We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Ranked #249 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was sent to this hotel following a disastrous situation faced at another hotel of the same group where an (alleged) IT problem disrupted the reservations made and paid in advance and they got me a room at this one.
The only problem was that this hotel's location was worse in my particular case for business reasons, but it's quite close to the Opera and Place Vendôme, with big department stores at Blvd Haussmann just a stone's throw away.
The room was not spacious as usually happens in Paris or London, but the bed was quite comfortable for a few hours' sleep (I was there at a very busy time and had to work). Breakfast was of good quality served in an interesting room with efficient service.
On the positive side, wi-fi access was included in the rate, however a bit slow when visiting streaming websites. Decoration was sober, however corridors could have better lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1-night while I was on a transit to London.

The room was definitely big enough and the bed amazingly comfortable.
And I noticed that the receptionnist was very welcoming to me and I do like the cosy decoration of the lobby.

I did not have the opportunity to try the breakfast.

I definitely recommend this hotel if you want to spend some time in the center of Paris or if you are in transit as it is a very convenient venue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the location which is ideal for a short visit to the City. The hotel is on a quiet street close to many attractions and ideal for shopping, being within a few minutes walk from Printemps and Lafayettes. The hotel itself is lovely and clean throughout although the rooms we had on the 1st floor were very small with very little wardrobe/storage space. The staff at the hotel were not particulary friendly and did not provide any information about the hotel or the surrounding area.

On the first day of our visit there was no hot water available so we were unable to have showers in the morning and spent most of the day returning to check whether it was yet possible to wash -We have yet to receive any explanation or apology for this! VERY POOR CUSTOMER RELATIONS - On the plus side, we did discover during one of our return visits during the day that complimentary snacks and refreshments were available each day between 3 and 7 pm (It would have been nice if we had been advised of this when checking in !)

On equiring about breakfast at the hotel we were advised the cost was 18 euros each (although advertised at 15 euros) This seemed a particulary high price for a hotel breakfast and we chose to breakfast out instead. The Moulin Rouge cafe across the road serve a perfectly acceptable breakfast at 9 or 10 euros. Having said all this we did all really enjoy our stay in Paris and the weather was fabulous. A highlight of the trip was visiting the Eiffel Tower at night time when on the hour the tower is lit up with sparkling lights - A beautiful sight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a 4 person room for week. Although we were a little cramped we managed. The room although old was tidy but a had funky smell as you entered. Don't ask for room 100. Th bathroom was remodeled and had a half bath which was clever. Breakfast was very fresh with high quality foods. The staff was very polite and professional. Always willing to take out a map and give directions. Wifi didn't not support streaming video on my ipad, but at least it worked. You have to get an activation code every 24 hours. There is also a pc where you can print your boarding passes for a nominal fee. The location is fantastic. not only are many subway(american) routes nearby but the train to Disneyland is a two minute walk. The Louvre is a do-able walk but I recommend the subway because you need to rest your legs. The safe neighborhood is full of shops,grocery store 5 doors to the north and cafes. This is not a four star hotel but is perfect for a simple Paris holiday.

Room Tip: Room 100 had funky smell when you entered but it was on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a quick 24hr trip to Paris to go to a show at the Olympia Hall. The hotel is just around the corner. The reception are and lounge is huge and spacious and they have a bar. The breakfast room looked amazing but we had an early train back so could not have breakfast. From 3pm in the afternoon they put free drinks and snacks out which is very welcome. It was boiling in Paris but the aircon worked everywhere in the hotel. Lift was small but worked. The room was new and small but not too small compared to Paris standards. There was a fridge, safe, a little sliding door which you could open for some fresh air. So no complaints at all. I asked for an iron and it was delivered immediately.
Check out was perfect as well. The hotel is close to a lot of shops and just around the corner from the Opera house. Safe area. Lovely little restaurants in front of the hotel. Would recommend it and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing to the middle of the hotel and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanitaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hi ,

I was in this hotel last week and we had an amazing time !!!!!! the reception is fantastic.
The room is great and the decoration is elegant , very spacious and clean , very comfortable and the service exceptional .
the situation is stunning just in the center , easy.......
I will go back for sure , a wonderful direction to go ! don t miss it !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corchia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Beatrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#228 of 1,809 in Paris
1,026 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#165 of 1,809 in Paris
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#23 of 1,809 in Paris
574 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#236 of 1,809 in Paris
572 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#36 of 1,809 in Paris
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel

Address: 29 rue de Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astra is in the 9th arrondissement, just minutes from the Opera Garnier, the Grands Boulevards district, Place Vendome and rue de la Paix. Ideally located close to the city's business centre, our 4-star hotel is close to many entertainment options thanks to its location in the heart of the theatre district, close to the departmet stores, a great location in the City of Lights. You can also get to Disneyland Paris easily. You will be welcomed by our warm and friendly team and be charmed by our 82 rooms with refined and contemporary decor in soft colours and natural wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Astotel Hotels Group, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing