We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Latin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Ranked #340 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were satisfied with everything... clean tidy and quiet rooms, excellent service, good breakfast, garden for smokers, great location, staff at the reception and breakfast always helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    506
    130
    34
    27
See reviews for
411
274
47
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came with three friends to this hotel for a short trip. It is a very nice hotel, the staff is very friendly and helpful and it is very clean! The hotel is walking distance to the Notre Dame and there is a metro station nearby. It is a great place to stay for a city trip, and we will definitely recommend this hotel to other friends and family! Only downside was that we were on the fifth floor and the wifi didn't reach that far, but thanks to the staff we received free internet in the lobby :) all together: a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Probably rooms above 4th or 5th floor can't receive Wifi..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

A very good hotel.
A great location, a good breakfast, a good bed (very important), every day clean towels, very nice people...
I've been in this hotel now for the fourth time, and i must say, it's perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were in one of the renovated triples. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathroom also very clean and modern. The room was a bit tight for American standards, but spacious for Parisian standards. The location can't be beat...we could walk almost anywhere. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. The price was fantastic. I researched many, many hotels before picking this one, and this was definitely the best value without compromising on the quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liborka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Situated just around the corner from Sorbonne in the 4th quarter, easy walking distance to Notre Dame and other central Paris sights. The rooms are a touch on the older side ( they say that they have a major expansion coming with AC this next year ), but clean and orderly. The people who work there are very helpful and can offer good advice. The price was excellent, especially for the proximity, and close to the metro. A high value stop on our travels this year. the Petit Dejeuner is fairly priced and had good variety. We stayed on the street side and the bar was a bit active. ( It was open until 5 am )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryScovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel is in an excellent location walking distance to Notre Dame, Jewish Quarter, and other main attractions and restaurants. The staff was very accommodating and friendly; we had free Wi-Fi; basic breakfast coffee and croissant; small basic and clean room!

Room Tip: Our room was off the street nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReaderBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Hotel Excelsior Latin provided me, as a solo traveler, a comfortable, well located lodging for a week's stay in Paris. My room, a double/comfort, was quite clean, well appointed and quiet.
While I didn't ask much of the staff, all were friendly and most helpful when I did. For my convenience, I took breakfast at the hotel each morning and have no complaints. There are certainly many nearby options should one choose to not eat at the hotel.
As for the location, it would be hard to find a better spot. Whether on foot or by metro, Paris is
most accessible.
I would not hesitate to stay at the Excelsior again and would recommend it to anyone as a
comfortable, affordable and convenient choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#286 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#161 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#186 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#605 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#296 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#138 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Latin

Property: Hotel Excelsior Latin
Address: 20 rue Cujas | Latin Quarter, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in Paris
#577 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Latin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located in the heart of the Latin Quarter offers spacious rooms which can accomodate up to 5 persons. All the rooms have bathroom, air conditioning and free wifi access. The Pantheon, the Luxembourg Garden and Notre Dame are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Latin Hotel
Excelsior Latin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing