We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better budget hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel At Gare du Nord
Ranked #1,663 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There are better budget hotels”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I were moved here because the Timhotel we had booked (St George) was full when we arrived. We had booked through Thompson who used SuperBreak. We were put in a room overlooking the railway. I'm not sure £120 a night is fair for a room without air conditioning over looking a major railway station. We had a choice between opening the windows and listening to the screeching railway with throbbing high speed diesel engines or sweating in a sealed room. To make things worse the bath room definitely smelled bad. The room was very small and the bathroom was aged.
The continental breakfast was poorly stocked and the staff at the breakfast managed to create a 'prison atmosphere'. However, all the Timhotel reception staff were all lovely, very accommodating, and helpful.
I would recommend you look for well-known budget brands just up the road which a quick internet search revealed were just as cheap.
Thompson were disinterested and SuperBreak clearly don't work weekends....

Room Tip: Book the budget hotel up the road (hint: it begins with an I and ends with an S).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Responsable réception at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    122
    170
    103
    127
See reviews for
72
204
71
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Timhotel in the Gare Du Nord for 2 nights in mid September 2013. It is a small hotel with extremely limited facilities. Great for access to the metro and lots of little restaurants and cafes around with reasonable priced drinks and food available at a walking distance. (6.50€ for croissants coffee and juice in local cafe & local bars serving beer at 4.50€ a pint). If however you want a little hotel in which to sit in your room drinking coffee, overlooking the little terrace garden, which is very nice, then will be disappointed. There are no tea making facilities in the room and the only breakfast available is served downstairs at a cost of 12€ per person and is very basic. (nothing hot available). Pleasant helpful staff on hand to give directions if you have no idea which direction to head of into the city but that is about as much as they will offer you. One final moan, the garden view room I had was very small, not a major issue if you are just using the hotel as a base like we were but the bathroom consisted of a shower cubical with a curtain and a toilet and sink all forced into roughly the size of a downstairs toilet in an average house in the UK. This means drenching the floor with water and resting yourself on the sink whilst using the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGrant911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

OK rooms for the price, but this was so small. You had to step over the toilet to get into the shower. The shower curtain clung to your back as you tried to avoid knocking the temperature control.And the water was scaldingly hot. But the room and bed was clean and the breakfast quite adequate. Close to Gare du Nord, but would not like walking there late at night. Pedestrian crossing outside window kept me awake half the night with a clicking sound. Could not close the window as there was no ventilation in the tiny room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and definately not a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NSTP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel in a handy location, everything clean and comfy but due to the close proximity to the station it's quite noisy. Also we were led to believe breakfast was included - then found out it wasn't. Could do with having tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelleCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great for the price! Hotel was very clean and staff were very helpful. Rooms were small and I was worried about the noise but it didn't bother us at all! After a long day out in Paris it was the perfect place to rest our heads! Breakfast was basic but did the job :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenWilliams2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was generally pleased with the overall feel of the hotel, wasn't the hovel I'd feared it would be.
It was noisy, given the location, that much we had expected but we got used to it.

Staff were generally helpful and polite enough. Location was ideal. We had opted out of breakfast so no comment there, but apart from the occasional noisy train it was a pleasant enough experience, our twin room was slightly on the small side but the large terrace-style windows kept it from feeling stuffy, clean, cute bathrooms, the complimentary toiletries had a really nice scent, and just a decent overall quality -- especially for the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Sir / Madam,

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Faubourg 216 - 224
#1,443 of 1,802 in Paris
63 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,599 of 1,802 in Paris
586 reviews
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,253 of 1,802 in Paris
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,608 of 1,802 in Paris
357 reviews
Hotel Altona
#1,447 of 1,802 in Paris
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel At Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At Gare du Nord

Property: Hotel At Gare du Nord
Address: 10 rue Philippe de Girard, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Timhotel Gare Du Nord)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,663 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At Gare du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est; this hotel has an internal garden and a bi-lingual staff; near museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel At Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Hotel Paris
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing