We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice little hotel in a great area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Ranked #1,029 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in a great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is small, but has everything you need when you are on a long-weekend in Paris. It has great location. There are a few good restaurants literally around the corner from the place. The stuff was very helpfull. The room we had was clean and quiet.
The only thing we wouldn't recommend is the breakfast where the selection was quite poor and the price was 14 euro per person. 25 metres down the street (on the Place de la Sorbonne) one gets much better breakfast for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking time in writing a review and for your kind coments.
You can be sure we will do our best for a breakfast improvment.
We will be very pleased in welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    141
    36
    11
    16
See reviews for
56
171
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg is an excellent mid priced hotel in Paris. Our bathroom had been renovated with a huge shower, excellent water pressure and lots of room. The bed is comfortable, bedroom not big but adequate. Right next door at 8 Rue du Vaugirard is an excellent restaurant. There is a laundromat around the corner and a fruit shop to get your own breakfast. 14 euro seems a bit steep for bread, cheese and cold meats.
Reception staff speak English and are very helpful and will make tour bookings for you at a charge of around 10 euro commission per person.
I notice that other reviewers said it was noisy but we have no complaints from our room on 4th floor.
I would recommend it as a good spot to stay in Paris. There are also lovely gardens close by at the Palais du Luxembourg and heaps of casual eating places of many different ethnic groups.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 825Judyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
We thank you for your kind message regarding your stay with us. Would you be kind enough for mailing us more informations about the tour reservation cost you mentioned. There is no cost for booking tours, restaurants or for any help we may provide to ours visitors (The charge you mentioned may be a deposit for securing a booking the provider asks for and must be deducted from the final invoice he provides).
Buffet breakfast for 14 euros may seem expensive for the person just having coffee and croissant but convenient for starting a good by with a decent meal, (it offers different jams, honey, yogourt, cheese, fresh fruit salad, fresh fruit juices, applesauce, Actimel, prunes, several "viennoiseries" and breads, hard or soft boiled eggs, 3 different cold meat and different butters).
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleased in welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had made a reservation (through booking.com) for four nights starting May 29th in this hotel. The pricelist was EUR 280 a night for a so called "Chambre Double Supérieure" [double superior bedroom].

I had specifically asked for a quiet room. The official Web site of the hotel was describing the rooms as "soundproof". When I showed up, I was provided with a room located at the second floor right above Rue de Vaugirard (quite a noisy street). The windows were obsolete with no double glaze and even less soundproofing. The excuse: 1) they did not pay attention to my specific request for a quiet room; 2) The building dates back to the XVIIth century and they are forbidden to install double-glazed windows.

They could not provide me with an alternative choice. I quit and was lucky enough to find another hotel in the neighborhood. They insisted on charging me the first night and they did. BTW booking.com was of no real help and, eventually, sent me a copy of their disclaimer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your reservation from May 29th for 4 nights.
Making your reservation on booking.com you noted “I would appreciate a room quiet, away from street and lift”. Even if such a note expresses wishes and there is no obligation it is highly important for us and we always do our best to satisfy such requests, we hopefully do succeed in most cases. On May 29th we booked for you room 306 (on 3rd floor) away from the lift, on street side as there was no courtyard side room available on that day.
On your arrival you immediately decided the room would not be convenient and you decided to cancel your stay despite our colleague proposed to move on a courtyard room the day after and you declined his offer to assist you in looking for an alternative hotel. You did find by yourself a street view room in a close by hotel. For information, our rooms are in fact soundproofed with double-glazing on wooden windows , our 17th century building does not permit PVC structures.
We apologize for the inconvenience and wish you’ll give us on a future trip to Paris the opportunity in providing the level of service you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Upon arrival by rail for a 2 night stay, we were given a wifi code, which we desperately needed since our US AT & T service forgot to turn on our international service. We received an emergency message to call home and discovered my husband's father had passed away.

The front desk person on staff, Jean Baptiste, was extremely compassionate and professional in assisting us in helping with anything we asked for, including making calls for early morning taxi pick up and trying to get us a quick dinner reservation.

Our time in Paris was short lived, only 14 hours...but we were so glad that our night was spent here as the rooms were clean, decorated well, comfortable and the staff we encountered were very kind. We hope we get a chance to return next year as 14 hours is far too fast of a visit to Paris!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tclearyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your kind message and we look forward to welcoming you soon in better circumtances.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A small, charming hotel, centrally located, about a 1/2 mile walk to the Seine. We're staying in the one wheelchair accessible room, No. 001, located on the ground floor just opposite the reception desk. The room is a little dark, but it has an electric skylight, which provides nice ventilation. No air conditioning running in May, which was a little off putting at first, but generally it is very pleasant without it. Hope we don't get one of those odd days when it gets to 80. There is no restaurant, but room service is available. For breakfast there is a small, bright stone room in the basement. The staff is very friendly, especially the night man who automatically switches to Paris tour guy mode and guided us to the little (really little) interior courtyard for after dinner cigars. One block our our door to the Luxembourg Gardens. Also highly reccomend the Restaurant Perraudin at the corner accross from the gardens. Cheers, Al

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking time in posting a comment regarding your stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you once more !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our second stay in the hotel - so good the first time we were happy to return. Decent room, comfortable large bed, and very accommodating with travel cot for the baby. Room isn't huge but am sure it's large by Paris standards! We were able to walk to many places and the metro station wasn't far either. It's great being so close to the Gardens too.

The only downside was the tiny lift - we had a baby buggy which wouldn't fit in there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlucky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in April 2013 and was very happy with it. Its right next to the Jardin du Luxembourg and conveniently close to St. Michels (for shopping) and the Odeon metro stop (to get around town). There is also a velib (public bike system) right near the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating (we checked in early and checked out late) and would definitely recommend this place to friends. The room was a little on the small side but the bed was comfortable and the price was difficult to beat for the 6th arrondisement.

Room Tip: The street view is quite charming and highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_Travel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your review and your kind coment. We will be very pleased in welcoming you again in Les Fontaines.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#351 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#133 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#390 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#628 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#863 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
#998 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#452 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#500 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing