We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been a great hotel, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Ranked #230 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would have been a great hotel, but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thing I liked the most about this hotel is the location - it's very central, only a couple of minutes to go to the Opera and the Roissy bus that will take you directly to CDG airport. At the same time it's located on a smaller street that is away from the main traffic, so it's protected from the noise.
Another thing I liked is the room size - the room we got was really spacious, what is unusual for French hotels.
I would guess this is not a permanent issue, but when we got to the hotel we discovered that there was no cold water. It suited us too bad as we were craving for a shower after the flight and the stroll in the summer-hot streets of Paris. The issue got fixed in a couple of hours though, but next day it repeated again and it looked like this time they got a more serious problem as water started leaking from the ceiling in the reception hall, and cold water supply got cut off once again, but they fixed it again by the evening. I understand that this must have been a force majeure situation and it got fixed in some time, but I would expect the personnel to cope with this in a more customer-oriented way (e.g. offer some kind of bonus/extra service/discount for that matter). After all, one does expect to get a basic service of being able to have a shower and go to the toilet at a hotel you pay for, and if something like this occurs, it should be handled better.
What I didn't like or what left a really weird impression on me was the hallways. Once you get out of the elevator you get in the world of darkness. The hallways were hardly lit up, and the dark animalish wallpaper added up to the lack of light. I was left wondering - are they saving up money on electricity or what? Speaking about the elevator, it was making so harsh noises when the doors were getting closed that it disturbed us from sleeping in the night (not speaking about us scared to death when getting out of the elevator the first time). Also, they had actually only one elevator, and it could bear only two people.
The breakfast was OK, but selection could have been better. Didn't like that one needed to wait quite long to get served a coffee (would be better if there was a coffee-vending machine or sth like that) and the refill of the omelette bowl (was too small for the amount of customers). Appreciated fresh juices though.
All in all the hotel is OK, but a bit overpriced, and the nuances above did spoil the visit to a certain degree, so I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nordgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    398
    97
    27
    24
See reviews for
204
355
72
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location is extremely great, few minutes walk to the shopping zone, underground, bus station. Lots of restaurants around. The deluxe room was nice and spacious but a bit overpriced. The Bathroom could have been better than this, I didn't like it. The items on the breakfast buffet could have been better as well.

Room Tip: Superior an deluxe are good but a bit overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_R_Shafie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've been a lot of times to Paris and this hotel is the best one I've checked into. The rooms are clean and comfortable with sleek decor. The staff is friendly and very helpful. And the location is really great: center of the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent, convenient location saved us lots of money on transportation!!!! We easily walked to Opera Garnier, Grands Magasins, Place Vendôme and rue de la Paix. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable, and the breakfast was varied and delicious: hot eggs and meat, variety of fresh breads (light, crusty croissants), cheese plate, fresh fruits, freshly squeezed fruit juices, and freshly brewed, rich coffee served with hot milk. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and well informed about the sights and transportation. For extra convenience, they have a shuttle service to the airports.

Across the street from the hotel is a good, reasonably priced Italian restaurant. There are also grocery stores nearby where you can purchase inexpensive French wines and champagne. A variety of ethnic restaurants are available within a two-block radius. My advice is to avoid the cafes on the big streets (such as the one on Boulevarde des Capucines & Rue Caumartin where I paid ridiculous prices for average food and cold coffee, which our waiter “warmed” with hot water!) and frequent the smaller cafes that have better prices and service.

Whether your trip is for business, pleasure, or both, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katelalouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here en famille for three nights here. Our deluxe room at the front of the hotel was large by any standards, let alone Paris. The bed was huge and the bathroom had twin wash basins and a separate lavatory. In spite of facing the street there was no noise thanks to efficient double windows. The family was the same size as ours with two single beds where we had a couch and coffee table. Room for them all to sleep but rather squashed as far as luggage and cupboard space was concerned. Also, their bathroom was slightly smaller than ours.
The staff could not have been more helpful and definitely went the extra mile, even trying to get us some recompense for a rip-off taxi ride from the Gare de Nord. (Other travellers beware of limousine companies harrying you into one of their vehicles rather than using the proper taxi firms. They will charge you two to three times the normal fare)
The hotel is well positioned for sightseeing and close to a number of excellent value places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and were very disappointed. The service was appalling although there were some good helpful staff others were extremely unhelpful and should not be in reception. We asked for a cot for our 1 year we were advised that they didn't have cots and were hung up on! When we asked for some assistance with a trolley for our luggage we were told we couldn't get one and got no assistance when the lift didn't work and had to drag our bags up 5 flights of stairs!! My husband has a bad back and as i result i was stuck with this task without any assistance. When we asked for two umbrellas for 4 pax we were told no we were only entitled to one!! When we asked for room service for our children although we received it the previous night we were advised the second night that we couldn't get it. The breakfast was ok but the buffet was not refilled as good as it should have been with the hotel peak breakfast time. All in all not pleasant and I would not recommend to anyone to stay here. It's a shame as we have stayed in Paris at allot of hotels but this was really an unpleasant experience. The only good thing was the location of the hotel very central.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Situated in the heart of Paris, it is beautiful, clean and the staff are fantastic and so willing to help wherever they can. Close to all the site seeing adventures of Paris, to the metro, easy taxi access and lots of restaurants, patisseries or little cafe's and a supermarket. You couldn't ask for better. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisO21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_manager_astra, Manager at Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Astra Opera Hotel and for taking time to share your comments with us.

It is a real pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. Kindly be assured that we will pass on your nice comments to all our staff.

We will be delighted to welcome you again at the Astra Opera Hotel for your next visit.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#228 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#119 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#13 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#169 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#152 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Property: Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Address: 29 rue de Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astra is in the 9th arrondissement, just minutes from the Opera Garnier, the Grands Boulevards district, Place Vendome and rue de la Paix. Ideally located close to the city's business centre, our 4-star hotel is close to many entertainment options thanks to its location in the heart of the theatre district, close to the departmet stores, a great location in the City of Lights. You can also get to Disneyland Paris easily. You will be welcomed by our warm and friendly team and be charmed by our 82 rooms with refined and contemporary decor in soft colours and natural wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing