We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our three night stay in September was the perfect finish to 6 weeks of travel. The Superior corner room on the second floor was both spacious and beautifully appointed with comfortable beds and a direct view on the Arc de Triomphe from our private balcony. The breakfast selection and service were very good. The Concierge and front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The Hotel is ideally located near the Champs-Elysees and Arc de Triomphe with a Metro stop facing the Hotel. Another advantage is the Airport shuttle service for Orly and Charles-de-Gaulle has a bus stop across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahlukasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've just come back from a four day stay in Paris at this hotel having had a fabulous time ! The hotel is excellently situated for landmarks ( Arc De Triomphe and Champs Elysee are on the doorstep ) and perfect for access to Metro , bus , coach , airpoirt transfer and taxi transport .
The staff were very friendly and helpful ( special mention goes to the Concierge , Farouk who was very helpful and got us a very good deal for a taxi to Versailles Palace which was only 25mins drive away ) .
The hotel is very decorated throughout and the rooms were always meticulously cleaned .
The all you-can-eat breakfast buffet is value for money given the amount you can eat which will keep you going till dinner time !
We would definitely go back there again !

Room Tip: If you ask for a room overlooking the Avenue Carnot you will get a view of the Arc De Triomphe from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a return visit in October. It is very near the Arc de Triomphe and has a metro stop right outside. It is not cheap but not much is, in Paris. The front of house staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to provide me with gluten free bread for breakfast each morning. We had probably the best room in the hotel last time we stayed (with a view of the Arc and the Eiffel Tower) and did request the same this time, but I think that was lost between the travel agent and the hotel this time. We were originally shown what could arguably be one of the worst rooms in the hotel with a noisy drill going in the background and after a phone call to reception, they changed our room. It wasn't the one we had last time but it was upgraded and was very roomy with a front view (106). The toiletries in this hotel are always of a superior quality which is not found more and more when travelling around the country. When dining out round and about we found if we headed down the hill or to the left we had cheaper meals than around to the right, which proved very expensive the night we tried that way. We would be happy to stay here again as it is within walking distance of a lot of the major sights and the others can be accessed by the metro. Also the open topped tour buses have a stop at the Arc nearby.

Room Tip: Any room on a corner or the ones each side of that e.g. anything ending in 06,07 or 08 would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A great hotel, very convinient location close to public transportation, in a great part of town.The hotel had very helpful staff, courtious and considerate. Breakfast was elaborate with good service. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I travel to Paris frequently for both business and pleasure, and I find that Paris hotels can be rather hit or miss (much like London and NYC). Unfortunately this one was more a 'miss' for me.

Pros:
- Central location (right beside the Arc de Triomphe)
- Very helpful concierge / front desk
- Comfortable beds
- Staff were friendly and willing to accommodate requests (for example sourcing a baby cot)

Cons:
- Lack of value for money (expensive by European standards)
- Small room
- Room service (simply terrible food, which is surprising in a city like Paris)
- Temperature - the room was baking hot, with no air con (and I stayed in October!)
- Construction work next door

Conclusion: Given the cost of the room I feel disappointed with my stay. I will consider other options first when I next return to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impression at the Hotel Splendid Etoile and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay and that your experience did not live up to your expectations.
We always do our utmost to offer our guests the best possible service.
We take every criticism seriously and we hope you will give us a second chance for your next stay.
Kind regards,

Mr. Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The stay started out great. We got the room with a spectacular view that we asked for, and paid extra for. I was disappointed at twin beds but on way out to dinner they said they would make into a king. After dinner we came back to twin beds and when my wife pulled the sheets back we were greeted by tiny black bugs. When I complained they offered to vacuum the room. I politely let them know we needed to switch rooms and they moved us to a room with zero view. I brought this to their attention and they said this was the only room left and they would try to improve the following day. They never did anything. Never got a room with a view. Never got an apology. Never got anything for our trouble. Oh, and when we checked out I was charged the rate for the room with a view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impression at the Hotel Splendid Etoile and we are deeply sorry about this incident. We confirm you that we have never met this problem in the past.

Our Front Office Manager whom you met apologized for this incident and she attributed you another room type as the room with a view you occupied previously was not available any more.

Besides, we are very surprised to read that during your departure we charged you the rate for the room with view while our Front Office Manager granted you a discount of 50 Euros, per night since the beginning of your stay and your discount is clearly indicated on your invoice.

We naturally remain at your entire disposal to discuss it together at your convenience.

Yours sincerely,

Mr Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our experience at the Hotel Splendid Etoile couldn't have been better! I can't emphasize enough how great this hotel is. We spent two weeks in Europe and this was the best hotel we stayed in. We stayed 3 nights. The staff is warm and helpful. They all spoke English very well and were very friendly. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated and furnished. We upgraded to a suite and it was a huge room with the BEST views of the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. The location is absolutely superb with close proximity to the Arc de Triomphe and Champs Elysees and the Metro. When we go back to Paris we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teethfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Propriétaire at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for making the Hotel Splendid Etoile your preferred hotel during your holidays in Europe. It is always a pleasure to be of service to you and to provide you with the best hospitality. We are delighted that you felt well taken care of during your stay.
We are truly forward to having you with us on your next visit to Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#68 of 1,803 in Paris
1,137 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#113 of 1,803 in Paris
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#54 of 1,803 in Paris
453 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#47 of 1,803 in Paris
1,092 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Le 123 Elysees - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 avenue Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#85 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#124 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $199 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing