We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Republique
Ranked #1,703 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel was average. For the positives, it is very near a metro stop and the train stations, has lots of shops nearby and is only about twenty minutes walk from the Seine. The room was fine, the bed was comfy. Breakfast was good. However, it is quite overpriced for what it is. The bathroom had no lock on the door, there was no curtain for the window/door in the bathroom and the shower wasn't attached to the wall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heldamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 367 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

First thing we saw was a bloke p***ing right in front of us in the street in broad daylight, which prepared us for the quality of the hotel. At 80 EUROS per night this is overpriced, drunks out til 4pm shouting so between them and the mice or rats in the crawlspaces i got no sleep. Breakfast is a hard bread roll and a croissant which was actually ok. Decor is really p**s poor - no bracket for the shower - and as I write this I am itching having suspected that I've been bitten by mites. Very good location but not worth the savings for the budget stay. Look elsewhere...or stay out in the street with the homeless drunks and make a night of it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ritch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This has to be one of the worst 'hotels' in europe, yes its cheap but its utterly utterly awful I can only presume that the cleaner, who incidentally bust into the room in the morning while I was trying to take a shower (bloody difficult as no shower holder) spends at least three hours chain smoking cheap fags to ensure that the room smells like a tramp's hat, she certainly doesn't do anything vaguely close to cleaning, the room was filthy. The bed smelt of urine and the towels are at least 80 years old. The lift didn't work, I was interrogated by the night porter who also smelt of pee because I dared to return to the pit after 10 pm, all in all I would have had a better stay if I had slept on the pavement and given the cash i gave the 'hotel' bristol republique to a fat bloke to repeatedly kick me in the face throughout the night. Please, don't waste your time and money on this miserable excuse of a place to stay

Room Tip: there are good rooms in other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jtotheotothep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good location, my room, 59 had horrible views to the inside of the buildings. Strong smell of cigarettes and people could smoke on the landing, right by my door. Everything was just decadent but ok to stay on a safe and good location. Breakfast was just bread, croissants and butter and marge. I am vegan so not much for me... :) Still it wasnt that bad, but not romantic or anything like that.

Room Tip: Avoid the inside rooms, mine was 59 and was not too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank cristinagps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at Bristol Republique for 1 night during my New 2013 Year European trip - I had 16 hr stopover and took that opportunity to visit my friends in Paris. I spent only 7 hours in the hotel - arrived at 10 pm after dinner with my friends and left at 5 am (I had a morning plane).

Pros:
- Brilliant location - 200 m from Republique metro station.
- En-suite clean room. As for wi-fi, I really don't remember. Maybe they had.

Cons:
- They don't have sound proof in the rooms - you hear absolutely everything from your neighbors, corridor and from the street - there are many bars nearby, drunk people loudly cry at night!
- There are many homeless people who sleep close to the hotel in Rue de Malte. They drink and often cry at night!!
- Non-refundable fare for a single stay was 55 Eu, overpriced I think!

For your information:
There is another hotel at Rue de Malte, it's called Hibiscus, they provide with the same conditions because ... Bristol Republique and Hibiscus are twin hotels, they belong to the same owners, I think to Indian origins.

Resume:
This is my personal opinion - it's good to stay there for 1 night, no more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

stayed for weekend in Paris, good lacation , close to place of Republique and metro station. Room extremely small, no space for baggage. room clean. Nice and safe area around, even during the night. Intresting bistro on the corner

Room Tip: all rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is just few steps from the Republic metro station. It offers basic accomodation suitable just for several nights since the region and the hotel itself are rather noisy and no goos sleep is possible. The staff is not fast at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariel1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gofen
#1,678 of 1,802 in Paris
23 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,432 of 1,802 in Paris
179 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#803 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,559 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Royal Mansart
Royal Mansart
#1,414 of 1,802 in Paris
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Republique

Address: 68 rue de Malte | 10 Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , République
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,703 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $57 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol Republique 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn-of-the century traditional design - Center of Paris, near financial district, Republique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bristol Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Republique Hotel
Bristol Republique Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing