We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Ranked #975 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Paris, where we spent our 1 year wedding anniversary. Although I usually don't write reviews, I thought this would be helpful for people who choose this place...

The hotel is ok for it's location as very close to all sightseeing locations and is located in a funky, jazzy area surruonded by brasseries and caffes, which we liked.

The overall experience of this hotel is average for various reasons:

1. Room size- very tiny, only space to turn around
2. The bathroom was good, but doors to shower has a gap and we constantly flooded our bathroom.
3. Breakfast was so poor- for a 4 star hotel you would expect a large buffet with large selection of breakfast items. But there we were offered only continental breakfast with 1 hot item- eggs, made from egg powder. Yuk.


Having said that, rooms and hotel is clean and if you don't mind a tiny room with poor breakfast, this will be a place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lelde N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 403 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We considered this hotel "a find" - good price, very helpful front desk, internet service, optional breakfast, clean and very convenient location (in the very northern tip of the 14th arrondissement - a stone's through from the 6th & 7th) - easy to get around Paris by foot & Metro or to be near train stations if headed out to the countryside--very near Gare Montparnasse (trains to west and south-west France) or an easy bus ride to Gare d'Austerlitz for southbound trains. Our room was lovely and comfortable with a decent view. We enjoyed the area restaurants, particularly Le Plomb du Cantal, located about 2 blocks down the street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very nice vibrant area with all the bistros, bars, take aways and transport links you could want. Nice clean modern room, attentive and friendly staff.

The only negatives is they wouldn't let us turn the air conditioning to below 21 degrees and it was roasting hot for some of the trip and the safe didn't work although we were offered an out of room safe we didn't end up needing or using it. Also didn't get fresh sheets on the day we requested our room be cleaned - about half way through our 6 day stay. There isn't a pool or gardens at the back as we saw in one on a different website just to let you know.

Minor points in a lovely stay and this very good hotel. I think we ended up paying about €70 a night with was a very reasonable price for the quality. We were worried about the reviews on here about small rooms but ours was just fine - about 12x12 meters + decent sized ensuite. Our room had a nice balcony with views of the Sacre Couer too and Montparnasse tower.

On a sign in the reception and in the room it stated that the cost of the standard room was €200 per night. It's nice but don't think it's worth that kind of money - I think I may have been happy to pay about half of that. Luckily we paid far less in peak season! I'd say it's perhaps more of a nice 3 star hotel than a 4 star but I'd definitely stay again if I got it for a similar price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We needed a hotel near the Montparnasse train station for catching a train the next morning so we booked the Timhotel Elysee Montparnasse.
We got 2 comfort double rooms. The rooms are compact but sufficient. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean. They had most of the amenities we need.
The hotel is conveniently located. The nearest metro station is just at the end of the street and it is a 5-minute walk to the Montparnasse train station.
Even the hotel is situated in an animated street, it was not noisy during the night.
If you need a hotel near the Montparnasse train station, it would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I just spent a week in this hotel and all I can do is think how lucky we were to find this place. Three metro lines, including a major train station are just a few blocks away. Great base for a visit around the Paris region.Many bars, cafes, & restaurants just a few feet away. A bit noisy at night, but not enough to disrupt sleep after a long day walking around the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rir_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lovely small comfortable hotel to stay at. Rooms are small and compact but are a fantastic base. Lots of transportation link within easy walking distance. Great for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great location, great breakfast, nice and helpful staff, reasonable room size, excellent value.... but we suffered from bed bugs!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leungleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#543 of 1,805 in Paris
355 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#384 of 1,805 in Paris
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,126 of 1,805 in Paris
352 reviews
Montparnasse
Berkeley Hotel
Berkeley Hotel
#1,138 of 1,805 in Paris
161 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#542 of 1,805 in Paris
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Tour Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Tour Montparnasse

Address: 11 B rue de la Gaite | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #975 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $87 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Tour Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Timhotel Tour Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Montparnasse Hotel
Elysee Montparnasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing