We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We advise against”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Ranked #633 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We advise against”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While the location can't be beat, we were extremely disappointed in this accommodation. The hotel offers single rooms as doubles. My husband and I couldn't unpack the three days we stayed due to a lack of space - no chair, no storage for clothes. When we requested a double room they told us they'd move us the following morning and neglected to do this. My husband showered and reached for the bath towel which was covered in green mould. The wine glasses in the room were chipped an unusable. Laundry bags left outside our door made it difficult to enter, exit the room without jumping over them. It was frankly horrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank footloose45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    233
    88
    30
    19
See reviews for
141
208
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Perfect location in great surroundings, Seine is almost outside the door! Very comfortable beds, great room with a small balcony. Nice breakfast. Staff very accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrismamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is opposite Saint Michel Fountain and Square. It Is an excellent location less than 5 minutes to Seine and close to Underground station. Slightly longer walk - 10 mins to Metro and 10 minutes in opposite direction to Notre Dame.

Fantastic restaurants and street life in the adjacent area. .

We had a room with an opening window and small ledge - not really a balcony but it gave a nice view of street.

Room was a good size for Paris and bathrooom was excellent.

Service was OK, we were slightly disappointed that a message left for us at reception (by phone) was not passed on - but that was the only complaint we had for the 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We decided to go here as the overwhelming tone of reviews was positive - although there had been one or two negative ones recently. We are very pleased that we did, and our stay would not justify the criticism.

We had a delightful 5 night stay at this hotel which offers modern service (eg the receptionists tolerated my rusty French when they all speak perfect English) within the constraints of a traditional building (1910 - 1920 I would guess).

Yes, the rooms are not large, especially by US standards, but if all 4 star city-centre hotels with small rooms are to be discounted, then there's not much choice left. As for the elevator, it is a marvel of engineering that it fits within the stairwell. We called it the lift of love (l'ascenseur d'amour), as it is rather cosy. To suggest that it is tiny is not a reflection on the lift. We are not small - I am 1.85 metres and my wife 1.65 metres (tall, not wide!) and we both fitted. I shared the lift with an American gentleman without compromising either of our dignities!

All the important things were fine. The bed was comfortable. There is double glazing (two windows, not sealed units - this is an old building) which completely excluded the noise from the Boulevard St Michel, yet allowed us to enjoy sunsets over the buildings. There was a small balcony, so we could feel 'in Paris'. We slept very well. Breakfast was great. The waitresses were very attentive. The lift worked every time.

What else do you want? Only location - and this could not be better. Walking distance for all the places others have mentioned. Add in the Musee d'Orsay (impressionists) and the Rodin house (sculpture), Le Louvre (art) and the Palais de Versailles (exhibitions and beautiful gardens) if you like to walk - much recommended in Paris - and it doesn't get much better.

The alternative - a modern concrete building, without the character that could be anywhere in the world. To us, this is authentic Paris and Europe

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mewsdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here October. Given double bed room on the fourth floor. Room so small only one suit case could be left open at the door entrance. Bathroom is unsafe. The over the bath shower is narrow and the water goes over the tiled floor, toilet and basin. One of the bath towels was dirty. The airconditioner is noisy, could not sleep with it on. The lift is smaller than an airplane toilet, one person and suitcase will just fit. The steps on the circular staircase are uneven and narrow. The lift runs up the middle of the staircase. The staff are unhelpful. We left our suitcases with the staff on the day of our checkout. They were left in the entrance, which is open to the public. We asked for a recommendation for a cafe and upon checking the review with tripadvisor for the cafe named we were amazed to find that it was terrible, comment was "dog food". Kick backs between places was apparent. The pastries at breakfast were stale and getting service was slow. The location, whilst being close to tourist attractions, is unsafe. I would not stay here again. This is definitely not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Greyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived from London mid afternoon and were welcomed by Stefano, the warm and witty front desk gentleman who saw to our needs with a minimum of fuss. Stefano is the man you will see in the website. The hotel and our room was neat and tidy, clean and comfortable. We did not require a bigger room and the double bed with ensuite was fine for our 4 nights stay. The hotel is magnificently located in the Latin Quarter and close to everything. We walked to Notre Dame, the Louvre, the Champs Elysee, the Arc de Triomph, and most of the way to the Eiffel Tower. The lanes and alleyways full of shops and eateries are just at the hotel's doorstep. Every other guest we spoke to in the lovely little breakfast room agreed on our great choice of hotel. We'll be back. Rob and Kathy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is located in the Latin Quarter steps away from the Notre Dame Cathedral with both the RER and the Metro stations (direct line to the airport) across the street. The neighbourhood is lively with lots of cafes and bakeries. Anyone coming from NA should know that this is not like a typical North American Best Western but is uniquely Parisian. The rooms are smaller but quite lovely and clean. We found the staff to be helpful and we were able to store our luggage there before checking in and after we checked out while continuing to sightsee for the day. We found the price to be reasonable compared to other hotels in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#203 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#247 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#688 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#495 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#202 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Saint Michel

Property: Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Address: 3 Boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Royal Saint Michel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#345 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Saint Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To introduce you to our district of Paris, situated in the Latin Quarter, let us tell you about the banks of the Seine, Notre Dame, the Ile de la Cite and its flower market, the university faculties (most famous one: La Sorbonne), and prestigious colleges, the Law Court, the area of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, well known for its 'Jazz spirit', the Louvre and Orsay Museum, you are in the very heart of Paris. For your comfort, our bedding was completely changed in a luxurious Royal Palace Premium bedding with pillow top mattresses. The Royal Saint Michel hotel offers 39 Non Smoking air-conditioned, soundproofed guest rooms, including hairdryers and heated towel rail in each bathroom, direct dial phone, morning alarm, television, mini-bar, broadband Internet connection, private safe and protrusion. Adjoining rooms are available on request. At walking distance from the hotel, you have a direct access to major Airports Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly, via RER B (regional fast train), and also to Gare du Nord (terminus for Eurostar and Thalys trains). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Royal Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Royal Saint Michel Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing