We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. . No SLEEP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Ranked #551 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Location of this hotel is great! Close to 2 Metros to get you everywhere. Allen the concierge is wonderful. However. . We stayed one night on the 4th floor facing Rennes. Yes.. you hear the road noise and sirens. We then checked out to drive overnight to Normandy and Mt. Saint Michael. They held our luggage no problem! When we checked back in for our other 2 nights, they gave us 1st floor room 18. I had read a review on room 14 and figured we were ok down the hall. No we were not. The noise on this floor is horrible! ! The walls are very thin in all rooms and on this particular floor is the breakfast room. And YES you hear it all!! We dealt with it because we were on such a short stay and didn't want to deal with moving everything again. The location by far is the best.. restaurants.. bakerys.. shopping.!! Grocery store.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joybritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal Saint Germain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 566 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband I and spent three nights here while on our honeymoon and I would absolutely stay here again. After reading other tripadvisor reviews I was terrified that the room would be horrifyingly small, but it was actually quite comfortable. No, it was not as big as your average American hotel room, but we had a good sized bed (I didn't measure it but it seemed to be a queen or close to it), a small desk and chair, a bench, and open shelving and place to hang coats just outside the bathroom. The bathroom was new and modern and the shower had good water pressure, unlike the other hotel where we stayed in France.

My one complaint was that the thermostat in our room didn't function properly and our room was very warm. We ended up sleeping with the window open one night (and it was 46 degrees outside). (And I should add, Rue de Rennes is a very busy street at all hours of the night and I was highly impressed at how much noise the window blocked out when actually closed.) The second time I complained to the staff they finally were able to reset the system and we got some air circulating in the room.

The location is excellent. Very close to two metro stops (and the lines we ended up using most often) and tons of shopping and restaurants. It's also a reasonable walk to the river, the Louvre, and Notre Dame. The staff was also friendly and helpful, and most spoke excellent English. Considering the price we paid I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalstGermain, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Paris, and for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Know that we are sensitive to feedback from our customers to improve our services.
We are sincerely glad to hear that your experience was up to your expectations and our team.

We look forward to welcoming you soon among us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice neighborhood on the Left Bank. About a 15-20 minute walk to the River up Rue de Rennes. Paris hotels of this quality were mostly out of our price range, so we were willing to stay a littler further from where we wanted. However, it was a short walk to transportation. Room was very small, but there was a lounge/breakfast area where you could relax if needed. We were not in the room much, and the only negative was this was not convenient to stop at mid-day for a break. The WiFi was a bit weak, but worked when we needed it to. Would look to stay here again if our budget is limited again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalstGermain, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Paris, and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Know that we are sensitive to feedback from our customers to improve our services.
We are sincerely glad to hear that your experience was up to your expectations and our team.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent 3 days in Paris with family and friends celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. Stayed at the Royal Saint Germain. The rooms were small but had nice clean bathrooms and comfortable beds. Good location for the shops/restaurants/cafes. Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. The room and bathroom was decent size and was clean. My husband didnt use the safe as it was a very old one and there were no instructions on how to use it. The location is close to shopping and short walk to metro station but the food nearby was not very good. The one big issue that everyone should be AWARE of is that they will not honour the free breakfast if you book through expedia! The receptionist even said that to us which was not very professional in my opinion. We were on the phone with expedia for an hour and half and they told us to pay the hotel ($13/person which was crazy for what they provided) and they will reimburse us. They said their contract with the hotel clearly states it is included. Also not sure if they actually replaced the linens as it looked like the lint from my pjs were still on the sheets after they cleaned the room.

1  Thank Foodielovetodine
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RoyalstGermain, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Paris, and for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Know that we are sensitive to feedback from our customers to improve our services.

We are sorry the problem you have encountered about breakfast. I still wanted to tell you that your consultant at Expedia you very misinformed. We did not, after verification, no agreement between us with this agency, offering breakfast. For this, I have an email from service Expedia, confirming our say, and I'll be happy to send it to you.

I invite you to send me your email address: direction.stgermain@escapade-paris.com

Despite this, we look forward to welcoming you very soon,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just came back from Paris. My friends and I spent 7 nights at the Royal Saint Germain. The air conditioned rooms were small but adequate. There was some road noise in rooms that face the street but the blockout drapes helped to muffle the noise. Bathrooms were new, modern and spacious. The buffet breakfast was a great start to the day. Mathieu at the front desk was especially helpful in planning trips and giving directions when needed. The location on the Rue de Rennes was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came to Paris after staying in a beautiful hotel in Bruges and unfortunately this hotel came as a massive disappointment. The room is very small, as is to be expected for the price in Paris, but that wasn't the reason I was disappointed - in fact the room itself was ok.

What really lets this hotel down isn't the rooms but the corridors which all smell musty, with badly fitting and stained carpets. The corridors are narrow, dark and depressing.

The entrance lobby is nothing more than a corridor with the desk wedged in under the stairs and the hotel is a couple of doors up from the entrance to a car park which has a number of homeless people sleeping in the doorways. During our stay we came out of the hotel to see police forcibly moving them on.

The traffic noise is absolutely unbelievable - I was prepared for some noise but it was like sleeping on a motorway and I had to go and buy ear plugs.

And although it is called the Hotel Royal Saint Germain, it is quite a walk from central St Germain, although very near the metro stations.

On a positive note, the staff were indeed all extremely polite, friendly and efficient. They are the hotels biggest credit.

Overall, it is ok for the money. But when I return to Paris I definitely won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#177 of 1,804 in Paris
1,127 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#170 of 1,804 in Paris
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Edouard 6
Hotel Edouard 6
#625 of 1,804 in Paris
295 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#340 of 1,804 in Paris
580 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#144 of 1,804 in Paris
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Address: 159 rue de Rennes, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#493 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $123 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Saint-Germain is perfectly located in the heart of Paris-Left bank between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, a few steps away from Luxembourg garden and the Latin Quarter. Our 44 personalized and comfortable rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a free access WIFI. Our superior rooms were entirely renovated in 2008 to offer you even more charm and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Saint Germain Hotel
Royal Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing