We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Ranked #223 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business trip”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a really good hotel! Friendly staff, good location and nice clean comfortable rooms! The mattress was firm and pillows large and soft! Good powerful shower! I was here on business but actually it's a good location for checking out the sites! Do not eat across the road at Firenze!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P1ercey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    418
    101
    28
    24
See reviews for
226
373
75
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in perhaps 17 hotels in 20 days different cities including also another in Paris. This was the best. I even got a free upgrade on arrival. Thank u so much. Comfortable beds. Clean room and bathrooms. Quiet. Excellent caring service. Thank u Alilou!. Taxi was arranged when shuttle booking not possible for airport. Open refreshments bar. Central location- gourmet eat or shop to hearts content. I almost want it kept as a secret so I can afford it continue to afford it next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_manager_astra, Gérant at Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at the Astra Opera hotel.

Our staff has been very sensitive to your comments. Be sure it is always a pleasure for us to provide guests with the service they expect but it is even more rewarding to know it has been appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Paris very soon and please feel free to contact us directly for your next trip, we will ensure to meet your expectations once again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The best thing about Astra Opera is its location - its just minutes away from Printemps (just up Rue Caumartin) and Galeries Lafayette. It is also very close by the Opera House. Its very location also allows it great connectivity with the metro and RER (both with major interchanges of St. Lazare and Chatelet not far away).

Now, I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, as Paris was warming up significantly in the past week. I was allocated a room on the 5th floor. It faced the inner courtyard, so it was quiet. To me, the room was very small (standing space between the bed and the wall), and the same with the bathroom (which was also very small - impossible to move from the shower area/tub to toilet bowl if the bathroom door is left open). And like other older Paris hotels, there is no air-conditioning or air-conditioning will only turn on from May until autumn (my case is the latter case). So with Paris warming up a lot, this made the room a little hot and stuffy. Not comfortable in my opinion.

The other positives of this hotel were its very friendly and helpful staff at the reception, free wifi and the free breakfast and bar drinks (from 1pm-9pm).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SipsTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

we travel through Paris fairly frequently, and can't believe we haven't stayed at this hotel before. The location is fantastic, you can walk to so many places from here, one of the main shopping areas is minutes away too, There are lots of small cafes and restaurants close by. We booked directly with the hotel and got a better rate than those offered by some of the main companies like expedia and booking.com
We arrived at St Lazare train station, en route to Charles de Gaulle airport. The hotel is minutes away from the station, and the stop for the Roissybus is literally a 2 minute walk around the corner from the hotel. Check in was quick and efficient, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was the lift to the room. Very small and difficult to fit in 2 people with luggage. Our room was massive, especially for a Paris hotel. We had a lovely area with couches, large bed, nice size bathroom. Although we were facing onto the main road, with the windows shut, there was no noise. It really was a very pleasant surprise. Nice touch is the selection of free drinks and snacks just off the main lobby from 3 pm - 9 pm. Well stocked when we went in around 4 pm but very little left around 8.30. Nice selection for breakfast, no problems finding a table to sit and eat. Hotel was clean throughout from what we could see, and the staff really pleasant and helpful. This will definitely be our first choice in Paris from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_manager_astra, Gérant at Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your pleasant review following your recent visit to the Astra Opera hotel.

We were delighted to receive such a kind feedback about our staff and the quality of your stay in general. We shall ensure that your kind praise and thanks are passed on to the staff and that their service is duly recognized. Moreover, we are pleased to help our guest to book at the best rate by calling directly our reservation department.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Astra Opera hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are in paris to explore thing this hotel have the ultimate location. You can walk to most of the attractions and if you need the metro it´s in minutes.
This hotel also offers a great breakfast buffé and this is not easy to find in paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marting_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I had an amazing stay in Paris due to the location of this hotel.
Rooms were spacious and reception & concierge were helpful.
Abit hArd to find a taxi around but u can always ask in advance for one.
Nice small cafe's directly Around u not to mention the huge number of cafe's just as soon as u leave the street .. Close to shopping areas and nice breakfast places.

Def a place to stay at.
Thank u :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbehbehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location on a small side street. The rooms are pretty basic but mine was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good for a Paris hotel of this standard (though if I was here on holiday I'd be finding a nice cafe). Internet access was good. Staff at front desk are very pleasant and smiley. Coffee and soft drinks are available free of charge in reception area which is a nice touch. Air conditioning is not in operation in winter months and even with radiators turned off it was very warm. I was fortunate that my room faced into an internal courtyard and was very quiet so I could leave a window open. Colleagues who had street views said it was far too noisy to do this. I would be happy to stay here again, requesting an off street room but would not particularly recommend it for a special romantic weekend

Room Tip: ask for a room facing internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#214 of 1,800 in Paris
940 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#122 of 1,800 in Paris
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#15 of 1,800 in Paris
288 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#475 of 1,800 in Paris
466 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#171 of 1,800 in Paris
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Property: Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Address: 29 rue de Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astra is in the 9th arrondissement, just minutes from the Opera Garnier, the Grands Boulevards district, Place Vendome and rue de la Paix. Ideally located close to the city's business centre, our 4-star hotel is close to many entertainment options thanks to its location in the heart of the theatre district, close to the departmet stores, a great location in the City of Lights. You can also get to Disneyland Paris easily. You will be welcomed by our warm and friendly team and be charmed by our 82 rooms with refined and contemporary decor in soft colours and natural wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Astotel Hotels Group, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing