We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a mouse!!!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Ranked #222 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There's a mouse!!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We decided to go on a holiday for a week over the Christmas holiday. The Astra Opera hotel was located in a very busy area and on a side road which was awkward to find.

Staff at the reception througouht the whole stay were very helpful.

The room was okay. However, toilet was in a seperate place to the bathroom, which was quite inconvinient.

As we got into the hotel room, there was blood on the bed sheets which was disgusting.

The air conditioning/heater panel was not working. Which led to us having to keep the balcony windows open all night. We could hear the bin men picking up the glass bottles all night, every night which was VERY DISTURBING AND ANNOYING. Even on Christmas night they were out collecting the bins.

We then had the bigest SHOCK of our lives as we were just about to leave our room for breakfast. A mouse was running towards our room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! >.< That put us off the breakfast so we didn't even think about eating at the hotel.

We felt that the place was very unhygienic and disgusting throughout the stay.

Would NEVER recommend it to anyone!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Waheeda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_manager_astra, Directeur général at Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to leave a review following your stay at the hotel Astra Opera and your feedback is very valuable as it helps us to improve the quality of the service we provide.

First of all allow me to say that we are glad to read that the staff at the reception delivered a service that matched your expectations.

Then for the problem you have reported about the room, we asked the house-keeping team to increase their vigilance on those matters when they made their daily checking of the rooms. Moreover the heating system was working but in our hotel, the control panel for the heating is
independent from the air conditioning so we understand that it might be confusing. The reception would have been pleased to explain it to you or to send the technician to show you how it works.
For the problem with the mouse, you are the first guest who reported such a problem to us. Be sure that we are very attentive to this matter and as soon as we discovered if it was an isolated incident or not we will take all necessary action to settle this out.

We truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and feel free to contact us directly so we can arrange for you the best accommodation that matches your expectations. Be sure that it is not revealing of our usual standards of quality

Please receive our best regards.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    390
    95
    27
    24
See reviews for
198
346
70
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Its realy nice hotel when you compare with price and quality. Especialy reception emplyee is helping and they are smiling every time. Hotel place is closer to şanzalize and lafayette. Enjoy your time in this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kaan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great Location! Roissy Bus stop(shuttle from CDG airport), Metro, RER A (Disney) all within a 5 minute walk! Very spacious room. We stayed with our two daughters 8 and 10 years old. The main bed was huge - could have really slept all four of us. I think is was two queens pushed together. The sofa then turned into a twin bed and an additional twin bed was brought in. We turned one twin bed and put it against the window and then had room in middle to move around!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnMM804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our family (my boyfriend, our 3 years old son and I) really enjoyed our stay in Astra Opera Hotel. Room was really clean with pleasant décor and comfortable bed (it was massive - look like two double beds were pushed together). Staff at reception was really polite and helpful with most of them speak good enough English. Location was also prefect - metro station is 5 min walk, plenty of cafes and restaurants around. Overall we were happy with our hotel and will stay there again if we to visit Paris again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I wanted a central location, close to the main sights as I was travelling to Paris for the weekend with my sister and 2 nieces. I must say the location did not disappoint. The Champs Elysees was a 10 min walk from the hotel. We took the L'Open Tour bus ticket and the office for this was close to the Madeliene Church. There are good restaurants close by and the small coffee shop on the street had excellent coffee and pastries, much better value and taste compared to the cafe around the corner. The room in the hotel was large and spacious. The loo was small and separate but adequate. The bathroom was clean and well maintained. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and overall we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barreiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
155 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was sent to this hotel following a disastrous situation faced at another hotel of the same group where an (alleged) IT problem disrupted the reservations made and paid in advance and they got me a room at this one.
The only problem was that this hotel's location was worse in my particular case for business reasons, but it's quite close to the Opera and Place Vendôme, with big department stores at Blvd Haussmann just a stone's throw away.
The room was not spacious as usually happens in Paris or London, but the bed was quite comfortable for a few hours' sleep (I was there at a very busy time and had to work). Breakfast was of good quality served in an interesting room with efficient service.
On the positive side, wi-fi access was included in the rate, however a bit slow when visiting streaming websites. Decoration was sober, however corridors could have better lighting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1-night while I was on a transit to London.

The room was definitely big enough and the bed amazingly comfortable.
And I noticed that the receptionnist was very welcoming to me and I do like the cosy decoration of the lobby.

I did not have the opportunity to try the breakfast.

I definitely recommend this hotel if you want to spend some time in the center of Paris or if you are in transit as it is a very convenient venue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#224 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#131 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#17 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#159 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#110 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Property: Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Address: 29 rue de Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astra is in the 9th arrondissement, just minutes from the Opera Garnier, the Grands Boulevards district, Place Vendome and rue de la Paix. Ideally located close to the city's business centre, our 4-star hotel is close to many entertainment options thanks to its location in the heart of the theatre district, close to the departmet stores, a great location in the City of Lights. You can also get to Disneyland Paris easily. You will be welcomed by our warm and friendly team and be charmed by our 82 rooms with refined and contemporary decor in soft colours and natural wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing