We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Ranked #554 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms as others have said but very well decorated and comfortable. Got a little warm as well but on mentioning it to the reception desk they simply turn ed off the heating for the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful indeed. If you are travelling from Gare du Nord get off at Saint-Placide as it's much easier to find the hotel and Montparnasse station is massive and takes ages to get out of.

2  Thank ywouldi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 573 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. Our room in the 6th floor was nice and clean. The room was small but was enough for us and our 3 pieces of luggage (1 big and 2 small). I actually expected the room to be smaller because of the reviews but it wasn't a problem. The room had tea, coffee, cookies and all the toiletries needed. The laptop on the 1st floor was very useful since we wanted to skype. They gave us 2 passwords for the wireless Internet and saw that there was signal in the room but the passwords didn't work. The only thing I didn't like was that there was only one peron in the front desk so if you needed anything, you would have to be the one to get it. We needed new towels and when I called the front desk, the person asked me to go down to get it because he cannot leave the desk. I would still love to stay in this hotel again because the location is perfect (near 3 metro stations) and the rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dawnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this well located boutique style hotel for 3 nights. It is a true 3 star hotel and found the continental breakfast and simple rooms more than adequate. The bathrooms are newly refurbished and very clean.
The gentleman on reception was always helpful, providing maps and suggestions for our daily trips.
A slight negative was the noise from adjacent rooms, very little sound proofing!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A good 3 star property, our room was newly and attractively furnished and decorated (as was the bathroom). Lovely large comfy bed.I loved the balcony and full size double french windows while my husband especially appreciated the fridge and being able to get BBC World News on the TV! The location is brilliant. Within 5 minutes you can walk to the Montparnasse Tower, within 10 the Jardins du Luxembourg. Less than 25 minutes away the Musee d'Orsay, Les Invalides and Notre Dame . There are 3 metro stations nearby, nearest is probably Montparnasse Bienvenue, 3 minutes away. For Eurostar travellers, Metro line 4 takes you directly to Gare de Nord. I love using the metro and a carnet of tickets (10 single journeys) is great value at less than 13 euros. Unlike an oyster card which can only be used by one person, you can share out your 10 tickets with other people. Fantastic locality for all types of eateries and bars and you can do some posh shopping along Rue de Rennes. It is a very busy road but the double glazing ensured that traffic noise could not be heard.Continental self service buffet breakfast was adequate, plentiful and the breakfast room/lounge area offers complimentary newspapers, books and the use of a laptop. Free wi fi for your own devices is also available (get your code from reception). We had a very pleasant stay. Special mention to the lovely Matthieu on reception always smiling and helpful, equiping us with maps, directions and even his umbrella!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have balconies. Would recommend 4th or 5th floor for best views. 6th floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a nice boutique hotel in the 6th arr. of Paris. The location was good/central to walk around Paris. Several metro stations were close by which made it very convenient for either walking or using the metro.

The bed was a full-size and more comfortable than expected! Enjoyed good sleeping and it was quiet, even for a weekend.The room was small, but not any smaller than what you would find in Europe.

The bathroom was clean and nice, but the tub surround was very tall and it felt a little dangerous to me climbing in and out of the tub. They also used a vessel sink in the bathroom because which took up a lot of space on the small vanity. And, I'm on the shorter side - so the tub/shower being high and the height of the vessel sink was just minor irritation.

When I reserved the room - I did so on-line using a third party paying for the room in advance. When we checked in, they charged us more because they said they charge by person, not by room. I would have rated this property four of five, but because of this "surprise" charge, I am only ranking it average.

When we return to Paris, we will keep this property in mind and would feel ok staying here again. But we will look around at other properties in the area for comparisons.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motherlodec6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me by taking me to Paris for my 21st birthday and this was the hotel he chose! With it being a surprise i'm unsure how much it cost in total but when leaving i overheard €600 for 3nights not including breakfast.
Personally for us, we didn't need the breakfast as we got up early and hit the sights, not needing anything til lunch. Breakfast was from 7/7.30-10 and took place on the first floor in the cutest room full of boutique chairs and tables.

The hotel didn't have wifi but a laptop on the first floor was available 24/7 for use. We used it every day without a hitch.

We stayed in room 55, which even had a little balcony overlooking the street. The balcony doors shut out all noise from the street when closed. The bed was comfy and the bathroom had an awesome waterfall shower. The room was small but the perfect size for two people, equipped with a tv and fridge.

The room was decorated blue, with an old fashioned blue pattern running on one wall where the bed was placed as well as on the bed runner and curtains, it was lovely! The most adorable room! Perfect for those with a boutique-y style!

The hotel was situated on rue de rennes, which is not right in the city centre but Paris is huge! It was near 3/4 metro stops, meaning it was a short metro journey to all the main attractions (which are free to those above 16 and below 25 from the EU)

The staff at the hotel were lovely and very helpful. Always pleasant and kindly booked us a taxi to the airport on our ladt day!

I'd reccommend this hotel to all visiting Paris!

Stayed: September 2012
4  Thank Pilgrim122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotels looks fantastiv whe you see it on pictures. Once you see it it irl it is obvios that a lot has been done to look more qualitative than it actually is. Shower wasn't working properly, safety boxes were small and though most rooms are newly reconditioned they feel a bit worn.

Anyway - location is great, breakfast ok, front desk service good and I would probably go back if I got a good offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pisa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#175 of 1,804 in Paris
1,129 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Edouard 6
Hotel Edouard 6
#567 of 1,804 in Paris
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#169 of 1,804 in Paris
708 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#144 of 1,804 in Paris
517 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#392 of 1,804 in Paris
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Address: 159 rue de Rennes, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#493 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $117 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Saint-Germain is perfectly located in the heart of Paris-Left bank between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, a few steps away from Luxembourg garden and the Latin Quarter. Our 44 personalized and comfortable rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a free access WIFI. Our superior rooms were entirely renovated in 2008 to offer you even more charm and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Saint Germain Hotel
Royal Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing