We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They saved my goddaughters christening!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Ranked #371 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sorry to the great receptionist at Hotel Excelsior Latin for this very late review!!
You saved my goddaughters christening, and not to mention my reputation as a god parent!
I managed to forget the most important dress in the luggage room at Excelsior, and this marvelous receptionist managed to track down the friendliest taxi driver in Paris who personally delivered the dress at the airport!
Back to why it is worth making a booking at Hotel Excelsior Latin. The room size is ok, they have comfortable beds, it is clean and proper, and not at least is the service very good! This hotel is the excellent choice for your stay in Paris due to a perfect location, and the prices are great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laikatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior Latin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our family of two adults and two teens stayed in a classic quadruple room for three nights which was located on the second floor of a quirky old building. The service desk staff were friendly enough and the room suited our requirements as it was clean and had we had our own bathroom with a shower over bath and a separate toilet room. The quad beds were as two singles joined together to form two large doubles so this arrangement was fine for us. The room was quite dark and would benefit from more lighting and the bedside lights heated quickly and you had to watch your arms on these when reading in bed. The flooring was very uneven due to the age of the building so the stair case would be a bit worrisome for anyone that was not sure footed. There was an elevator that took two people at a squeeze with a suitcase and was a giggle and the hallways were very narrow which made navigating with a large suitcase interesting. This hotel was located in a very vibrant area and convenient to quite a few attractions which were a short walk away. We did a lot of walking and could walk to the river easily and the many cafes of the Latin Quarter as well as the Luxembourg Gardens and the Pantheon. There is also a metro station close by. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but headed up the road to Columbus Cafe or across the main road to a croissant cafe. We did eat a meal next door at the Chinese restaurant and while the portions were small, it was a tasty meal.
There was renovation work happening in the hotel when we were there and while it went on during the day when we were out doing the touristy things, there was some painting or repetitive work happening on a floor above us on the last night which kept one of family members awake,but this may have been restless guests?
All in all a good place to stay in Paris and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ingy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was having a lot of trouble finding a budget hotel for a party of 5. I ended up booking this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews. Great decision. We had the family room for an amazing price. Though the access to the room is not quite suitable for disabled (it can only be access through very narrow stairs and no lift) the room itself is very spacious and very well heated. The location can´t be better, right in the Latin Quarter in the same block as the Sorbonne. The metro stop is 2 minutes away. The breakfast is also quite good, at a very good price (half of what it costs in the sorrounding cafes..).All the staff is very helpful, specially the indian receptionist I can´t remember his name.. All in all, I certainly recommend this hotel and I am sure I will be back here the next time I am in Paris...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RosiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were satisfied with everything... clean tidy and quiet rooms, excellent service, good breakfast, garden for smokers, great location, staff at the reception and breakfast always helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came with three friends to this hotel for a short trip. It is a very nice hotel, the staff is very friendly and helpful and it is very clean! The hotel is walking distance to the Notre Dame and there is a metro station nearby. It is a great place to stay for a city trip, and we will definitely recommend this hotel to other friends and family! Only downside was that we were on the fifth floor and the wifi didn't reach that far, but thanks to the staff we received free internet in the lobby :) all together: a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Probably rooms above 4th or 5th floor can't receive Wifi..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colinjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A very good hotel.
A great location, a good breakfast, a good bed (very important), every day clean towels, very nice people...
I've been in this hotel now for the fourth time, and i must say, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were in one of the renovated triples. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathroom also very clean and modern. The room was a bit tight for American standards, but spacious for Parisian standards. The location can't be beat...we could walk almost anywhere. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. The price was fantastic. I researched many, many hotels before picking this one, and this was definitely the best value without compromising on the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liborka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#283 of 1,804 in Paris
1,317 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#670 of 1,804 in Paris
518 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#176 of 1,804 in Paris
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#341 of 1,804 in Paris
580 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#87 of 1,804 in Paris
1,165 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#188 of 1,804 in Paris
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Latin

Address: 20 rue Cujas | Latin Quarter, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in Paris
#576 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $133 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Latin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located in the heart of the Latin Quarter offers spacious rooms which can accomodate up to 5 persons. All the rooms have bathroom, air conditioning and free wifi access. The Pantheon, the Luxembourg Garden and Notre Dame are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Latin Hotel
Excelsior Latin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing