We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel At Gare du Nord
Ranked #1,658 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I already was TimHotel Paris Montparnasse, then i thought the TimHotel Gare du Nord may be good. Oh oh, I felt in error... The place is no so good because the noise opf the trains every hour, day or night. The region is ugly, but there are good restaurants, mini e supermarkets around the hotel. It is very good.
The wifi in the rooms not work. It is necessary go to reception to connection. Very, very warmth this room ... i ran far away every night.
The walls, curtains and carpets need a good maintenance... Very old.
When I took a shower, the water flown thru a role used as a knob to open and close the door box.
It's so bad.
I'm no recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilmar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Sir / Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Again thank you for your comments and hope to convince you, at the next visit, the inconvenience you have known were isolated incidents.

Looking forward to welcome you shortly at Timhotel, please accept, Madam / Sir, our warmest greetings.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Hotel At Gare du Nord
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 578 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you are aiming for the big luxurious room with the hightec bathroom this is not the hotel for you, but if you are aiming for at place to crash after a day in Paris it is worth the price, but if you are XXL size you will not fit the shower. Breakfast is as so many places in large cites, you get feed. During our visit the temperature were 27-29°C and the hotel doesn't have AC so the room were pretty hot to stay in. The staff is friendly and there are Wifi that works OK. Only really annoying thing were that there were only 1 quilt many are used to 2. But that said we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carsten Damgaar... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Madam, Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights. Wasn't looking for luxury to begin with as Paris is meant to be seen outside. Now I can't compare with other hotels in Paris, but I can compare with other hotels I have stayed in so I can definitely know what I am talking about if all you need is just a bed and breakfast.

Reached the hotel around 12pm on first day, they allowed me to keep my luggage while I take a quick look around. Came back around 1.30pm and saw other people checking in and getting their keys but apparently mine wasn't ready yet. Came back at 2pm and this time room was ready however the room that I had booked was a double-bed room and they only had twin-bed (side by side to look like a double bed) left. I had to say ok as after a long flight, I just wanted to rest. Advise to hotel: Please review your room booking system. I expect the room I booked, not the want you choose to give.

Room was clean. Toilets were not that small as other reviewers had said and were pretty okay for me. (Probably because in Singapore, most people live in a HDB Flat and the toilets are wickedly small). No bathtub sadly. Beds were quite okay, with additional pillows available in room and a really large blanket. 2 towels as well and some hand-soap. Please remember to bring your own body wash as none is provided.

Breakfast was not too bad, however, the same food is served daily with only 1 or 2 changes so you may get sick of it. (Didn't eat the last 2 days, I stayed) It usually comprises of a chocolate croissant, baguette (with cutting materials), additional type of bread, ham, cereal (Cornflakes & Koko Crunch). Tea/Coffee/Juice. Bread jam and butter as well.

Staff can speak English so non-french speakers are definitely felt welcome.

Hotel provides a transport from hotel to Airport which you can consider for the day you are leaving. Price starts at 18 Euro per person. The staff will book it for you, you just have to give them at least 24 hours notice and pickup time must be at least 3 hours before flight time.

All in all, if you're just looking for a place to sleep at night, this is good enough. If you're looking for quality, look for something else.

P.S. For those who are staying here and are taking the RER (B) into Paris from Airport, when you get down at Gare du Nord, follow the signs to the RER (E) Metro system at Gare du Nord. When you are in the RER (E) area. Take the exit at the top (there's both a lift and stairs). When you come out on top, turn left and you can see the hotel straight ahead. (Unless some vehicle is blocking of course.)

Room Tip: Stayed at Room 202. Was able to receive WiFi and didn't hear much train noises when window was c...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JagguSidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Madam, Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

First the redeeming feature...the hotel is a short walk from the Gare du Nord station in Paris which takes to easily to all parts of Paris. But that walk can be a scary one as the hotel is situated in a pretty shady part of the town. The single room that I was originally checked into was really tiny and was forced to cough up 100 euros extra for a slightly bigger double room. The room might have been bigger but the bathroom was still tiny with hardly any room to maneuver in the shower. Then after reading the reviews had originally asked for a room looking up to the patio but it was just so depressing and gloomy. The lift wasn't working but the receptionist on the desk who checked us in was too rude to even admit it! The buffet breakfast spread and for the amount I eventually ended up paying I'll definitely expect a lot more.

Room Tip: The rooms in front of the hotel might be a bit noisy but they are far less gloomy!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dasdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Sir / Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Again thank you for your comments and hope to convince you, at the next visit, the inconvenience you have known were isolated incidents.

Looking forward to welcome you shortly at Timhotel, please accept, Madam / Sir, our warmest greetings.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel gives you just what you need, a clean bed, a clean bathroom, a basic but nice breakfast. It is near to the train station so a good location. The staff were very helpful with all our silly tourist questions. There is just one problem, because it is so near to the station, the roads were a bit dirty and smelled terribly of urine, it was quite stomach turning, but this is not the hotels fault, the city needs to clean the streets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Propriétaire at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Madam, Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We recenty booked a double room for a couple of nights (room 209), and we could not fault the room or the general stay! We only needed a place to sleep after exploring the city, and in our opinion this is an ideal hotel to do this - very affordable, polite and helpful staff, a clean room and en suite bathroom and a secure room to leave your luggage on your departure day (free of charge). The only very minor criticism is that the shower was a bit small, but this is something that can be overlooked and not much of a problem anyway. Yes, it is close to the train station but the room had double glazed windows and cancelled out much of the sound when closed properly.
We cannot comment on the quality of food as we did not have breakfast at the hotel, but the dining area looked extremely clean. There are many restaurants nearby.
Overall, the hotel is ideal for a weekend stay for a couple and I would definitely recommend it and will be staying here again next time we visit Paris!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Madam, Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here for a single night on a long layover at CDG so I could eat at a restaurant nearby. The restaurant was fabulous (Vivant Table), but the hotel was merely a bed to sleep in in a building with functioning plumbing and doors that locked. The hotel wasn't bad, it just wasn't remotely nice or enjoyable either. I wouldn't stay here again unless I was really on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Sir / Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Again thank you for your comments and hope to convince you, at the next visit, the inconvenience you have known were isolated incidents.

Looking forward to welcome you shortly at Timhotel, please accept, Madam / Sir, our warmest greetings.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,589 of 1,804 in Paris
598 reviews
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,311 of 1,804 in Paris
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Altona
#1,500 of 1,804 in Paris
695 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,618 of 1,804 in Paris
370 reviews
Faubourg 216 - 224
#1,442 of 1,804 in Paris
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel At Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At Gare du Nord

Address: 10 rue Philippe de Girard, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Timhotel Gare Du Nord)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,658 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $70 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At Gare du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est; this hotel has an internal garden and a bi-lingual staff; near museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel At Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Hotel Paris
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing