We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total disapoinment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel At Gare du Nord
Ranked #1,651 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“total disapoinment”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

-- hard to find, hotel located behind gare du nord station.
-- receptionist not welcome, quite rude with children... we traveled with couple families, the children tend to forgot room cards inside the room, they yelled to the children only because this tiny problem..
-- maid CAN NOT SPEAK ENGLISH.. we checked out a little later, and the maid came to clean the room, we were trying to explain to her, but she CAN NOT UNDERSTAND us!! and she was quite persistent!!
-- room & bathroom very small, bathroom only has a shower..
-- pretty EXPENSIVE for the room that we stayed in.. TV Channel only in France, NO water boiler in the room, room is very basic..

is not recommended at all, would definitely avoid this hotel if I come by to France again..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Sir / Madam,

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Again thank you for your comments and hope to convince you, at the next visit, the inconvenience you have known were isolated incidents.

Looking forward to welcome you shortly at Timhotel, please accept, Madam / Sir, our warmest greetings.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    122
    169
    100
    124
See reviews for
72
204
67
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

spent two nights in this hotel and that was enough ,it was so small you had to squeeze past each other at the bottom of the bed it was a double bedroom but two beds pushed together , i'll call it a bath room but two of you could'nt be in it at the same time (not comfortably anyway)it was so small nowhere to put your toiletries except either side of the sink taps or on top of the toilet systen.the shower itself was a joke it was diddy i kept knocking the shower head of the wall no bath , gave up in the end and just washed at the sink.the beds were comfy enough but at the end of the day i was so tired i would have slept anywhere. no room for a soft chair to sit on just the bed . no tea or coffee facilities in the room that's the first thing i want after travelling all day not to have to go out and get a drink.i also like a fool thought breakfast would be included in the package but were told no it would cost 13 euros each thats alot for a bowl of cornflakes and a coffee needless to say we went without and had coffee elswhere . also where our room was you had to go out of the main reception into a little court yard into a annexe type place where i think there were a couple of more rooms but not quite sure what they were , all i can remember of the little coridoor we had to walk down was the smell , to me it was like wet feisty old carpet, as too did the drains in our toilet. the hotel itself is not in a very nice positoin but is near to the station to make a quick exit .all in all although the desk staff were pleasant i wouldn't ever go back to this hotel ,

Room Tip: i wouldn't stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Sir / Madam,

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Again thank you for your comments and hope to convince you, at the next visit, the inconvenience you have known were isolated incidents.

Looking forward to welcome you shortly at Timhotel, please accept, Madam / Sir, our warmest greetings.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

when me and my boyfriend stayed here for four nights, we were surprised at the size of the room. we expected the hotel to be very minimal, but did not realise to what extent. Our bathroom was also extremely small and we had to keep the door shut at all times as the smell coming from the toilet was very offensive. Breakfast is also minimal, so if you are expecting a variety, dont hold your breath. however a good location, friendly staff, and if you are just interested in sight seeing rather than lazy mornings in bed then this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: be conscious of which district hotels are located in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camilla_mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Responsable réception at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Paris is an expensive city and we got a great price at this hotel through Priceline. The staff bent over backwards to overcome the deficits: we got moved from a tiny noisy room to one that was merely small and we got additional flimsy pillows to provide more head support and the front desk loaned us a hairdryer. Bathroom snug with mediocre towel quality and no amenities that North American hotels include. However, that's what you get for a low price, and this is not North America ! Very good location w.r.t. two train stations plus bus and subway lines. Might feel a bit sketchy for a single woman walking out after dark... No restaurant in hotel, but breakfast lounge was fine and the food was more than sufficient, with friendly attendants too !

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks out over the inner courtyard so that the train and traffic noise is red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Responsable réception at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a reasonably cheap hotel, in a slightly dodgy part of Paris, next to a busy railway line.

If you go with that in mind, you'll be fine.

The staff are lovely and very helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean, it is efficiently run, and only five minutes walk from gare du nord and gare de l'est.

However, if you're of above average size (we're thankfully not) you will struggle in the shower, the bedrooms are 'cosy', and the railway line is incredibly noisy - earplugs are essential.

So basically - it was exactly what we were expecting - no more, no less.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GilesDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Responsable réception at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I were moved here because the Timhotel we had booked (St George) was full when we arrived. We had booked through Thompson who used SuperBreak. We were put in a room overlooking the railway. I'm not sure £120 a night is fair for a room without air conditioning over looking a major railway station. We had a choice between opening the windows and listening to the screeching railway with throbbing high speed diesel engines or sweating in a sealed room. To make things worse the bath room definitely smelled bad. The room was very small and the bathroom was aged.
The continental breakfast was poorly stocked and the staff at the breakfast managed to create a 'prison atmosphere'. However, all the Timhotel reception staff were all lovely, very accommodating, and helpful.
I would recommend you look for well-known budget brands just up the road which a quick internet search revealed were just as cheap.
Thompson were disinterested and SuperBreak clearly don't work weekends....

Room Tip: Book the budget hotel up the road (hint: it begins with an I and ends with an S).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Responsable réception at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Timhotel in the Gare Du Nord for 2 nights in mid September 2013. It is a small hotel with extremely limited facilities. Great for access to the metro and lots of little restaurants and cafes around with reasonable priced drinks and food available at a walking distance. (6.50€ for croissants coffee and juice in local cafe & local bars serving beer at 4.50€ a pint). If however you want a little hotel in which to sit in your room drinking coffee, overlooking the little terrace garden, which is very nice, then will be disappointed. There are no tea making facilities in the room and the only breakfast available is served downstairs at a cost of 12€ per person and is very basic. (nothing hot available). Pleasant helpful staff on hand to give directions if you have no idea which direction to head of into the city but that is about as much as they will offer you. One final moan, the garden view room I had was very small, not a major issue if you are just using the hotel as a base like we were but the bathroom consisted of a shower cubical with a curtain and a toilet and sink all forced into roughly the size of a downstairs toilet in an average house in the UK. This means drenching the floor with water and resting yourself on the sink whilst using the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGrant911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,236 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,603 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Faubourg 216 - 224
#1,414 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgrand Hotel
#1,400 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#941 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel At Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At Gare du Nord

Property: Hotel At Gare du Nord
Address: 10 rue Philippe de Girard, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Timhotel Gare Du Nord)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,651 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At Gare du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est; this hotel has an internal garden and a bi-lingual staff; near museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel At Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Hotel Paris
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing