We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, helpful staff, clean bright rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
Ranked #135 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing value, helpful staff, clean bright rooms”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

For 99 euros for a twin room, with breakfast, in Paris, very close to the metro, we expected to be disappointed when we arrived at the Astoria Opera, but we couldn't have been more wrong.

The rooms were not huge, but were bright, clean, with comfy beds and had everything you could need. The lobby was spacious and there were snacks and drinks in the afternoon as well as a buffet breakfast in the morning. The only downside was the thin walls - we could hear our friends talking in the next room, good job we knew them and could tell them to be quiet! Take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper...

The staff were very knowledgeable about the area and attractions, humouring our attempt at French but always polite! They kept our luggage on the day we left, and provided lots of recommendations for restaurants, travel and timings.

Perfect for a weekend break from London with a group of friends, great location just seconds from the Rome metro station, a short walk to Montmatre and its host of bars and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again (or at one of the other Astoria hotels) - their online booking deals are really good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ic060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    384
    51
    4
    3
See reviews for
201
460
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked the hotel via a travel agent as part of a three-city tour. While the accommodations themselves could have been a little "larger" and the location a little better, the staff far exceeded our expectations. They were able to communicate with us in English (which was extremely helpful to these two travelers who have extremely limited French) and provided us with excellent dining recommendations as well as "local tips" for NYE in Paris (where to go, where to avoid, etc.). On the morning we were departing, we had to be up and en route to the air port before their breakfast was scheduled to start. Having discussed this with the concierge the night before, we were pleasantly surprised to fine our own personal breakfast waiting for us that morning. He went far above and beyond to prepare us pastries, coffee and juice a good two hours before any other guests would be stirring. For NYE we were delighted to find complimentary macaroons along with well wishes for the new year in our room. It was such a nice touch and the macaroons were to die for! The service more than makes up for the small rooms, hallways and elevators mentioned by many other reviewers. However, if you don't like small spaces (or bumpy rides) take the stairs :) The hotel is also a little off of the beaten tourist path, located closer to the Monmarte district. It is within very short walking distance to the Rome Metro station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMartin110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Small rooms... v good wifi but no view from room. V good breakfast options. Friendly and caring staff specially at the concierge.
Best part is its absolutely centrally located so its v v easy to find and travel around Paris.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sayantanisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel was very small. I understand we are in Europe but this place was really small, including elevators and hallway. Hold on to the rails when walking up the stairs. The stairs are tilting sideways, some reconstruction needed soon. We liked the towel warmer in the bathroom. Breakfast was good. We stayed here for four days. Wait staff were very caring and friendly. Concierge staff okay. Location was okay, near the Rome Metro so you can get around Paris somewhat decently. However, I was told by a local that this area is near the "prostitutes" so hold on to your husband, ladies. LOL!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and all i cam say that its been marvelous. The receptionist were very helpful and accomodating. Room was top notch and clean. Breakfast was complete and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Guy named tej was very helpful and kind in all matters. We surely recommend a stay here

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beganne, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A last minute trawl through the usual websites resulted in this absolute gem. A great location, 150m from Rome metro (very useful for Montmatre) and 400m from Liege metro (anywhere central and for us direct to Montparnasse and the train home). A quiet street with a clarinet maker a few doors up and a violin maker a few more on the other side and of course a bow maker a few doors down. The reception is smart with clean lines that gives way to an equally smart seating area and access through to the breakfasting room where during the afternoon soft drinks/tea, coffee and snacks are there to help yourself. The staff are very pleasant and calm which by Parisian experiences is a first, unless of course ones paying the price of the George V which we're not. The lift is small but efficient and like everything else here very clean. The staircase is traditional with new wooden boards and a delightfully mad carpet. Our room was at the top on the 5th floor with a small balcony on to the street below, not a big room but again by Parisian standards it was bigger than most and CLEAN. The fittings are modern with a hint of slightly "off the wall" but again all done very nicely. The bathroom had a bath with overhead shower, not the greatest of water pressures but adequate, the toiletries were of a good quality and towels were replaced every day even if we hung them up. Breakfast was of very good quality all buffet style but minded over by a charming and discrete gentleman. Coffee, hot milk, juices, teas, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, croissant, pain/chocolat and a variety of breads including a whole grain pumpernickel type rye bread and baguette, but not your usual cheaper standard moulee, this was "tradition". Who could complain at that? Throw in free wifi throughout the hotel and the ability to leave luggage both before check in and after check out and you have what I would say is one of the best set ups in a hotel pretty much anywhere never mind Paris. And the price? 90 Euro a night for two all in. I understand there are a number of hotels in this portfolio and they are getting equally good reviews, somebody somewhere is doing something right. After many years of hit and miss with hotels in the French capital maybe we have finally found our perfect spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysinbeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just stayed in Astoria Opera. Great hotel, great service, very good location - walking distance to the train station for a trip to Versailles, and one minute to the Rome metro station - easy access anywhere. Perfect service, delicious food. Coffee, tea, juices, and light snacks from 1pm till 7 pm every day. The room was small but very functional. The level of noise was higher than perfect, but this was not a big deal for us. The window overlooked a well with very little natural light, but one of the walls was a pretty picture of Eiffel Tour, so you can't get upset about the lack of light with this nice touch. Modern style - really very stylish and cute. One warning - please do not use AOT Transport shuttle they book. Our experience was horrible. The driver was insisting on taking us to the wrong airport, then appealed to the front desk and they confirmed they ordered Orly for us (which was also on the voucher), but the driver was literally angry and was yelling at us. He did not help us to put luggage in the car and insisted that both of us sit in front next two him in two kids' size seats though the minivan was empty. He drove us somewhere for 15 minutes, then parked his minivan in a obviously unsafe area, locked us in the car without saying a word and left for 20 minutes. We were scared but finally he came back - he was collecting people in other hotels, he just did not bother to say a word to us why he was leaving. Then, he drove us for over an hour around the area collecting people from other hotels. In 55 minutes, we passed our hotel where we started the trip. I told him that we have a plane and we cannot drive around in circles for an hour and need to get in the airport, so he started shouting at us and wanted us to get out of the shuttle and get a cab. I said that I will but I want my money back. Of course, he was not interested in this option. Horrible experience. I've taken shuttles a few times without issues, normally it takes 15-30 minutes to collect everyone, but never such an awful experience with a rude agitated driver who does not know which airport we requested.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that overlooks breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#109 of 1,801 in Paris
790 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#112 of 1,801 in Paris
1,282 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#56 of 1,801 in Paris
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#98 of 1,801 in Paris
620 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#175 of 1,801 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
#145 of 1,801 in Paris
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria - Astotel

Property: Hotel Astoria - Astotel
Address: 42 Rue de Moscou | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a quiet street between Opera and major department stores , a short walk from the Gare Saint Lazare, close to Rome station, the Astoria Opera Hotel sits in a central location with direct access to the Champs Elysees - within 10 minutes via Metro, or to the picturesque neighborhood of Montmartre. Our professional and caring staff will welcome you in our cozy lobby, fitted with comfortable leather sofas. Our 86 rooms are decorated with warm colours and contemporary furnishings. They are all carpeted, equipped with satellite TV and feature a private bathroom with hairdryer. This welcoming and cozy atmosphere is intended to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Astotel Hotels Group, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing