We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Nice Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Ranked #426 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
motherlodec6
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice Property”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a nice boutique hotel in the 6th arr. of Paris. The location was good/central to walk around Paris. Several metro stations were close by which made it very convenient for either walking or using the metro.

The bed was a full-size and more comfortable than expected! Enjoyed good sleeping and it was quiet, even for a weekend.The room was small, but not any smaller than what you would find in Europe.

The bathroom was clean and nice, but the tub surround was very tall and it felt a little dangerous to me climbing in and out of the tub. They also used a vessel sink in the bathroom because which took up a lot of space on the small vanity. And, I'm on the shorter side - so the tub/shower being high and the height of the vessel sink was just minor irritation.

When I reserved the room - I did so on-line using a third party paying for the room in advance. When we checked in, they charged us more because they said they charge by person, not by room. I would have rated this property four of five, but because of this "surprise" charge, I am only ranking it average.

When we return to Paris, we will keep this property in mind and would feel ok staying here again. But we will look around at other properties in the area for comparisons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherlodec6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    241
    91
    16
    14
See reviews for
80
278
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me by taking me to Paris for my 21st birthday and this was the hotel he chose! With it being a surprise i'm unsure how much it cost in total but when leaving i overheard €600 for 3nights not including breakfast.
Personally for us, we didn't need the breakfast as we got up early and hit the sights, not needing anything til lunch. Breakfast was from 7/7.30-10 and took place on the first floor in the cutest room full of boutique chairs and tables.

The hotel didn't have wifi but a laptop on the first floor was available 24/7 for use. We used it every day without a hitch.

We stayed in room 55, which even had a little balcony overlooking the street. The balcony doors shut out all noise from the street when closed. The bed was comfy and the bathroom had an awesome waterfall shower. The room was small but the perfect size for two people, equipped with a tv and fridge.

The room was decorated blue, with an old fashioned blue pattern running on one wall where the bed was placed as well as on the bed runner and curtains, it was lovely! The most adorable room! Perfect for those with a boutique-y style!

The hotel was situated on rue de rennes, which is not right in the city centre but Paris is huge! It was near 3/4 metro stops, meaning it was a short metro journey to all the main attractions (which are free to those above 16 and below 25 from the EU)

The staff at the hotel were lovely and very helpful. Always pleasant and kindly booked us a taxi to the airport on our ladt day!

I'd reccommend this hotel to all visiting Paris!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Pilgrim122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotels looks fantastiv whe you see it on pictures. Once you see it it irl it is obvios that a lot has been done to look more qualitative than it actually is. Shower wasn't working properly, safety boxes were small and though most rooms are newly reconditioned they feel a bit worn.

Anyway - location is great, breakfast ok, front desk service good and I would probably go back if I got a good offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pisa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a room that smelled of stinky cheese, vomit, and glue. We were told that the smell is due to construction. Because we were traveling with our kids we had to have 2 rooms, both smelled. The front desk staff was very rude about this problem and only offered one of our rooms to be switched. The smell was potent enough to make our luggage & clothing smell like this. I would not recommend staying at this hotel, especially while it is being renovated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anneclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect. Bus and metro stations (Montparnasse-Bienvenü and St-Placide) are within 3 minutes walk and can get you everywhere you want in Paris easily.
The rooms are cleaned every day and the staff is very friendly! The bathroom is spacious and modern, the double bed is comfortable and the a/c is working perfectly. We stayed from the 5th to the 11th of August and we were glad to come into a cold room at night. I recommend 100%!
Would go again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chapelle-Chaussée, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have stayed here twice. Very helpful front desk staff. Very comfortable beds and clean rooms. Breakfast is good. Rooms and front and rear facades are being renovated. Near a metro station and bus stops for the city and yellow-line buses.

Room Tip: Courtyard-side rooms are quieter than street-side rooms, though double glazing and heavy curtains bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The room we stayed in was remodeled recently and very comfortable. The first room we had on the 3rd floor had a scaffolding outside the window. We requested a room on the same floor, but without the scaffolding. This request was granted immediately, and we moved down the hall. We were very satisfied with the service, even though as was mentioned, there appears to only be one person on duty at a time!

The breakfast was out of this world. The best we had in our travels to numerous places around Europe. Both the ambiance and the selection were great.

Highly recommend this place. Also, just around the corner are a number of cafes, with outdoor seating, so one needn't go far to get the real Parisian dining experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
688 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#198 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#134 of 1,802 in Paris
504 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#339 of 1,802 in Paris
561 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#207 of 1,802 in Paris
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Address: 159 rue de Rennes, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#493 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Saint-Germain is perfectly located in the heart of Paris-Left bank between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, a few steps away from Luxembourg garden and the Latin Quarter. Our 44 personalized and comfortable rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a free access WIFI. Our superior rooms were entirely renovated in 2008 to offer you even more charm and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Saint Germain Hotel
Royal Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing