We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Ranked #346 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful, large room which perfectly accommodated our family of five. There were two bedrooms which were connected, almost like an apartment. The first room contained a queen/full size bed and the second bedroom had one full size bed and one pull-out twin. We also had two bathrooms, one of which had a shower, and both were quite ample in size. The entire room was very clean/cleaned daily and towels also replaced daily. I think the rooms were recently renovated and/or some still in the process; ours looked newly done/very nice. We were located on the 6th floor, but there is a small elevator which allowed one of us to ride up with all of our suitcases. Most of the time we took the carpeted winding staircase because it was good exercise to help work off the pastries we ate! The staff at Hotel Excelsior Latin were also very friendly and helpful. They booked us a cab to the airport on our last day, and readily allowed us to use their printer to print our boarding passes (that was a huge help). There is also a wonderful coffee machine in the lobby - I appreciated the convenience of this when I wanted a cup of coffee in the morning before the rest of the family was up or ready. The location of this hotel is great - very close to Luxembourg Gardens, the St. Michel Metro, Notre Dame, the Seine, and many fun restaurants in the Latin Quarter. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    523
    134
    34
    27
See reviews for
426
281
48
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was an excellent choice for our family in Paris. We stayed for three days. The location is great, near the metro and in the latín neighborhood, very nice. The hotel and rooms were tiny, but very clean, very new and all we needed. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms newly done, great shower and large mirrors, very nice. Breakfast was not included, so we had the option to have it there or go somewhere else, although what they served at the cafetería was very good and 8 euros only. Internet was not excellent, but we wouldn't stay at the room at all, so it didn't matter. If you are planning to walk around Paris non stop all day and need comfortable and clean rooms with great bathrooms, this is a great choice. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good hotel situated right near Luxembourg Gardens and Latin Quarter. Chose this place as it was good value for money in the location we wanted to be in. The services were really good for being rated such a low star hotel. Negatives would be that for 4 of us in a quadruple room we only were given two bath towels and you had to pay for the tea and coffee services but this was no huge issue. Bit cheeky also is that paying by card we were whacked with over £10 of foreign transaction fees which most hotels tell you about before paying. Was nice to be in a foreign hotel though that had more than one english tv channel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abergz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

his a small clean very Parisian boutique hotel situated between Luxembourg garden and the Latin quarter. It's not fancy but it's really really nice, newly furbished and clean for a 2* hotel. Comfortable beds and fresh new linens. Rooms have a/c, are decent sized (we had a triple comfort room and there was a nice little desk, 2 big windows that opened out over Rue Cujas, enough space for our bags on the floor plus a little extra floor room), not a lot of extra room but we only spent time here to sleep. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good places to eat nearby, we heard that the Chinese restaurant next door was great but we didn't get a chance to try it, central location so easy to walk to everything. Very close to the RER Luxembourg line for a direct shot to CDG (only about 6 stops to/from the airport). Nice to have Luxembourg garden so close, lots of people picnicking out on the grass, so bring a baguette, cheese and a bottle of wine, and chill out for a while! Monop convenience store around the corner for cheap sandwiches, yogurt, drinks, etc to go. Excellent value for the money.

It seems Paris doesn't wake up till past 10am so it can be really difficult to find a place to eat breakfast (they don't really eat breakfast here like we do in the US). So for convenience you may want to opt for the hotel breakfast if you are an early riser and need to eat right away. There are some brasseries nearby that serve basically the same breakfast for the same price, but with a little walking you can find cheaper options, a patesserie, or get some food to go at the Monop.

Room Tip: Go for the comfort rooms. They are newly refurbished and better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pemaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

At the last count my wife and i along with our family have stayed in this hotel 10 times. In addition my family have ploughed their own furrow there a further 4 times. Also friends have benefited from staying with them 8 times. To date there has not been a single complaint except regret that they didn't know Paris could be so affordable. In terms of Location Excelsior is as perfect as it is possible to get. Right beside Boulevard St Michel, "Where you keep your Rolling Stones records, and a friend of Sacha Distel" A few minutes walk to Pantheon, Latin Quarter and Notre Damme, Excelsior spoils you for choice. Luxembourg gardens are 5 mins away. Fabulous, inexpensive restaurants all within staggering distance as is a supermarket selling ice cold sparkley at 5 Euros a bottle. Take the metro to Bateaux Mouches (remembering to charge your hand with the aforementioned sparkley. Do so at night. It is fabulous. Try the little Chinese restaurant next door for din dins. It is a treasure.
Excelsior rooms range from single to family sized. All are neat, clean and reasonably sized. This is not a 5 star hotel so don't expect it to be so. But it offers everyone the opportunity to see this magnificent city for much less than one might imagine. Breakfast, we tend to avoid as the little pattisserie (Excuse my spelling) on Boul st Mich is a much nicer place to eat especially on freezing cold winter mornings with coats buttoned against the elements. For first time visitors to Paris, trust me, Paris is every bit as magnificent as you have been lead to believe. It is not as expensive as you fear and Excelsior is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flybj450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Fairly central, with bus/metro stops nearby, lots of attractions within walking distance, lots of value-for-money restaurants a short walk away. Hotel was clean, staff friendly, rooms cleaned every day - would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Based upon the rave reviews here at TripAdvisor, we booked a 3 night stay at the Hotel Excelsior Latin at the beginning of July. It was exceptionally clean and surprisingly quiet. The website explained that the hotel has recently undergone renovations and new windows must have been part of the work. Although it was July, we kept the windows open during the day and the room stayed pleasant. There was a small air conditioner that we ran at night when we closed the windows. Our room overlooked the small courtyard, but with the windows closed we heard nothing. In fact, the only thing we did hear at night was a low rumble of the metro far below. We reserved a quadruple room, which had four single beds pushed together in pairs.

The staff was friendly and helpful, particularly Ridha. There was no printer available but he offered to print our boarding passes for us if we forwarded the email to him. He also made several helpful recommendations for efficient transit options. My son had a minor slip climbing out of the tall European bathtub, but upon our request for a non-skid mat, the hotel immediately purchased a new one for our room. That's great service in my book.

The hotel is conveniently located near the Jardin de Luxembourg, which was a main attraction during our visit with young boys. It is 1/2 block off of the main road Bd Saint-Michel and about halfway between the St. Michel-Notre Dame and the Luxembourg stops on the RER from CDG. The Cluny-Sorbonne metro is about two blocks away.

Because of its proximity to the Sorbonne, the neighborhood has a younger vibe than many others. There are lots of restaurants and shops in the area, particularly as you near Bd. Saint-Germain. We did not purchase the breakfast because there is a patisserie and a Monop (a smaller version of Monoprix, the grocery chain) on the same block. The post office is across rue de Cujas.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRVMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#284 of 1,801 in Paris
1,300 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#173 of 1,801 in Paris
989 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#190 of 1,801 in Paris
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#386 of 1,801 in Paris
568 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#307 of 1,801 in Paris
981 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#618 of 1,801 in Paris
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Latin

Property: Hotel Excelsior Latin
Address: 20 rue Cujas | Latin Quarter, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in Paris
#576 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Latin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located in the heart of the Latin Quarter offers spacious rooms which can accomodate up to 5 persons. All the rooms have bathroom, air conditioning and free wifi access. The Pantheon, the Luxembourg Garden and Notre Dame are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Latin Hotel
Excelsior Latin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing