We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked this hotel through BA as a special offer months ago - It was for my Fiancé’s 30th birthday and taking him to Paris for 4 days was a surprise.

The hotel looked lovely from the website and was in the perfect location with a metro/RER link right outside which made getting around very easy. Before our arrival they were extremely helpful in arranging transport from the airport to upgrading our room. I had requested a room with a view and boy did we get that. We were on the corner of the hotel (room 307), our room had 3 balconies and we were directly opposite the magnificent Arc d’Triomphe. It was just beautiful to be so close to such an iconic landmark and when it lit up at night, it was even more spectacular.

It was refreshing to stay at a small, boutique, typically French hotel where customer service was how it should be and nothing was too much trouble. If you are looking for a gem of a hotel, this is it. (Although without the special offer on BA and given its prime location, it would have been quite pricey, but, you certainly get what you pay for)

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: To get the best view possible of the Arc d'Triomphe, make sure you ask for a Superior Room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a few words about your recent stay in at the Hotel Splendid Etoile in Paris!
Your enthusiasm is very much appreciated and being a part of the success of your birthday celebration is a true enjoyment for all of us too.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon and make your next stay even more memorable than this one.
With our best regards.

Mr THOMAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have recently spent three splendid nights at this hotel. The warm welcome and helpful attitude of the staff were very much appreciated. The bedrooms were lovelly and spotlessly clean. There was an excellent choice of food for breakfast. The location was amazing, so close to the Arc and so convenient for transport links, yet so peaceful. It would have been nice if the air conditioning had been switched on because the bedrooms did get rather warm at times. The best recommendation we can give to future guests is we shall definitely return in the near future. Au Revoir Splendid Etoile.

Room Tip: Our rooms had a side view of the Arc and standing out on the balcony one had a beautiful view of Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so grateful for the feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel Splendid Etoile.
We are delighted that you felt well taken care of during your stay.

For your information, for ecological purposes, our air-conditioning is shut off from October 15 to April 15.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with others and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Mr Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just got back from 3 day trip to Paris for Valentine and 1st year wedding anniversay.. This hotel must be one of the best located hotels in Paris... We were given what I think must also be best room... 207 which had a corner balcony and faced the arc.. Within walking distance of a lot of tourist sights... Make sure wear flat shoes... Lot of walking but that's part of the fun of sightseeing.. We were given a recomendation from the hotel staff for a restaurant for Valentines which was gorgeous and also a cruise along the Seine... perfect city break... one little advise to hotel though... Would have been nice to have had coffee/tea facilities in room... But all in all lovely hotel, view from room perfect and staff really helpful and polite...

Room Tip: Ask for 207.... Really nice room with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a good review about our hotel. What a joy to read how impressed you were by the room, the view and the service all along your stay. how pleasant for all of us to be considered as a part of the success of your stay in Paris!
Please do keep the Hotel Splendid Etoile in your mind and in your heart.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again!!!
With our best regards.

Mr THOMAS
General Manager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great location - just across the street from the RER going out to La Defence (where I needed to go for business) and the bus for CDG and Orly stops just outside. There are great restaurants around and the hotel serves a good breakfast.
Since you see the Arc just outside the hotel you even feel like you are in Paris even though I did not have time for any sightseeing this time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so grateful for the feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Splendid Etoile. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, the breakfast.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with others and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,

Mr Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked for my wifes 30th Birthday having been recommended the hotel by a friend. The hotel lives up to its name, the room and service was excellent. a tip is to request a room number that ends with a 7 such as 207, 307 etc... the best room is 507 on the corner of the 5th floor with direct view of the Arc and the Effiel ! Stunning !! Brilliant location as well being right on the Arc and right next to a metro stop that has 3 lines running from it.

If ever in Paris again we would only stay here.

Room Tip: Any room ending in a 7 such as 207, 307, 407 or room 507 is brilliant !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write such a good review about our hotel. What a joy to read how impressed you were by the room, the view and the service all along your stay. how pleasant for all of us to be considered as a part of the success of your stay in Paris!
Hopefully you will be one of our returning guest and our staff will all be dedicated to your satisfaction to make your stay a dream to remember.
Please do keep the Hotel Splendid Etoile in your mind and in your heart.
With our best regards.

Mr Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place really is splendid and lives up to it's name. Excellent location right next to the Arc and the Metro station so Paris is literally at your doorstep. There is also a good choice of places to eat nearby (the boulangerie at the bottom of Ave Carnot became a favourite haunt during our four day stay). Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. Service was superb and the concierge was helpful in arranging transfers and giving us advice on what to see. We would definitely stay here again when we visit Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and your wonderful feedback.
We are delighted that you found our hotel splendid!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with others and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Mr Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel. We stated here for our anniversary in July 2011. My husband surprised me for my 30th birthday and booked this hotel again. The staff was so helpful. The room was fantastic but the best part about this hotel is the location. The view from our room was amazing. We stepped out of our balcony and all you see is the Arc De Triomphe. You are 5 minutes away from the Champs Elysees and about 20 minutes away from the Eiffel Tower. There is a metro right in front of the hotel. The Splendid Etoile is an excellent choice in a fantastic area.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a balcony to get a view of the Arc Du Triomphe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shivanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a few words about your recent stay at the Hotel Splendid Etoile in Paris!
Your enthusiasm is very much appreciated and being a part of the success of your birthday celebration is a true enjoyment for all of us too.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon and make your next stay even more memorable than this one.
With our best regards.

Mr Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#65 of 1,809 in Paris
1,191 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#125 of 1,809 in Paris
381 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hidden Hotel
Hidden Hotel
#46 of 1,809 in Paris
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
#205 of 1,809 in Paris
1,774 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#53 of 1,809 in Paris
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 avenue Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Paris
#72 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#85 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#123 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $196 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing