133 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $269 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pont Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pont Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont Royal Hotel
Hotel Pont Royal Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing